Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

On Display at Clarkston: Our Current Display

A guide for the content of Georgia State Unierversity's Perimeter College Clarkston Library's bulletin board displays.

Our Current Display

Fine Arts and Music

Jensen, Joan M., et al. Travels with Frances Densmore: Her Life, Work, and Legacy in Native American Studies,
niversity of Nebraska Press, 2015.
Call # Ebook Central ML423.D36 .T73 2015eb
Over the first half of the twentieth century, scientist and scholar Frances Densmore (1867–1957) visited thirty-five Native American tribes, recorded more than twenty-five hundred songs, amassed hundreds of artifacts and Native-crafted objects, and transcribed information about Native cultures. Her visits to indigenous groups included meetings with the Ojibwes, Lakotas, Dakotas, Northern Utes, Ho-chunks, Seminoles, and Makahs. A “New Woman” and a self-trained anthropologist, she not only influenced government attitudes toward indigenous cultures but also helped mold the field of anthropology.
Ebook Central

Jones, Arthur Frederick, et al. Storytelling Time: Native North American Art from the Collections at the University of North Dakota.
1st ed., University of North Dakota Art Collections ; in Association with Hudson Hills Press, 2010.
Call # E98. A7 U55 2010
The book examines how The University of North Dakota's collection of Native North American Art is understood and appreciated within its campus setting. As art collections are best understood within the context of historical trends of collecting, the book's authors consider significant changes that have affected the philosophy behind how and why collections of Native American art should be cared for, researched, and displayed. Objects made by Native North Americans, which are re-contextualized within an academic environment, are examined in ways that allow concepts embodied within them to reinforce a sense of greater cultural understanding.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Marshall, Ann E., et al. Of God and Mortal Men,
Cannon Museum of New Mexico Press in Association with the Heard Museum, 2017.
Call # Atlanta ND237.C24 A4 2017br>
This book conveys the artistic genius of T. C. Cannon (1946-1978) through his best and most iconic paintings and essays that offer a fresh and inclusive look at Cannons work extending beyond the confines of American Indian art. This group of paintings -- nine major canvases from the Nancy and Richard Bloch Collection -- represent the finest of Cannons artwork anywhere, from Cannons mature Santa Fe period and important pieces in the Heard Museums collections, including a canvas, lithographs, and woodblock prints, as well as paintings from the New Mexico Museum of Art permanent collections.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Moore, Emily L. Proud Raven, Panting Wolf: Carving Alaska's New Deal Totem Parks,
University of Washington Press, 2018.
Call # Ebook Central
Among Southeast Alaska's best-known tourist attractions are its totem parks, showcases for monumental wood sculptures by Tlingit and Haida artists. Although the art form is centuries old, the parks date back only to the waning years of the Great Depression, when the US government reversed its policy of suppressing Native practices and began to pay Tlingit and Haida communities to restore older totem poles and move them from ancestral villages into parks designed for tourists. Dramatically altering the patronage and display of historic Tlingit and Haida crests, this New Deal restoration project had two key aims: to provide economic aid to Native people during the Depression and to recast their traditional art as part of America's heritage. Less evident is why Haida and Tlingit people agreed to lend their crest monuments to tourist attractions at a time when they were battling the US Forest Service for control of their traditional lands and resources. Drawing on interviews and government records, as well as the totem poles themselves, Emily Moore shows how Tlingit and Haida leaders were able to channel the New Deal promotion of Native art as national art into an assertion of their cultural and political rights. Just as they had for centuries, the poles affirmed the ancestral ties of Haida and Tlingit lineages to their lands.
Ebook Central

Smith, Larua E. Horace Poolaw, Photographer of American Indian Modernity,
Nebraska, 2016.
Call # Ebook Central E99 .K5 .S658 2016
tour de force of art and cultural history, Horace Poolaw, Photographer of American Indian Modernity illuminates the life of one of Native America’s most gifted, organic artists and documentarians and challenges readers to reevaluate the seamlessness between the creative arts and everyday life through its depiction of one man’s lifelong dedication to art and community.
Ebook Central

