GSU Library Research Guides: PMAP 3311: Critical Policy Issues: Databases and Online Resources

Background Information

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Provides unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy, 1991 present.
CQ Almanac This link opens in a new window
CQ Almanac is a comprehensive source for coverage and analysis of U.S. Congressional legislation.

Scholarly Articles

PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Public Affairs Information Service) Index database contains references to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracting and indexing of international relations and political science literature, covering articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and working papers.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database provides full text for scholarly business journals and other sources, covering all areas related to business. Direct Opt Out Link.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
Authoritative index to articles in journals, books, dissertations, and working papers in economics. Comprehensive, up-to-date coverage with 1.3 million records from 1886 present.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides extensive access to educational related literature. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education. 1966 - current.
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
APA PsycInfo is unmatched as a resource for locating scholarly research findings in psychology and related fields across a host of academic disciplines.
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Combined with the National Library of Medicine's bibliographic database this database offers information related to the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences.
Public Health Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Designed to be the ideal starting point for public health information and research, delivering core public health literature across a variety of disciplines ranging from the social sciences and biological sciences to business. Includes journals, news, trade publications, reports, and current newspaper articles.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
This resource is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the US National Library of Medicine (NLM), and contains citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books in the fields of life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
A full-text scientific databases offering journal articles and book chapters covering scientific, technical, and medical (STM) and social sciences research
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Offers indexing and abstracting of social work and human services journals dating back to 1965, covering theory, practice, areas of service, and subjects such as therapy, education, human services, addictions, child and family welfare, mental health, and civil and legal rights.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science provides seamless access to the Science Citation Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index as well as Book Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Citation Index.

News and Reports

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. PDF content dates back to 1887.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides selected full text coverage for 245 national and international newspapers, newswires, and other sources.
PolicyArchive This link opens in a new window
A digital archive of global, non-partisan public policy research, collecting and disseminating summaries, full text, videos, reports, briefs, and multimedia materials of think tank, university, government, and foundation-funded policy research.
PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
An online data and mapping tool that enables government, commercial, non-profit and academic institutions to access data about communities and markets across the US. Use it for research, market studies, business planning, site selection, grant applications and impact analysis.

Statistics

Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A well-known and highly-valued statistical reference providing a comprehensive collection of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to current and historical census data (back to 1790), demographic information, and interactive demographic maps that can be queried and manipulated.
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) This link opens in a new window
ICPSR is research science data on topics from social media, politics, to GIS & more. By providing this data ICPSR seeks to advance and expand social and behavioral research.
ICSPR LibGuide

National Center for Education Statistics
Materials and Waste Management
Also see: http://www3.epa.gov/epawaste/nonhaz/municipal/
State Transportation Statistics

Think Tanks

Atlanta Regional Commission
The Atlanta Regional Commission is charged with peering into the future and working with our partners across the community to plan for a better, brighter tomorrow. ARC’s member governments are Cherokee, Clayton, Cobb, DeKalb, Douglas, Fayette, Fulton, Gwinnett, Henry and Rockdale counties, and the city of Atlanta.
Brookings Institute
The Brookings Institution is a nonprofit public policy organization based in Washington, DC. Our mission is to conduct in-depth research that leads to new ideas for solving problems facing society at the local, national and global level.
Congressional Research Service Reports
CRS approaches complex topics from a variety of perspectives and examines all sides of an issue. Staff members analyze current policies and present the impact of proposed policy alternatives.
Georgia Public Policy Foundation
The Georgia Public Policy Foundation provides actionable solutions to real-life problems by bringing people together:
Civil Discourse, Criminal Justice, Economy, Education, Environment, Free Speech, Government Accountability, Health Care, Legal System, Poverty, Regulation Reform, Taxes and Spending, and Transportation.
Georgia Budget & Policy Institute
The Georgia Budget & Policy Institute works to advance lasting solutions that expand economic opportunity and well-being for all Georgians. We produce research and state budget analysis to show Georgia ways to provide equitable education, health care and opportunity for everyone.
The Green Book: background material and data on the programs within the jursidiction of the Committee on Ways and Means.
The House Ways and Means Committee Green Book provides program descriptions and historical data on a wide variety of social and economic topics, including Social Security, employment, earnings, welfare, child support, health insurance, the elderly, families with children, poverty and taxation.
RAND Corporation
The RAND Corporation is a nonprofit institution that helps improve policy and decisionmaking through research and analysis.
Urban Institute
The Urban Institute is the trusted source for unbiased, authoritative insights that inform consequential choices about the well-being of people and places in the United States.
Statistical Abstract Series
The Statistical Compendia program is comprised of the Statistical Abstract of the United States and its supplemental products—the State and Metropolitan Area Data Book and the County and City Data Book.