Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Doing Research After you Graduate

GALILEO: GeorgiA LIbrary LEarning Online

GALILEO provides access to library databases. You may have access to GALILEO through more than one place with different resources. For example, your K-12 school and your local public library have access to some databases that are the same and some that are different. You can access both your local public library databases and your school library databases online through their respective websites. The point is to check both websites because GALILEO offerings are different by institution type and sometimes unique to individual institutions. Also, if you live close to a college, you can visit in person to get more databases not offered through your public library or through your K-12 school. For maximum access, check with all the institutions that you have access to.

Here's  more on how it works:

All public K-12  schools, public libraries, and public universities in Georgia have access to a basic package of databases funded by the GALILEO consortium. (Private schools/colleges can participate for a fee.) Beyond the basic package, access provided by GALILEO is tailored by the type of library Thus, the public library, school library, and academic library have different offerings. Additionally, GALILEO provides a list of optional databases that can be subsidized so that individual libraries can forego the subsidized options or choose the ones that are most appropriate. Thus, what is referred to as GALILEO in the K-12, public library, and academic library environment will look different across institutions. Larger institutions within the University System of Georgia typically pay for access to an extensive list of databases beyond that which is offered via GALILEO.

Here's a list of databases available through GALILEO funding. Take note of the "Core Resources for All Communities":