Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

**HON 1000: ‘Going Steady?’: Documenting the History of Dating in American Culture, 1940-1990 (Anderson/Fall 2018)

Class Location: Back To Our Honors College Classroom!

Class will be meeting today (November 8) in our regular classroom in the Honors College.

All further classes will be in this classroom.

Don't Forget! Drop In on Tuesday, December 4 to Library Classroom 2 for Help, Questions, Etc.

I have reserved Library Classroom 2 from 12 pm - 2 pm on Tuesday, December 4 for drop-in assistance for this class.

(Classroom 2 is where we met for the Queer Identities/Reader's Guide session -- the big green books!)

Feel free to drop in any time between 12 pm and 2 pm for help, to ask questions, to do some searching with me at hand to answer questions or help if you're stuck, or just to talk if that would help.

Need help but that's not a good time?

Feel free to make an appointment with me for help. Email is the best way to reach me; if you call, leave a message and I'll call you back.

janderson73@gsu.edu

(404) 413-2722

PowerPoint Presentation

You are responsible for a very brief PowerPoint presentation on ONE of your ten sources.
Which source you choose is up to you. 

Generally, your source should be an image of or from the source you've chosen -- a book cover image, a photo of a source (remember, you can take photos of materials in Special Collections libraries, ours or Atlanta University Center's!), or even just a really juicy quote from a source.

Best practices for PowerPoints these days is to have a slide with little or no explanatory text, with the presentation (that is, you talking) being the explanatory text. (Of course, if you want to use a really juicy quote, go ahead and use that text!)

Have your slide represent or illustrate your source somehow -- don't just rely on a stock photo or a PowerPoint-provided graphic.

This is an opportunity to show me, and the class, something interesting that you found. 

If you have questions about images, please ask!

* * * * *

Your presentation should address (briefly!):

  • What your general topic is
  • What this source is (source type = book, article, etc.) and when it was created
  • How it relates to or demonstrates your topic
  • A question it makes you ask and/or a question it might help you answer

Because of time limitations, your presentation should not exceed 5 minutes.

Use this presentation as the basis for your annotation (for the annotated bibliography) for this source and as a way of reflecting on it (for your reflection paper)

* * * *

Prior to your presentation, if you want to present from your laptop, please download the AirMedia software that will let you present directly in our classroom from your laptops. (Fall 2018 students: I need to check on this to make sure I have the correct information. I'll update this box when I know for sure which link to include)

 

Note: Your presentation on either November 15 or November 29 is all that is due on that date!

Your final project materials are all due by 5 p.m. on December 6. 

Final Projects

This tab is for information regarding your final projects. 

Your final projects will consist of:

  1. An annotated bibliography of 10 primary sources related to your selected topic.
  2. A five-minute, one-slide PowerPoint presentation on your choice of 1 primary source from your 10 sources. This presentation must be no longer than five minutes.
  3. A 5-page reflection paper discussing your experiences with finding these 10 sources. 

Your primary sources do not have to be found within the GSU Library.

You can use:

  • Sources from other libraries (including archives elsewhere in Atlanta, like the Auburn Avenue Research Library, the Spelman College Archives, or the Atlanta University Center's Archives Research Center, where our two guest archivists were from, or even your own public library)
  • Sources from our database collections, which are available to you off-campus with your Campus ID and password. See the GSU Library's Primary Sources: History research guide for other starting points.
  • Sources freely available online (but be careful when searching online for primary sources. See the Week 7: Digital Collections tab for information about finding reliable, trustworthy sources. 

By 5:00 p.m. on Thursday December 6, you must email the following to me at janderson73@gsu.edu

  • Your annotated bibliography (as a Word file)
  • Your one-slide PowerPoint presentation (PowerPoint file is fine)
  • Your 5-page reflection paper (as a Word file)

Materials may be sent to me before the due date.
However, as indicated in the syllabus, late materials will not be accepted.

PLEASE CONTACT ME ASAP IF YOU THINK YOU WILL HAVE A PROBLEM WITH SUBMITTING YOUR PROJECT IN TIME.

DO NOT send me these materials through iCollege, or put into the course's iCollege Dropbox.
Send all final project materials directly to me at janderson73@gsu.edu.

Annotated Bibliography

You are required to turn in an annotated bibliography of 10 primary sources related to your topic. 

Each annotation should consist of a citation for the source in Chicago style AND a paragraph including

  • What this item is and its date of publication/creation
  • Who you think the intended audience was
  • How it's relevant to your particular topic
  • A question it makes you ask or that it might help you answer

Save as a Word file and email to me by the final project's deadline.