Cooking and Handicraft

Johnson, Michael, and Bill Yenne Arts & Crafts of the Native American Tribes.
Firefly Books, 2011.
Call # E98. A7 J646 2011
Details how Native American culture evolved, the artifacts produced on the continent and the ways they were made, and the techniques of decoration and embellishment that utilized a variety of disparate natural commodities that depended on geographical necessity and abundance.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Salazar-Porzio, Margaret, et al. Many Voices, One Nation: Material Culture Reflections on Race and Migration in the United States,
Smithsonian Institution Scholarly Press, 2017.
Call # Atlanta E184.A1 A288 2017
Many Voices, One Nation: Material Culture Reflections on Race and Migration in the United States shares in print the important stories, artifacts, images, and events featured in the National Museum of American History's eponymous exhibit. Through sixteen carefully selected essays from Smithsonian curators and affiliated scholars, this book reaches a broad audience and makes a major contribution to historical scholarship on the peopling of the United States and the field of material culture.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Samuel, Cheryl. The Raven's Tail,
University of British Columbia Press, 1987.
Call # Ebook Central E78.N78 S34 1987
The author researched Northwest Coast Indian Northern Geometric Style Robes from historical data and fragments, reconstructing the original weaving process and materials to recreate "Chief Kotlean's robe". Historical data, materials and twining techniques extensively detailed and illustrated.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Sherman, Sean, and Beth Dooley. The Sioux Chef's Indigenous Kitchen,
University of Minnesota Press, 2017.
Call # Emory University E98. F7 S54 2017
Locally sourced, seasonal, "clean" ingredients and nose-to-tail cooking are nothing new to Sean Sherman, the Oglala Lakota chef and founder of The Sioux Chef. In his first cookbook, Sherman shares his approach to creating boldly-seasoned foods that are vibrant, healthful, at once elegant and easy. Sherman dispels outdated notions of Native American fare -- no fry bread or Indian tacos here -- and no European staples such as wheat flour, dairy products, sugar, and domestic pork and beef. The Sioux Chef's healthful plates embrace venison and rabbit, river and lake trout, duck and quail, wild turkey, blueberries, sage, sumac, timpsula or wild turnip, plums, purslane, and abundant wildflowers.
http://www.worldcat.org

Snell, Alma Hogan., and Franzen-Castle, Lisa. A Taste of Heritage Crow Indian Recipes and Herbal Medicines,
University of Nebraska Press, 2006.
Call # EBSCOHost Academic eBook Collection
A collection of Crow recipes, age-old plant medicines and healing remedies. This work imparts the lore of ages along with the traditional Crow philosophy of healing and detailed practical advice for finding and harvesting plants.
EBSCOHost Academic eBook Collection

Back to the top of the page.

Cherokee Phoenix

To see past Clarkston library displays, please visit the Display Archives.

Native American Heritage Month Logo

History, culture, art, handicraft, food, and music! There is so much to celebrate, and this page features ebooks, print books, journals, web pages, and streaming video on Native Americans, their lives, and life styles.

History and General Works

Alvarez, Alex. Native America and the Question of Genocide,
Rowman & Littlefield, 2014.
Call # Ebook Central
This provocative book asks whether or not the Native Populations of North America experienced genocide. Drawing on examples such as the Sand Creek Massacre and the Long Walk of the Navajo, the author shows the diversity of Native American experiences post-contact and uncovers the complex realities of this difficult period in the American history.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

A.M.
Native American Tribes in Georgia,
http://www.arcgis.com
In this map the history of Native Americans in Georgia is displayed. There are 11 different Native American tribes mentioned in this map including the Cherokee, Apalachee, Muskogee Creek, Hitchiti, Oconee, Miccosukee, Timucua, Yamasee, Guale, Shawnee and Yuchi Indians. Source:
http://www.arcgis.com

Dunbar-Ortiz, Roxanne, and Dina Gilio-Whitaker. "All the Real Indians Died off:" And 20 Other Myths about Native Americans.
Beacon Press, 2016.
Call # E76.8 .D85 2016
In this enlightening book, scholars and activists Roxanne Dunbar-Ortiz and Dina Gilio-Whitaker tackle a wide range of myths about Native American culture and history that have misinformed generations.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Edwards, Laurie J., editor. UXL Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes,
3rd ed., UXL, 2012. 5 vols.
Call # Gale Ebooks
Provides detailed studies of tribes from all over the United States and Canada, including small tribes and some that no longer exist. Gives detailed yet accessible information on history, religion, art, government, economy, daily life and current social and political issues.
Gale Ebooks

