GSU Library Research Guides: Neuroscience Subject Guide: Home

neuroscience websites

Neuro Databases | Neuro Journals | GSU Neuroscience Institute

APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
APA PsycInfo is unmatched as a resource for locating scholarly research findings in psychology and related fields across a host of academic disciplines.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) provides more than 370 nursing and allied health full-text, non-open access journals indexed in the CINAHL database. Additional materials include full-text evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and continuing education modules.

JoVE Neuroscience
JoVEJournal is the world's first peer-reviewed scientific video journal with over 10,000 experiments performed by scientists at top labs around the world. JoVE Journal publishes research across 13 disciplines: Behavior, Biochemistry, Bioengineering, Biology, Chemistry, Developmental Biology, Engineering, Genetics, Immunology & Infection, Medicine and Neuroscience

PubMed This link opens in a new window
This resource is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the US National Library of Medicine (NLM), and contains citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books in the fields of life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.
SAGE Journals Premier Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes electronic access to over 1,100 international and peer-reviewed titles, including high-impact research titles published on behalf of over 400 scholarly and professional societies. Access dates back 1999 where available and new content is added annually.

Sci Finder-n
ATLANTA CAMPUS ONLY
As of April 4, 2022, you must be on the GSU Atlanta campus or connected through the GSU VPN to access SciFinder-n.

Provides comprehensive searching of 5 Chemical Abstracts Services (CAS) databases and MEDLINE articles from 1957 to current. Note: SciFinder is offered to GSU students, faculty, and staff exclusively online. The link on this page will take you to our chemistry guide with instructions for accessing SciFinder on campus.

Science Database This link opens in a new window
Subject coverage includes materials science, aerospace, engineering, computers, physics, telecommunications, transportation, military, physics, astronomy, biology, earth science, and chemistry, as well as full text for journals in applied and general sciences.

What is Neuroscience?

Today, the discipline of neuroscience is an interdisciplinary field that aims "to discover the mechanisms of neuronal function, elucidate the neural substrates of behavior and cognition, and learn about the diseases of the nervous system" (Squire, 2009, p. i).

Squire, L.R. (2009). Preface. Encyclopedia of Neuroscience (p. i). Academic Press. https://doi.org/10.1016/B978-008045046-9.09006-9

Circadian and Visual Neuroscience by Nayantara Santhi (Volume Editor); Manuel Spitschan (Volume Editor)
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9780323859448
Publication Date: 2022-08-05
Chapters on topics including Optical set-ups, Psychophysics of Luminance and Color Vision, Psychophysics of non-visual photoreception PRC/IRC/DRC/Spectral Sensitivity, Circadian and visual photometry, Modelling (retina), Modelling (circadian), Techniques for examining vision at the cellular level, Advanced techniques for characterizing the world hyperspectrally, Circadian physiology in mice: Melanopsin, Circadian physiology in mice: Color and cones, Translational aspects of animal studies, Retinal clocks, Primate non-visual physiology, Light and mood in animal models, and much more.
Cognitive Neuroscience and Psychotherapy by Warren Tryon
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 0124200982
Publication Date: 2014-03-22
Cognitive Neuroscience and Psychotherapy provides a bionetwork theory unifying empirical evidence in cognitive neuroscience and psychopathology to explain how emotion, learning, and reinforcement affect personality and its extremes. The book uses the theory to explain research results in both disciplines and to predict future findings, as well as to suggest what the theory and evidence say about how we should be treating disorders for maximum effectiveness. While theoretical in nature, the book has practical applications, and takes a mathematical approach to proving its own theorems.
Computational Neuroscience: Theoretical Insights into Brain Function by Paul Cisek (Editor); Trevor Drew (Editor); John Kalaska (Editor)
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 0080555020
Publication Date: 2007-11-14
Computational neuroscience is a relatively new but rapidly expanding area of research which is becoming increasingly influential in shaping the way scientists think about the brain. Computational approaches have been applied at all levels of analysis, from detailed models of single-channel function, transmembrane currents, single-cell electrical activity, and neural signaling to broad theories of sensory perception, memory, and cognition.
Cultural Neuroscience: Cultural Influences on Brain Function by Joan Y. Chiao (Editor); Joan Y. Chiao (Editor)
ISBN: 0080952216
Publication Date: 2009-11-25
This volume presents recent empirical advances using neuroscience techniques to investigate how culture influences neural processes underlying a wide range of human abilities, from perception and scene processing to memory and social cognition. It also highlights the theoretical and methodological issues with conducting cultural neuroscience research.
Decision Neuroscience by Léon Tremblay (Editor); Jean-Claude Dreher (Editor)
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 0128053313
Publication Date: 2016-09-27
Decision Neuroscience addresses fundamental questions about how the brain makes perceptual, value-based, and more complex decisions in non-social and social contexts. This book presents compelling neuroimaging, electrophysiological, lesional, and neurocomputational models in combination with hormonal and genetic approaches, which have led to a clearer understanding of the neural mechanisms behind how the brain makes decisions.
Encyclopedia of Neuroscience by Larry R. Squire (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 0080450466
Publication Date: 2008-11-14
Explores various areas of the neuroscience on a wide variety of topics in neurology, neurosurgery, psychiatry and other related areas of the discipline. This title features various articles that contain a glossary, introduction, a reference section, and cross-references to other related encyclopedia articles.
Evolutionary Neuroscience by Jon H. Kaas (Editor)
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 0128206063
Publication Date: 2020-05-30
A collection of chapters on brain evolution that combines selected topics from the recent comprehensive reference, Evolution of Nervous Systems (Elsevier, Academic Press, 2017, 9780128040423). The selected chapters cover a broad range of topics, from historical theory, to the most recent deductions from comparative studies of brains.
Fundamental Neuroscience by Larry Squire (Editor); Darwin Berg (Editor); Floyd E. Bloom (Editor); Sascha du Lac (Editor); Anirvan Ghosh (Editor); Nicholas C. Spitzer (Editor)
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9780123858719
Publication Date: 2012-12-17
The fourth edition of Fundamental Neuroscience reinvents itself as an engrossing and comprehensive presentation of the discipline of neuroscience, from molecules to cognition. Thorough but succinct, and lavishly illustrated, the book builds from an introductory section that includes fundamental neuroanatomy and goes on to cover cellular and molecular neuroscience, development, sensory systems, motor systems, regulatory systems, and behavioral and cognitive neuroscience.
Neuroscience Basics by Jennifer L. Larimore
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 0128110171
Publication Date: 2017-05-25
Examines how our brain works in everyday activities like sleeping, eating, love, and exercise. Many want to better understand how the brain works, but the terminology and jargon of books can be overwhelming. The book covers the basics taught in an introductory neurobiology course designed for anyone new to the neuroscience field, including non-neuroscientists.
The Neuroscience of Emotion by Ralph Adolphs; David J. Anderson
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9781400889914
Publication Date: 2018-06-05
The Neuroscience of Emotion presents a new framework for the neuroscientific study of emotion across species. This accessible and original book recasts the discipline and demonstrates that in order to understand emotion, we need to examine its biological roots in humans and animals. Only through a comparative approach that encompasses work at the molecular, cellular, systems, and cognitive levels will we be able to comprehend what emotions do, how they evolved, how the brain shapes their development, and even how we might engineer them into robots in the future.
Neuroscience of the Nonconscious Mind by Rajendra Badgaiyan
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 0128163763
Publication Date: 2019-05-25
Neuroscience of the Nonconscious Mind includes novel concepts and insights on the brain mechanisms that control nonconscious mental functions, some of which were developed in the author's laboratory. The book describes neuroscience of conventional nonconscious mental functions, along with not so conventional functions like creativity, hypnosis and extrasensory perception, thus making it a very unique reference.
The Wiley Handbook on the Cognitive Neuroscience of Memory by Donna Rose Addis; Morgan Barense; Audrey Duarte
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9781118332610
Publication Date: 2015-03-03
The Wiley Handbook on the Cognitive Neuroscience of Memory presents a comprehensive overview of the latest, cutting-edge neuroscience research being done relating to the study of human memory and cognition. Features the analysis of original data using cutting edge methods in cognitive neuroscience research Presents a conceptually accessible discussion of human memory research Includes contributions from authors that represent a "who's who" of human memory neuroscientists from the U.S. and abroad Supplemented with a variety of excellent and accessible diagrams to enhance comprehension

