Africa: Culture & Change: Subject Guide: Websites

From Geology.com

From the University of Texas Libraries

Provides information on the various languages throughout Africa

The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.

"The Nations Online Project - is, among other things, a more or less objective guide to the world, a statement for the peaceful, nonviolent coexistence of nations."

Current information from the State Department on African countries.

Information released prior to January 20, 2001.

Travel site that includes information about the people and culture of Africa, as well as facts and figures, medical issues, and maps.

Travel site that includes maps and general country information.

Photographic journeys through the countries of Africa.

The Afrobarometer is an independent, nonpartisan research project that measures the social, political, and economic atmosphere in Africa.

"Selected Internet resources by country/region and topics. Offers, amongst others, links to a lot of primary sources (full text)."

The African Activist Archive is preserving and making available online the records of activism in the United States to support the struggles of African peoples against colonialism, apartheid, and social injustice from the 1950s through the 1990s.

Portal provided by Michigan State University's Center for African Studies.

Explores efforts by the African diaspora to combat segregation, apartheid, and colonialism. Africana Age retraces this turbulent history of challenges, tragedies, and triumphs.

Includes videos relating to the 1994 Genocide against the Tutsi coupled with synchronized transcripts, searchable index terms, and maps. Videos include testimonies of Genocide survivors and perpetrators, Gacaca Justice System court proceedings, and remembrance ceremonies.