Fixico, Donald Lee. Bureau of Indian Affairs.
Greenwood, 2012.
Call # Ebook Central E93.F513 2012
Bureau of Indian Affairs tells the fascinating and important story of an agency that currently oversees U.S. policies affecting over 584 recognized tribes, over 326 federally reserved lands, and over 5 million Native American residents
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Hoxie, Frederick E. Encyclopedia of North American Indians,
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing Company, 1996.
Call # EBSCOHost eBook Collection
ven as interest in the powerful, often tragic history of Native America grows, many books continue to perpetuate long-standing misconceptions of the past as well as the romantic stereotypes often popularized today. Readers can now rely on Encyclopedia of North American Indians for an authentic and often surprising portrait of the complexities of the Native American experience. Written by more than 260 contemporary authorities, the volume features many Native American contributors - including eminent writers, tribal elders, scholars, and activists - with voices as distinct as their subjects, offering a deeper and more informed appreciation of American Indian life, past and present. Illustrated with many rare photographs, the Encyclopedia features articles on subjects such as mound builders, reservations, cigar-store Indians, child rearing, powwows, boarding schools, museums and collectors, dreams, the occupation of Alcatraz, and the impact of American Indian civilizations on Europe and the world
EBSCOHost eBook Collection

Malinowski, Sharon. The Gale Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes,
Gale, 1998.
Call # E77 .G15 1998
Covering almost 400 North American tribes, each essay contains information on both the historical and contemporary issues for the tribe. All entries begin with an introduction about the tribal roots, historic and current location, population data, and language family. This is followed by segments covering the history, religious beliefs, language, buildings, means of subsistence, clothing, healing practices, customs, oral literature, and current tribal issues.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

All the Real Indians Died Off  Encyclopedia of North American Indians

Back to the top of the page.

Prucha, Francis Paul. The Great Father?: The United States Government and the American Indians.
University of Nebraska Press, 1986.
Call # EBSCOHost Academic eBook Collection
The author's detailed analysis of two centuries of federal policy makes The Great Father indispensable reading for anyone interested in understanding the complexities of American Indian policy.
http://books.google.com

Prucha, Francis Paul. The Indians in American Society: From the Revolutionary War to the Present,
University of California Press, 1985.
Call # Ebook Central
American Indian affairs are much in the public mind today--hotly contested debates over such issues as Indian fishing rights, land claims, and reservation gambling hold our attention. While the unique legal status of American Indians rests on the historical treaty relationship between Indian tribes and the federal government, until now there has been no comprehensive history of these treaties and their role in American life.
Ebook Central

Sturtevant, William C. Handbook of North American Indians,
Smithsonian Institution, 1978,
Call # E77 .H25
The Smithsonian Institution’s Handbook of North American Indians series [is] the ultimate resource for Native American history across various regions of North America. The set is intended to give an encyclopedic summary of what is know about the prehistory, history, and cultures of the aboriginal peoples of North America north of the urban civilizations of central Mexico.
http://books.google.com

Swedlund, Alan C., et al. Beyond Germs Native Depopulation in North America,
he University of Arizona Press, 2015.
Call # Ebook Central E98
Beyond Germs challenges the hypothesis that the massive depopulation of the New World was primarily caused by diseases brought by Europeans, which scholars used for decades to explain the decimation of the indigenous peoples of North America. Contributors argue that blaming germs downplays the active role of Europeans in inciting wars, destroying livelihoods, and erasing identities"
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Tecumseh's Vision: We Shall Remain—America Through Native Eyes,
PBS.
Call # Films on Demand
In the spring of 1805, Tenskwatawa, a Shawnee, fell into a deep trance and claimed to have met the Master of Life, who told him that the Indians were in dire straits because they had adopted white culture and rejected traditional spiritual ways. In this episode the young prophet starts a spiritual revival movement that drew thousands of adherents from tribes across the Midwest. His elder brother, Tecumseh, harnessed the energies of that renewal to create an unprecedented confederacy of often-antagonistic tribes, all committed to stopping white westward expansion. Though the dream of an independent Indian state may have died when Tecumseh was killed, the great Shawnee warrior has lived on as a symbol of Native pride.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

