Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

**HON 1000: ‘Going Steady?’: Documenting the History of Dating in American Culture, 1940-1990 (Anderson/Fall 2018)

Class Location: Library Classroom 2, Library North 2

We will be meeting again in Library Classroom 2 for this session (September 27).

There are no assigned readings for this session. 

Also, on October 2, the Library will be hosting an event directly relevant to this week's topic: 

Mags, Bars and (Drag) Stars: A History of Atlanta’s Gay Bars and Community Magazines

October 2, 4-6pm in the Colloquium Room, Library South 8

This is the room we will be meeting in on October 18 and November 1 -- see the Week 9 and Week 11 tabs for photos/directions to the Colloquium Room.

Primary/Secondary Source Databases @ GSU for LGBTQ+ Resources

These databases may include both scholarly articles AND articles from historical periodicals. You can limit your searching by years of publication by using Advanced Search.

Anything published or created between 1940 and 1990 counts as a primary source for your topic -- including scholarly articles or books. 

Newspapers and Language Use

When you search in newspaper databases, it's important to keep in mind that there isn't a way to search by subject (or "about" a topic). Instead, you have to think about what words/language would be used in a newspaper article title and/or article text for that time period.

This means that you may well come across language that is uncomfortable or even offensive. History can be very ugly.

It is important that we understand that these words are part of history.

It is also important that we understand the potential of these words to be upsetting or offensive today. 

Please be mindful of how you use this language, and be respectful when using it. 

How Do I Find Newspaper Articles? Selected Newspaper Databases Available at GSU

All of these historical newspaper databases are ProQuest products, meaning that searching will work the same way in all of them (so, once you've tried searching in the New York Times one in class, you'll be familiar with how to start searching in any of these databases).

For more information about GSU's newspaper holdings, see the Newspapers research guide.

More LGBTQ+ Periodicals: Old School Paper

GSU's Special Collections and Archives has a significant collection of periodicals (that is, magazines and journals) focusing on gender and sexuality. These are print periodicals, so are well suiting for flipping through and browsing. Though some of these periodicals are available digitally in LGBT Life, the digital versions can be challenging to search in. 

We don't have full runs (i.e. all issues) of all of these magazines, but you may be able to find useful material in just one issue.

Additionally, some topics may be better addressed through advertisements in these periodicals (advertisements are primary sources!), which are easier found by browsing in the periodicals themselves than by searching online. 

This link will take you to a finding aid which will include a full listing of the gender/sexuality periodicals available in Special Collections. To get to the full list, click on the link and then on the small box that says "Open Finding Aid" (upper left corner). 

Titles include (but are not limited to):

  • The Advocate (1975-2014)
  • International Male (1981-2007)
  • Playgirl (1973 and 1988; restricted**)

If you would like to visit Special Collections to browse through any of these titles, please contact Morna Gerrard, Women and Gender Collections Archivist, at mgerrard@gsu.edu to make an appointment. Or just come to Special Collections' Reading Room during its working hours and ask at the reference desk!

**Note that some of these periodicals are identified as "Restricted." You will need a letter from your professor to be allowed access to these materials. (For this course, that would be me!) You will also need to contact Morna Gerrard directly to find out more about access options for periodicals identified as "Restricted."