GSU Library Research Guides: Research Map: Databases

Topic Exploration Databases

Use these databases to get background information on your topic, answer the 5 W's, and look for search terms. You might even find a source you can use in your paper!

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Also called GVRL, a great place for overview articles.
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
Read about both sides of many controversial issues.
Todays Science This link opens in a new window
Quick overview of topics related to science.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
In-depth articles about topics of national or international interest. For topic exploration, just look at the introductory section and skim the rest of the article.

Pro Tip: Get Organized

Email articles to yourself as you find them. The email tools in the databases will reliably lead you back to the article and citation information.

Use the same "tag" in the subject line so you can easily locate all the sources for the same assignment. (Example: #Persuasive)

Collect your resources and works in a paper or electronic folder for each assignment.

Research Databases

These databases are frequently recommended sources of information used in freshman and sophomore research assignments.

Discover Search
Search in multiple -- but not all -- GSU databases and the library catalog at once. (This is the same search as on the library homepage.)

Research Library This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications.
News & Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
U.S. and international newspapers including The Atlanta Journal Constitution and The New York Times.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
In-depth articles about health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
~Be sure to pay attention to the dates of the articles.

Pro Tip: Use Limiters

Try these limiters to get to the best information sources:

Date
Full text (read it right now!)
Type of Resource
Subject Area

Database Tutorials

A more in-depth, longer version of the above video:

Research Databases at GSU Library - Full version (video 12:54)
Learn how to find information using Georgia State University Library's research databases. This full-length video includes lots of tips and strategies for getting the most of our databases.