United States Bureau of Indian Affairs
Bureau of Indian Affairs,
https://www.bia.gov/
Indian Affairs (IA) currently provides services (directly or through contracts, grants, or compacts) to approximately 1.9 million American Indians and Alaska Natives. There are 574 federally recognized American Indian tribes and Alaska Native Villages in the United States.
https://www.bia.gov/about-us

Weatherford, Jack. Indian Givers: How the Indians of the Americas Transformed the World.
Fawcett Columbine, 1990.
Call # E59.I53 W43 1990
After 500 years, the world's huge debt to the wisdom of the Indians of the Americas has finally been explored in all its vivid drama by anthropologist Jack Weatherford. He traces the crucial contributions made by the Indians to our federal system of government, our democratic institutions, modern medicine, agriculture, architecture, and ecology, and in this astonishing, ground-breaking book takes a giant step toward recovering a true American history.
http://books.google.com

Indians in American Society  Medicine Bags and Dog Tags

Back to the top of the page.

Current Conditions and Controversies

Becca Gercken, and Julie Pelletier Gambling on Authenticity: Gaming, the Noble Savage, and the Not-So-New Indian,
Michigan State University Press, 2017.
Call # EBSCOHost Academic eBook Collection
In the decades since the passing of the Pamajewon ruling in Canada and the Indian Gaming Regulatory Act in the United States, gaming has come to play a crucial role in how Indigenous peoples are represented and read by both Indians and non-Indians alike. This collection presents a transnational examination of North American gaming and considers the role Indigenous artists and scholars play in producing depictions of Indigenous gambling. In an effort to offer a more complete and nuanced picture of Indigenous gaming in terms of sign and strategy than currently exists in academia or the general public, Gambling on Authenticity crosses both disciplinary and geographic boundaries.
EBSCOHost Academic eBook Collection

Carroll, Al. Medicine Bags and Dog Tags: American Indian Veterans from Colonial Times to the Second Iraq War,
University of Nebraska Press, 2008.
Call # Ebook Central E98.M5 C37 2008
As far back as colonial times, Native individuals and communities have fought alongside European and American soldiers against common enemies. Medicine Bags and Dog Tags is the story of these Native men and women whose military service has defended ancient homelands, perpetuated longstanding warrior traditions, and promoted tribal survival and sovereignty.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Cates, Gwendolen. Indian Country.
1st ed., Grove Press, 2001.
Call # E77.5 .C37 2001
Photographer and author Gwendolen Cates has been going to Indian Country since she was a child. For this book, she traveled all over the country photographing people of many different tribes and nations and the lands in which they live: from the Navajo of the Southwest to the Tlingit of Alaska, from the Seneca in New York State to the Miccosukee in Florida, from Yurok to Cheyenne, Ojibwe to Hualapai. And her subjects are not mute: drawn from her conversations with them, their words, on subjects including identity, history, language, motherhood, spirituality, art, the rez, the environment, and more, are a powerful complement to the images.
http://books.google.com

Cherokee Nation.
Cherokee Nation,
https://www.cherokee.org/
The Cherokee Nation is committed to protecting our inherent sovereignty, preserving and promoting Cherokee culture, language and values, and improving the quality of life for the next seven generations of Cherokee Nation citizens.
https://www.cherokee.org/

Cherokee Phoenix
https://www.cherokeephoenix.org/
For nearly two hundred years, The Cherokee Phoenix, has been the Cherokee Nation's newspaper. It reports, news and culture, offers podcasts, and more.
Eileen H. Kramer

King, C. Richard. The Native American Mascot Controversy a Handbook,
Scarecrow Press, 2010.
Call # EBSCOHost eBook Collection
Sports mascots have been a tradition for decades. Along with the usual lions and tigers, many schools are represented by Native American images. Once considered a benign practice, numerous studies have proved just the opposite: that the use of Native American mascots in educational institutions has perpetuated a shameful history of racial insensitivity. The Native American Mascot Controversy provides an overview of the issues that have been associated with this topic for the past 40 years.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Light, Steven Andrew., and Kathryn R. L. Rand. Indian Gaming & Tribal Sovereignty: the Casino Compromise,
University Press of Kansas, 2005.
Call # E98.G18 L54 2005
This book provides the clearest and most complete account to date of the laws and politics of Indian gaming. Steven Light and Kathryn Rand explain how it has become one of today's most politically charged phenomena: at stake are a host of competing legal rights and political interests for tribal, state, and federal governments. As Indian gaming grows, policymakers struggle with balancing its economic and social costs and benefits.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Micosukee Tribe of Florida Banner

Back to the top of the page.

