Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

**HON 1000: ‘Going Steady?’: Documenting the History of Dating in American Culture, 1940-1990 (Anderson/Fall 2018)

Class Location: Library Classroom 2, Library North 2

Class will be meeting today (September 20) in the Library's Classroom 2.

Classroom 2 is on Library North 2.

Directions:

  • When you enter the library on the Library North side, you will see the Circulation Desk as you walk in. You are on Library North 1.
  • There are elevators and a stairwell to your right as you walk towards the Circulation Desk.
  • (Saxby's coffee shop will be to your left as you walk towards the Circulation Desk)
  • Take the elevators or the stairs to your right up to the second floor. You are then on Library North 2.
  • When you get off the elevator/come out of the stairwell, you will see banks of computers and a giant window to your left.
  • Walk past the window to the Maps area. Classroom 2 is the glassed-in room just past the Maps area.

(Classroom 2 is also just above the coffee shop)

There is no assignment for this week.

Please make sure that you have scheduled a meeting with me -- these are required!

(whoops -- left from previous iteration)

See below for assigned readings --

Assignment for This Week

Image from Pinterest

(Ask me about getting access to Seventeen or other teen magazines for your projects!)

 

 

Read the four three four articles linked below and think about about dating, love, and sex are represented.

  • Who is the intended audience for these magazine stories?
  • Are these stories descriptive? Prescriptive? Both? Neither?

 

We will experiment with searching for magazine articles relating to your topic ideas in class. 

Historical Magazines/Journals (Databases available at GSU)

(Newspaper collections are listed separately in the Newspapers guide)

Selected Freely Available Online Periodicals

Looking for LGBTQ Periodicals?

GSU's Special Collections and Archives has a significant collection of periodicals (that is, magazines and journals) focusing on gender and sexuality. These are print periodicals, so are well suiting for flipping through and browsing. Though some of these periodicals are available digitally in LGBT Life, the digital versions can be challenging to search in. 

We don't have full runs (i.e. all issues) of all of these magazines, but you may be able to find useful material in just one issue.

Additionally, some topics may be better addressed through advertisements in these periodicals (advertisements are primary sources!), which are easier found by browsing in the periodicals themselves than by searching online. 

This link will take you to a finding aid which will include a full listing of the gender/sexuality periodicals available in Special Collections. To get to the full list, click on the link and then on the small box that says "Open Finding Aid" (upper left corner). 

Titles include (but are not limited to):

  • The Advocate (1975-2014)
  • International Male (1981-2007)
  • Playgirl (1973 and 1988; restricted**)

If you would like to visit Special Collections to browse through any of these titles, please contact Morna Gerrard, Women and Gender Collections Archivist, at mgerrard@gsu.edu to make an appointment. Or just come to Special Collections' Reading Room during its working hours and ask at the reference desk!

**Note that some of these periodicals are identified as "Restricted." You will need a letter from your professor to be allowed access to these materials. (For this course, that would be me!) You will also need to contact Morna Gerrard directly to find out more about access options for periodicals identified as "Restricted." 

Feel Like Browsing Old-School?

The GSU Library has bound copies (meaning, paper!) of several general-interest magazines from our time period that may have great advertisements or stories relevant to your topics. You can flip through these and see if anything catches your eye.

Examples include:

So, where are these paper copies?

They're on Library North 3. When you get off the elevator, turn to your right and you'll see wooden shelves with cranks on them. This is the Periodicals section. All the call numbers here start with "Per." (for Periodical). The magazines are in order by call number, so, Ms. magazine is in the HQ section; the others are in the AP section.

Except for Life magazine, which is the the Per. Fol. collection. ("Fol." stands for "Folio," which is a fancy way of saying "big.") To get to the Per. Fol. section, walk through the wooden shelving area toward the link (glassed-in connector between Library North and Library South). The Per. Fol. section is a set of shelves just before you get to the actual link.

Want to make scans or copies from these paper objects?

Scanners are on Library North 2, near the top of the big staircase.

Copy machines are on Library North 1 and 2.

Searching the GSU Library for Historical Periodicals

Use the Journals tab on the GSU Library homepage to search for historical periodical holdings.

Keep the "All Journals" button selected. This will tell you if we have the journal in paper or in microfilm.

Click to enlarge image.

Using WorldCat to Find Historical Periodicals

WorldCat is a database that searches libraries worldwide, including books, audiovisual materials, periodicals (magazines and newspapers), and archival materials. You can request many of the items in WorldCat using Interlibrary Loan.

Use Advanced Search to limit searches by author, title, and/or format.

If you are looking for periodicals, look for records including the word "microform" or "microfilm." Most libraries will not lend out bound copies of periodicals, but many will lend microfilm versions.

When requesting microform copies through Interlibrary Loan, use the "Other (Free Text)" request option and include periodical title, dates needed, and note that you are requesting microfilm.

The Heartbreak of "Find It @ GSU" and How to Recover

When searching in article or primary-source periodical databases, you might notice that something that looks useful... doesn't seem to be available. If the GSU Library provides access to that article through that particular database, you will see either "PDF Full Text" or "HTML Full Text."
 
If you don't see one of these links, look for a button next to the article you want. Clicking this button will check for full text availability outside of the database you are currently searching. A new window will open and depending on what full text formats are available through the library, you will be see several link options:
 
Full Text Online
Means that electronic full text of the article is available from one of GSU Library's full text providers. Click this link to proceed to full text provider's site where you will look for a link to the article. If you are off campus, you will probably be asked for your CampusID/password. Once on the full text provider site, you may need to "drill down" to a specific volume/issue to access full text.
 
We May Have a Copy in Print
If this link appears as the first option, then no electronic full text is available. However, the library may have a print copy of the article. Clicking this link will search the GSU Library catalog, GILFind, to see if the library owns any print volumes of the journal in which the article is published. If so, you will need to check the Recent Issues or Volumes Owned fields to see what volumes/issues are available.
 
Request This Item Through Interlibrary Loan
If neither electronic nor print access is available at GSU Library, you can click this link to access Illiad, GSU Library's system for requesting articles (and other materials) from other libraries. This service is free for GSU students/employees Follow the prompts to place your request. You will be notified at your gsu.edu email account when the PDF of the article is available.
 
Occasionally, people encounter problems trying to access articles from home using the "Find It @ GSU" button. Sometimes pop-up blockers prevent the "Find It" window from opening, so check your browser settings. Additional information on the "Find It @ GSU" button feature can be found here.
 
Ask Jill or use the library's Ask a Librarian service for help with Find It @ GSU or Interlibrary Loan requests!