Special Collections and Archives: Integration of Schools and Universities in Georgia: Home

1. The Signal (student newspaper): University Archives
(NOTE: Photocopies of these articles are in the GSU History Box in the Reading Room.  The Signal is also available in the library's Digital Collections.)

2. Oral History Interviews (George Manners): University Archives

3. GSU President's Records (George M. Sparks): University Archives

4. Laurel Bowen and Peter Roberts.  "The Changing Face of GSU:  The Road to Diversity."  Georgia State University Centennial Exhibits, 2013.  In "Georgia State University History:  A Guide to the History of Georgia State University" [research guide].

5. David Wayne Nunnery, "The Attempted Integration of Georgia State College of Business Administration in 1956: A Significant Step Toward the Withdrawal of Georgia from the Massive Resistance Stance" (senior honors thesis, n.d.): University Archives

6. GSU Vice President for Academic Affairs Records, 1969-1982

Daniels, Maurice C.  Ground Crew:  The Fight to End Segregation at Georgia State.  Athens, GA:  University of Georgia Press, 2019.  (GSU Library: LD 1965 .D34 2019)

Reed, Merl E.  Educating the Urban New South:  Atlanta and the Rise of Georgia State University, 1913-1969.  Macon, GA:  Mercer University Press, 2009. (GSU Library: LD 1965 .R44 2009)

Roche, Jeff. Restructured Resistance: The Sibley Commission and the Politics of Desegregation in Georgia. Athens: University of Georgia Press, 1998. (GSU Library: LC 214.22 .G46 R63 1998)

Trillin, Calvin. An Education in Georgia: The Integration of Charlayne Hunter and Hamilton Holmes. New York: Viking Press, 1964. [relates specifically to the integration of the University of Georgia] (GSU Library: LB 3062 T7)

Trillin, Calvin. An Education in Georgia: Charlayne Hunter, Hamilton Holmes, and the Integration of the University of Georgia. Foreword by Charlayne Hunter-Gault. Athens GA: Brown Thrasher Books, University of Georgia Press, 1991. (GSU Library: LD 1986 .T75 1991)

• Atlanta Journal-Constitution Photographic Archive--several photographs of the integration of the University of Georgia.
• Oral History Interviews: Georgia Government Documentation Project

1. Oral History Interviews: Georgia Government Documentation Project
(NOTE: See also the interviews of Bell, Maloof, Moore, Smith, Vandiver, and Williams listed above.)

2. Photographs:

Lane Brothers Collection--Miscellaneous Events: one image dated August 30, 1961 titled Atlanta City School Interigation (sic)

Atlanta Journal-Constitution Photographic Archive--integration and segregation of public schools  (photographs of Sibley Commission meetings, protestors outside Atlanta public schools, the first day of Northside High School integration)