Micosukee Tribe.
Micosukee Tribe,
https://tribe.miccosukee.com/
The Micosukee are a tribe that resisted forced removal and only signed agreements with the US government in 1971! Though they once lived in Georgia, they reside in the Florida Everglades. Their web site, tells their story and showcases tribal businesses and tourism destinations.
Eileen H. Kramer

Muscogee (Creek) Nation.
Muscogee (Creek) Nation,
https://www.mcn-nsn.gov/
Muscogee (Creek) Nation is a self-governed Native American tribe located in Okmulgee, Oklahoma. MCN is one of the 5 Civilized Tribes and is the fourth largest tribe in the U.S. with 86,100 citizens.
https://www.mcn-nsn.gov/

Owings, Allison. Indian Voices: Listening to Native Americans,
Rutgers University Press, 2011.
Call # Ebook Central E98
In Indian Voices, Alison Owings takes readers on a fresh journey across America, east to west, north to south, and around again. Owings's most recent oral history-engagingly written in a style that entertains and informs-documents what Native Americans say about themselves, their daily lives, and the world around them.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Robbins, Catherine C. All Indians Do Not Live in Teepees (or Casinos),
University of Nebraska Press, 2011.
Call # Ebook Central E98. S7 R64 2011
Both a tribute to the unique experiences of individual Native Americans and a celebration of the values that draw American Indians together, this book explores contemporary Native life.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Collective Eye Films A Texas Myth,
Infobase.
Call # Films on Demand.
The Glover family invites an indigenous activist group to start a protest camp on their land in West Texas. They call the camp Two Rivers and fight the same company that built the pipeline at Standing Rock. As several industrial projects threaten the region, their struggle reveals much about the colonial legacy of Texas, and how what happens in Texas has reverberations around the world.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Waterman, Stephanie J., et al. Beyond Access: Indigenizing Programs for Native American Student Success,
First ed., Stylus Publishing, LLC., 2018.
Call # Ebook Central E97 .B496 2018
This book argues that two principal factors are inhibiting Native students from transitioning from school to college and from succeeding in their post-secondary studies. It presents models and examples of pathways to success that align with Native American students' aspirations and cultural values. Many attend schools that are poorly resourced where they are often discouraged from aspiring to college. Many are alienated from the educational system by a lack of culturally appropriate and meaningful environment or support systems that reflect Indigenous values of community, sharing, honoring extended family, giving-back to one's community, and respect for creation.
Ebook Central

American Indian Quarterly  The Sioux Chef's Kitchen

Back to the top of the page.

Fiction, Poetry, Memoir, and Biography

American Indian Quarterly,
Call # JSTOR
https://www.jstor.org/journal/amerindiquar
American Indian Quarterly has earned its reputation as one of the dominant journals in American Indian studies by presenting the best and most thought-provoking scholarship in the field. The journal is a forum for diverse voices and perspectives spanning a variety of academic disciplines.
Journal description at JSTOR

Chabitnoy, Abigail. How to Dress a Fish,
Wesleyan University Press, 2019.
Call # Ebook Central
In How to Dress a Fish, poet Abigail Chabitnoy, of Aleut descent, addresses the lives disrupted by US Indian boarding school policy. She pays particular attention to the life story of her great grandfather, Michael, who was taken from the Baptist Orphanage, Wood Island, Alaska, and sent to Carlisle Indian Industrial School in Pennsylvania. Incorporating extracts from Michael's boarding school records and early Russian ethnologies--while engaging Alutiiq language, storytelling motifs, and traditional practices--the poems form an act of witness and reclamation. In uncovering her own family records, Chabitnoy works against the attempted erasure, finding that while legislation such as the Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act reconnects her to community, through blood and paper, it could not restore the personal relationships that had already been severed.
Ebook Central

Ehrlander, Mary F. Walter Harper: Alaska Native Son,
University of Nebraska Press, 2017.
Call # Ebook Central E99.A86.E375 2017
Harper exemplified resilience during an era when rapid socioeconomic and cultural change was wreaking havoc in Alaska Native villages. Today he stands equally as an exemplar of Athabascan manhood and healthy acculturation to Western lifeways whose life will resonate with today’s readers.
Ebook Central