Using Chicago Manual of Style For Citations

Historians generally use the Chicago Manual of Style or its derivative, A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations (commonly known as Turabian, after its author). Though not identical, the two styles are very similar.

Always check with your instructor to find out which citation style he or she wants you to use.

We will be using the Chicago Manual of Style.

The library provides access to the Chicago Manual of Style Online
for GSU students/faculty/staff.

The Purdue OWL site is also a good resource for Chicago Manual of Style citing information. 

Hard copies of the Chicago Manual of Style are also available at the Research Support Desk on Library North 1.

Nuts and Bolts: Formatting Questions!

  • The annotated bibliography can be single- or double-spaced, whichever you prefer.
  • The reflection paper should be double-spaced.
  • You can submit the components as separate files or as one file. 
  • A title page is optional, but if you don't include one, please title your paper on the first page. 

Let me know if you have other formatting questions; I'll email back and also add the answers here. 

Reflection Paper

Your reflection paper should be about 5 pages long.
In this paper I'm going to be looking for:

  • A brief discussion of your general topic
  • A discussion of your ten sources, including:
    • The types of sources you are describing (newspapers, novels, advertisements, etc.-- they are likely not to be all one kind of source)
    • Difficulties you encountered and how you overcame them or worked around them (i.e. "I hoped to find X, but that was difficult because of Y, so I tried Z instead and found this source.")
    • Sources you found particularly interesting or insightful, and why ("This was my favorite source because...") 
  • How your topic evolved as you found sources
  • Further questions you now have as a result of finding these sources

Preparing your annotated bibliography and your presentation should also help you write this paper.

Remember, this is NOT a research paper. You are presenting on/writing about what you found. 

For this paper, you will need to cite your primary sources (as well as any secondary sources—books or articles or other resources you used to learn more about our sources) using Chicago style.

See the "Citing" tab above for information, links, and other resources on using Chicago style.

What makes this paper NOT a "research paper"?

Glad you asked!

In a "real" history research paper, you would be expected to have:

  1. A clear argument/thesis statement making a substantive claim: "In this paper, I will argue that Atlanta-area African-American teenagers during the 1960s and 1970s sought to integrate their high schools' proms." (<--- made-up topic that I am using as an example of a thesis. Notice how it can be read as an answer to a question!) 
  2. An overview of major secondary sources: (scholarly books and articles) on or relating to your topic, to provide you with background and context
  3. Primary source evidence directly supporting your argument: (in this made-up case, probably from local newspapers and other local news sources; yearbooks and school newspaper if you could find them, and so on...)

In YOUR reflection paper:

  1. Your thesis doesn't have to make a substantive claim. beyond something like: "My topic is X, I found these 10 primary sources that relate to X in a variety of different ways, and here are obstacles I ran into (or didn't run into) as I found these sources."
  2. You aren't expected to consult or cite secondary sources UNLESS you used a secondary source to find more primary sources. In other words, if you found a scholarly book in the library on your topic and looked at it for footnotes to primary sources, then I want you to cite that scholarly book in your paper. (Along the lines of "I consulted The History of Prom in Atlanta in the 20th Century by Dinny Gordon [not a real book! :) ] and that helped me find sources X, Y, and Z). 
  3. Your evidence (that is, your ten primary sources) doesn't have to support an argument beyond "Here are ten interesting sources I found." They don't have to align with each other, or agree with other, or help you build a particular case. 

* * * * *

What you are doing, in effect, is what you might do at the beginning of starting a full-on history research paper: 

  • Come up with a topic (not too big, not too small)
  • Start finding interesting primary sources related to that topic
  • Pay attention to what those primary sources say about that topic -- what you learn from each individual primary source

Typically, you would also start looking for relevant scholarly books and articles (secondary sources) for context.

But because THIS class is meant to be an introduction to different kinds of primary sources and how to find them,

we aren't going in that direction. We're just focusing on primary source searching/finding/learning about.

Short Topic Papers: Due in class, October 4

Your short topic paper is due in class on Thursday, October 4.

Please bring a print copy of your paper to class to be turned in.

In this paper, I'll be looking for:

A paragraph (or two, or however many work for you) outlining:

  • What your topic is
  • Directions you might go with this topic (especially if your topic is broad or abstract)
    • Could include: things you are particularly curious about, hope to find, or are wondering if it's possible to find
    • Also could include any difficulties you think you might run into (some of you may be more aware of these than others

AND

A list of five keywords or phrases that you think might be useful for starting to search for materials

* * * * *

This assignment is meant to help you sort out possible search terms and starting points for finding your 10 primary sources related to your topic. 

Please feel free to contact me if you have questions, concerns, etc. about your topic over the course of the semester!

AND ONE LAST THING