Skip to main content

SCOM 1500: Public Speaking (Morris): GSU Special Collections & Archives

Contacting GSU Special Collections and Archives

 

GSU's Special Collections and Archives is located on Library South 8.

They are open Mondays - Fridays from 9:00am to 6:00pm, and by appointment only on Saturday.

General contact information:

  • Email: archives@gsu.edu
  • Phone: (404) 413-2880
 

Image: Advertising Billlboards for WSB Radio and Television (1950s), M004_0001, WSB Radio Records, Popular Music and Culture Collection, Special Collections and Archives, Georgia State University Library

Radio Broadcasting Collections

Radio broadcasting materials within the Popular Music and Culture Collections:

WSB Radio Records, 1920-1985 (bulk 1960-1980) Photographs, sound recordings, artifacts, program logs, and other materials related to Atlanta’s first radio station. (M004)

  • Series I: Office Files
  • Series II: Publicity/Promotion/News clippings
  • Series III: Log Books 1922-1949  
  • Series IV: Scripts (e.g. Meet the Artist 1954-1960; News Clinics ca 1960s; The World Today ca 1980s)
  • Series V: WSB Radio Engineering Lesson Plans
  • Series VI: Audio-Visual Materials and Artifacts
  • Subseries A: Photographs
  • Subseries B: Sound Recordings (e.g. political speeches 1946; News in Person ca 1950s; Sound Off with Bob Mohan ca 1980s; The World Today ca 1980s; Minority Perspective ca 1980s).

WRAS Radio Records, 1966-2009 Document the operation of the station, and includes station-produced content (interviews, promos, drops) and sound recording submissions for the Georgia Music Show. (M218)

Georgia Radio Hall of Fame Collection (M226) Contains materials pertaining to various inductees of the Hall of Fame such as Paul Drew, Robert Rounsaville, Ed Shane, Miss Monitor, Jim Wesley, and Dennis Winslow, as well as issues of the Southern Music Survey 1963-1966. [contact the archivist for more information]

Don Naylor Papers, 1934-1970 Scrapbooks, sound recordings, correspondence and scripts from Mr. Naylor’s service at WGST and WAGA radio and WAGA-TV in Atlanta. (M103)

Jack Tarver Research Collection, 1955-1969 Recordings of WSB, WABE and WAOK radio programs assembled by the prominent newspaper columnist and publisher. (M187)

Frances L. Wallace Papers, 1903-1995 (bulk 1940-1991) Materials that document the life and career of the pianist and organist for WSB, WAGA, and WCON. (M182)

Additional Radio Broadcasting Resources

Music Printed Collection: Periodicals, 1932-Present Collection of serial publications about popular music, rock, jazz, country, bluegrass and gospel genres of music, radio broadcasting, and related music industries.

History of Radio Broadcasting in Georgia Exhibit

WSB Radio History Research Guide

There are other radio broadcasting materials within some of the Popular Music Collections, such as Johnny Mercer Papers (Chesterfield Music Shop); Don Kennedy Papers (Big Band Jump), Chick Kimball Papers (WSB Barn Dance), and Wayne Daniel Collection (Country music and radio).

For more information about GSU's Music and Radio Broadcasting collections,
contact Kevin Fleming, Popular Music and Culture Archivist: