Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

**HON 1000: ‘Going Steady?’: Documenting the History of Dating in American Culture, 1940-1990 (Anderson/Fall 2018)

Class Location: Colloquium Room, Library South 8

Class will be meeting today (October 18) in the Library's Colloquium Room.

We will be working with Kevin Fleming, GSU's Popular Music and Culture Archivist. 

The Colloquium Room is on Library South 8.

Take the Library South elevator up to the 8th floor. 

(Library North only has five floors. If you are in Library North, walk across the Link to Library South and take the Library South elevators to the 8th Floor.)

Because we will be using materials from our Special Collections (special!), 
remember:

  • Please don't bring food or drink to the Colloquium Room for our class session.
  • You may be asked to put your bags, phones, and any other electronic devices in an area of the Colloquium Room.
  • You will need to use a pencil (no pens allowed!) for any writing. We will have pencils available for you to use.

 

Assignment for This Week

Watch this space for assigned viewing/listening prior to class!

Assigned videos to watch prior to class: we will discuss 

Popular Music and Culture Collection

The Popular Music and Culture Collection, within the Georgia State University Special Collections and Archives, collects and preserves unique and rare historical materials documenting twentieth-century American Popular Music and Culture.

Highlights of the collection include Johnny Mercer and music of his era; early country, bluegrass and Southern gospel music; WSB and radio broadcasting in Georgia; and Popular Culture Literature. Additionally, the collection contains more than 14,000 pieces of published sheet music, Tune-Dex cards, and arrangements by American songwriters, as well as 60,000 recordings from a variety of genres.

A portion of the photographs and select publications are accessible in the Popular Music and Broadcasting, including issues of the Capitol Records News magazine and the Big Band Jump Newsletter and the Southern Music Survey.

In relation to this class, the lyrical content of popular songs tend to reflect the culture or events of a particular time period (for example, the Great Depression, World War II, counter-culture of the 1960s, etc.).  Within the collection, one could utilize draft lyrics from the Johnny Mercer Collection, published sheet music, or lyric periodicals such as Song Hits or Hit Parade for this purpose.

Songs Banned by the BBC

In class on October 18, Kevin mentioned that there were lists of songs banned from the radio by the BBC (the British Broadcasting Company).

Wikipedia has a list of songs banned by the BBC -- some of them may be relevant for your projects!

For a shorter list, with video clips, start here.

Click on the image for audio/video of each song. 

Kitty Wells, "It Wasn't God Who Made Honky Tonk Angels" (1952) -- banned for sexual content. BUT: argues against scapegoating women for men's infidelities. (Listed in GSU's Sheet Music Database, contact Kevin for further information).

The Kinks, "Lola" (1970) -- banned for inadvertently advertising "Coca Cola"...

George Michael, "I Want Your Sex" (1987) -- ironically, meant by Michael to be a song promoting monogamy.

Lovelorn in the 1960s

The three "lovelorn" songs from the 1960s -- the sound/tone of each song tells a different kind of emotional story.

(Also, Nancy Sinatra's boots in her video look like they could do more damage than the ones on the sheet music cover...)