Anth 1102: Intro to Anthropology (Sharratt)

This page has examples of how to cite sources in Chicago style. For more details and examples, see the links in the left column.

Note:

Author's full name, "Title of the Article," Journal Title issue volume number (date published): page(s) cited

Bibliography:

Author's last name, first name. "Title of the Article." Journal Title issue volume number (date published): page range of the entire article.

Article in a print journal:

Note:

3. Jonathan Dewald, "Crisis, Chronology, and the Shape of European Social History," American Historical Review 113 no. 4 (October 2008): 1037.

Bibliography:

Dewald, Jonathan. "Crisis, Chronology, and the Shape of European Social History." American Historical Review 113 no. 4 (October 2008): 1031-1052.

Online article from a database:

Note:

4. Emily Chao, "Dangerous Work: Women in Traffic," Modern China 28 no. 4 (October 2002): 73, http://www.jstor.org/stable/3181348 (accessed June 14, 2008).

Bibliography:

Chao, Emily. "Dangerous Work: Women in Traffic." Modern China 28 no. 4 (October 2002): 71-107. http://www.jstor.org/stable/3181348 (accessed June 14, 2008).

Journal articles often list many authors, especially in the sciences. For works by two authors, list both in the bibliography and in a note. For three or more authors, list up to six in the bibliography; for more than six authors, list the first three, followed by “et al.” (“and others”). In a note, list only the first, followed by “et al.” 

Note: 

Author's full name. Title of work (Publisher, year published), page number(s)

Bibliography:

Author's last name, First name. Title of work. Publisher, year published. 

One author:

Note:

1. Jenny L. Presnell. The Information-Literate Historian: A Guide to Research for History Students (Oxford University Press, 2007), 98.

Bibliography:

Presnell, Jenny L. The Information-Literate Historian: A Guide to Research for History Students. Oxford University Press, 2007.

Only the editor is listed:

Note:

2. Ori Z. Soltes, ed., Georgia: Art and Civilization through the Ages (Philip Wilson, 1999), 280.

Bibliography:

Soltes, Ori Z., ed. Georgia: Art and Civilization through the Ages. Philip Wilson, 1999.

To cite a chapter or section of an edited book:

Note:

1. Kathleen Doyle, “The Queen Mary Psalter,” in The Book by Design: The Remarkable Story of the World’s Greatest Invention, ed. P. J. M. Marks and Stephen Parkin (University of Chicago Press, 2023), 64.

Bibliography:

Doyle, Kathleen. “The Queen Mary Psalter.” In The Book by Design: The Remarkable Story of the World’s Greatest Invention, edited by P. J. M. Marks and Stephen Parkin. University of Chicago Press, 2023.

Web Page

Note: Author's Full Name, "Title of Web Page," Publisher: Web Site Title, URL (access or publication date).

Bibliography: Authors Last Name, First Name. "Title of Web Page." Publisher: Web Site Title. URL. Access or Publication date. 

If a source does not list a date of publication or revision, include an access date.

6. David Darlington, "Henry Hudson Meets Google Maps," American Historical Association: AHA Today, http://blog.historians.org/ resources/799/henry-hudson-meets-google-maps (accessed June 1, 2009).

Darlington, David. "Henry Hudson Meets Google Maps." American Historical Association: AHA Today. http://blog.historians.org/ resources/799/henry-hudson-meets-google-maps. Accessed June 1, 2009.

Social Media

Citations of content posted to social media can usually be limited to the text. A note may be added if a more formal citation is needed. In rare cases, a bibliography entry may also be appropriate. In place of a title, quote up to the first 280 characters of the post. 

Note: Author's Full Name (@username), "Title of Post," Web Site Title, Post Date, URL.

Bibliography: Author's Last Name, First Name (@username). "Title of Post." Web Site Title, Post Date. URL.

2. Chicago Manual of Style, “Is the world ready for singular they? We thought so back in 1993,” Facebook, April 17, 2015, https://www.facebook.com/ChicagoManual/posts/10152906193679151.

Chicago Manual of Style. “Is the world ready for singular they? We thought so back in 1993.” Facebook, April 17, 2015. https://www.facebook.com/ChicagoManual/posts/10152906193679151.

Audio Visual Works

Note: Director's Full Name, "Title of Work," Format, Date, URL (if applicable).

Bibliography: Director's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Work." Format, Date. URL (if applicable).

2. Eric Oliver, “Why So Many Americans Believe in So Many ‘Crazy’ Things,” moderated by Andrew McCall, virtual lecture, February 23, 2022, posted March 21, 2022, by University of Chicago, YouTube, 1:01:45, https://youtu.be/hfq7AnCF5bg.

Oliver, Eric. “Why So Many Americans Believe in So Many ‘Crazy’ Things.” Moderated by Andrew McCall. Virtual lecture, February 23, 2022. Posted March 21, 2022, by University of Chicago. YouTube, 1:01:45. https://youtu.be/hfq7AnCF5bg.