Library Learning Series Webinars

Watch these webinars for a jump-start on your research skills!

Library Learning Series [Folder of Recordings]

Library Learning Series Summary [Handout]

Slides:

Get Ready for Research with ZOTERO
Join Librarians Charlene Martoni and Jason Puckett to explore the benefits of getting organized with your research.
Participants will:
• Review basic epistemological assumptions
• Reframe the concept of research to embody its full lifecycle
• Consider factors that impact research motivation and direction
• Explore strategies for enhanced time and project management
• Learn how to sign up for, install, personalize, and use the basic features of Zotero, an open-source citation management software.
Literature Reviews, Explained!
A review of scholarly literature is an essential component of any research project, but why? Join Librarian Charlene for a webinar to help you begin your assignment with a clear understanding of its purpose. We’ll explore answers to questions like:
• What is scholarship and peer review?
• Why do researchers engage in the process of literature review?
• What types of review are commonly produced in coursework?
• How do we decide what literature to review, and by which criteria?
• What strategies can we use to review the literature?
Information Navigation with PsycInfo
Which source is the right one for your project, and how do you locate it? Join Librarian Charlene to practice developing a complex scoping strategy to achieve efficiency and effectiveness in your research. Participants will learn how to:
• Use APA PsycInfo’s personalization features
• Read APA PsycInfo index records
• Develop specific terminology with subject headings
• Craft a Boolean search string for a scoping review
• Filter and analyze search results

Librarian Charlene

Charlene Martoni

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

404-413-2863

Subjects: Neuroscience, Psychology, Sociology

Open Count!

Are you using an openly accessible resource in your course? We want to hear about it! Please complete the short form, linked below.

Open Count

GSU Library Links

I'm looking for...

What kinds of resources do you need?

An overview of a topic

Look for books or reference materials using our catalog.

Looking for a brief overview of a topic you don’t already know? Search our catalog for the word “encyclopedia” plus a broad topic (ex. encyclopedia biology). Or browse our reference collection on Library North 2 (look under Q for science, R for medicine, and T for technology).
Looking for in-depth explorations of a topic or field? Search our catalog for the topic. If you don’t find anything, search for a broader topic (e.g. chemotherapy instead of daunorubicin).
Looking for the most up-to-date overviews of recent research? Look for review articles in one of the science databases.

Current research and experiments

Look for scholarly articles in one of our databases.

Looking for a topic in neuroscience? Start with PubMed, PsycINFO, or Web of Science Core.
Looking for research including a certain substance or reaction? Do a substance search in SciFinder or Reaxys.
Looking for a topic that includes other disciplines? Use Web of Science for biology and all other sciences, PubMed for medicine and biomedical research, and ERIC for science education.

Physical reference data

Use Reaxys substance search, the library’s reference books, or physical reference data websites.

Neuroscience Subject Guide