Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

**HON 1000: ‘Going Steady?’: Documenting the History of Dating in American Culture, 1940-1990 (Anderson/Fall 2018)

Class Location: Colloquium Room, Library South 8

Class will be meeting today (November 1) in the Library's Colloquium Room again.

We will be working again with

Kevin Fleming, GSU's Popular Music and Culture Archivist. 

Morna Gerrard, GSU's Women and Gender Archivist will also give an overview of her collections.

The Colloquium Room is on Library South 8.

Take the Library South elevator up to the 8th floor. 

(Library North only has five floors. If you are in Library North, walk across the Link to Library South and take the Library South elevators to the 8th Floor.)

Because we will again be using materials from our Special Collections (special!), 
remember:

  • Please don't bring food or drink to the Colloquium Room for our class session.
  • You may be asked to put your bags, phones, and any other electronic devices in an area of the Colloquium Room.
  • You will need to use a pencil (no pens allowed!) for any writing. We will have pencils available for you to use.

Assignment for This Week

 

 

 

The full text of Adrian and the Tree of Secrets is available to read as an ebook through the GSU Library.

To read the entire book online, you'll need to create a myEBSCOhost account. Click here to set up your account. 

Instructions on working with this ebook are available at this tab on the GSU Library's Ebooks research guide (the entire guide includes information on how to access ebooks from other vendors as well).  

Updated to add: we now have a print copy of Adrian and the Tree of Secrets.
Click here for location information.

 

 

Image is from Adrian and the Tree of Secrets, p. 70

 

True Romance Comic Books

Popular Culture Literature Collection

Finding Aid

                     

 

Other secondary resources related to comic books:                                   

Agonizing love: the golden era of romance comics
by Barson, Michael.
Call Number: PN6725 .B3723 2011  PubDate:2011
Located: Atlanta Library North 4

Comic book nation: the transformation of youth culture in America
by Wright, Bradford W., 1968-
Call Number: PN6725 .W74 2001  PubDate:2001
Located: Atlanta Library North 4

Comic books and American cultural history: an anthology
Call Number: LB1044.9.C59 C65 2012  PubDate:2012
Located: Atlanta Library North 4

Comic Books: Dangerous?

In 1954, psychiatrist Fredrick Wertham published Seduction of the Innocent, a lurid warning about the dangers comic books presented to young readers. Focusing on gangster, superhero, and horror comics, Wertham stirred up a panic in the United States about the effects of the imagery in these comic books on young readers; he always opposed products advertised in these magazines (air rifles, knives). Wertham testified before the Senate Subcommittee on Juvenile Delinquency in 1954 on the dangers of comic books, and in response to the subcommittee's recommendations, comic-book publishers (via the Comics Magazine Association of America) established the Comics Code Authority that same year. 

Fair use, https://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?curid=2089313

 

Look for this image on the comic books' covers!

To learn more about Wertham and the Comics Code, see these sources:

And the original:

You can read the Senate Subcommittee's Interim Report here (you will be asked for your Campus ID and password in order to read it). Includes some sexy titles in the title list on page 7. The 1954 Comics Code begins on page 36 and includes "Costume" and "Marriage and Sex" sections on page 37.

*What is GIL Express? Click here to learn more. 

This link is the GIL Universal Catalog link for the Wertham book. Click on "Please Log in to enable GIL Express Requests" to start a request.