Harjo, Joy. Conflict Resolution for Holy Beings: Poems,
First ed., Norton & Company, 2015.
Call # PS3558 .A62423 A6 2015
In these poems, the joys and struggles of the everyday are played against the grinding politics of being human. Beginning in a hotel room in the dark of a distant city, we travel through history and follow the memory of the Trail of Tears from the bend in the Tallapoosa River to a place near the Arkansas River. Stomp dance songs, blues, and jazz ballads echo throughout. Lost ancestors are recalled. Resilient songs are born, even as they grieve the loss of their country.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Harjo, Joy. Crazy Brave: A Memoir.
First ed., W.W. Norton & Company, 2012.
Call # PS3558.A62423 Z46 2012
Joy Harjo, the first Native American to be appointed Poet Laureate of the United States, details her journey to becoming a poet. Born in Oklahoma, the end place of the Trail of Tears, Harjo grew up learning to dodge an abusive stepfather by finding shelter in her imagination, a deep spiritual life, and connection with the natural world. Narrating the complexities of betrayal and love, grounded in tribal myth and ancestry, music and poetry, Crazy Brave is a haunting memoir about family and the breaking apart necessary in finding a voice.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Momaday, N. Scott. N. Scott Momaday: Words from a Bear,
PBS.
Call # Films on Demand
When N. Scott Momaday won the 1969 Pulitzer Prize, it marked one of the first major acknowledgments of Native American literature and culture. Now, Momaday’s words come to life in this biography of a celebrated Native American storyteller.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu


Native American and Indigenous Studies
Project Muse
As the journal of the Native American and Indigenous Studies Association, Native American and Indigenous Studies (NAIS) is based in North America but seeks to bridge the distances across the Indigenous world.
Journal Description at Project Muse

How to Dress a Fish  Sky Loom
Conflict Resolution for Higher Beings

Back to the top of the page.


Native South,
Project Muse

Journal Description at Project Muse

Starita, Joe. A Warrior of the People: How Susan La Flesche Overcame Racial and Gender Inequality to Become America's First Indian Doctor,
St. Martin's Press, 2016.
Call # R154.P53 S73 2016
This is the story of an Indian woman who effectively became the chief of an entrenched patriarchal tribe, the story of a woman who crashed through thick walls of ethnic, racial and gender prejudice, then spent the rest of her life using a unique bi-cultural identity to improve the lot of her people--physically, emotionally, politically, and spiritually. Warrior of the People is the moving biography of Susan La Flesche's inspirational life, and it will finally shine a light on her numerous accomplishments.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Swann, Brian. Sky Loom: Native American Myth, Story, and Song,
University of Nebraska Press, 2014.
Call # E98.F6 S55 2014
Sky Loom takes the reader on a wide-ranging journey through literary traditions older than the “discovery” of the New World."
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Vizenor, Gerald.
Native Tributes: Historical Novel,
Wesleyan University Press, 2018.
Call # Ebook Central
Native Tributes is a sequel to Blue Ravens by Gerald Vizenor, a historical novel about Native Americans in the First World War published by Wesleyan University Press in 2014. Basile Hudon Beaulieu, a native writer, his brother Aloysius, an abstract artist, travel by train from the White Earth Reservation in Minnesota to Washington, D.C. where they protest with thousands of other military veterans in the Bonus Army, and their cousin By Now Rose Beaulieu, a veteran nurse, rides her horse named Treaty to the same march during the summer of 1932.
Ebook Central

Wood, Karenne. Weaving the Boundary,
University of Arizona Press, 2016.
Call # Ebook Central PS3623
Evocative, haunting, and ultimately hopeful, Karenne Wood's Weaving the Boundary explores personal and collective memories and contemporary American Indian realities through lenses of human loss, desire, violence, and love. This focused, accessible collection carries readers into a deep and intimate understanding of the natural world, the power of language, and the interconnectedness of life. Untold stories are revealed through documented events in various tribal histories, and indictments of destructive encounters between Western colonialism and Native peoples are juxtaposed with a lyric voice that gently insists on reweaving the past, honoring women and all life, creating a sovereign space for indigenous experience. Wood writes, "Nothing was discovered. Everything was already loved."
Ebook Central

Back to the top of the page.

Banner box for personal information