GSU Library Research Guides: HON 3260: Do Global Corporate Ethics Matter? (Laura Hastings / Fall 2019): Home

Looking for CURRENT Newspapers?

New! Select "Newspapers" in the Databases by Subject dropdown menu on the library's homepage to get a listing of all of our newspaper databases
(both current and historical).

Try these databases for current newspaper coverage:

US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
US Newsstream enables users to search current U.S. news content featuring top newspapers, wires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, and news sites in full-text format.
Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Global coverage of newspapers and newswires from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia.
World News Digest This link opens in a new window
This database features a wealth of new material and a new, dynamic interface that makes it easier than ever to explore the events that shape our world
Factiva This link opens in a new window
A business information and research tool used to locate information on a variety of topics, including politics, current events, trends and government data.
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
This database includes international coverage and provides researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world from 1923 to the present.
ABI/INFORM Dateline This link opens in a new window
Contains local and regional business publications, including news, analysis, and information on markets and more from 1982 to the present.
New York Times (ProQuest Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Coverage ranges from 1980 - current. The New York Times is considered the official U.S. newspaper because it publishes the complete text of important documents, speeches and presidential press conferences.
Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database of legal materials and journals, including federal and state statutes, codes, regulations, and case law materials
Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Chronicle.com daily news, data, and analysis of current issues faced by universities dating back to 1989. Also provideds access to the Almanac of Higher Education, The Trends Report, and other newsletters with the creation of a free account.

For historical newspapers, see our full Newspaper Holdings research guide.

3 Ways to Get to Articles Databases

There are three ways that you can get to the library's databases,
from off-campus as well as from on-campus:

Use the Databases by Subject dropdown to find databases for a particular subject area
Use the Databases from A-Z links if you know the name of the database you're looking for (i.e., Worldwide Political Science Abstracts is under "W" for "Worldwide")
Use this research guide (or any of our other research guides!)

If you are off campus, when you click the name of a database, you will be asked for your Campus ID and password. After that, you'll have full access to the database*. But in order to get that access, the database has to identify you as GSU faculty/student/staff.

*There are a very few databases that you can't access this way (looking at you, Ancestry Library Edition) and are only usable in the actual library building). These are clearly marked in the database listings as ON CAMPUS USE ONLY.

Useful Subject-Specific Articles Databases

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
The definitive bibliographic index database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database provides full text for scholarly business journals and other sources, covering all areas related to business. Direct Opt Out Link.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
Authoritative index to articles in journals, books, dissertations, and working papers in economics. Comprehensive, up-to-date coverage with 1.3 million records from 1886 present.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada) and indexes nearly 2,300 journals in over 40 languages.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Public Affairs Information Service) Index database contains references to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic database covering worldwide research in the major philosophy fields, produced by the Philosopher's Information Center, featuring author-written abstracts covering scholarly research, anthologies, and book reviews.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracting of international publications in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science provides seamless access to the Science Citation Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index as well as Book Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Citation Index.
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Covers the core disciplines in women's studies and feminist research, covering publications from 1972 to the present. Supports curriculum
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracting and indexing of international relations and political science literature, covering articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and working papers.

Interdisciplinary Article Databases available @ GSU

These are broad, interdisciplinary databases that will include articles from many different subject areas.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. PDF content dates back to 1887.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. It offers an interdisciplinary journal archive across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Provides complete, full-text content in digital humanities and social science from over 120 publishers, Including scholarly journals from leading university presses and scholarly societies are indexed and peer-reviewed, and full-text access includes current content from over 400 titles
Research Library This link opens in a new window
This database provides one-stop access to more than 4,000 periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications and magazines covering over 150 academic disciplines.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science provides seamless access to the Science Citation Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index as well as Book Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Citation Index.

Subject Librarian

Leslie Madden

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Library South
Suite 542

404-413-2807

Subjects: English, World Languages & Cultures

Urban Studies Librarian (coming soon!)

Beginning in October, Lauren Bellard will be GSU's Urban Studies Librarian.

Lauren will be the liaison librarian for the following departments:

Political Science
History
Urban Studies
Geosciences

Her contact information will be posted here later in the semester.

Using Find It @GSU

Many databases give you only a citation telling you where to find the article, not the article itself.

Click the Find It @ GSU button to open a window with links to the article you need.

If the article is available through another database, the Find It @ GSU button will take you to links to the article through the other database(s) that have it.
If the article isn't available through any of our databases, the Find It @ GSU button will take you to a link that says Request item through ILLiad. Clicking that link will get you started with placing an Interlibrary Loan request for the article (which will likely be available to you within 24 hours). (Click here to learn more about Interlibrary Loan)

Lost? Stuck? Too many options? Ask a Librarian for help!