Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
http://www.sxc.hu/photo/889109 Stock.xchng Standard Licensing Terms
Christianity originated in the Mediterranean in the first century CE by followers of Jesus of Nazareth, called the Christ. The dominant religion in Europe and western culture, Christianity is now a global religion which has many divisions, denominations, and sects. Three major divisions are Orthodox, Roman Catholic, and Protestant churches. Sacred text is The Holy Bible. both Old Testament (Hebrew Bible) and The New Testament, with some churches recognizing an inter-testamental Apocrypha.
Reference books are an excellent source to begin learning about a
topic. Be sure to look at the end of an entry to see the books and
articles the expert recommends for a topic.
The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church by
Call Number: Clarkston Ref. BR95 .O8 2005
The best one volume reference on the Christian religion, with bibliographical information for each of the thousands of entries.
The New Catholic Encyclopedia
Call Number: Clarkston and Dunwood Ref. BX841 .N44 2003
The definitive reference volume on the Roman Catholic Christian tradition.
The Oxford Dictionary of Saints by
Call Number: Clarkston Ref. BX4659.G7 F37
The Association of Religion Data Archives
Features hundreds of scientific studies, mostly on Christian congreation in the USA. Also note the denominations information with denominational family trees.
Faith Communities Today
Surveys of all major Chirstian denominations, plus some studies and information about Jewish, Muslim, and Bahai congreations.
Of Interest on the Web
These might be of interest to those researching Christianity.
Publication Date: 2002-11-01
Christianityis a concise and readable survey of the history of Christianity, from its beginnings in late antiquity, through the Reformations in the West, to its present-day globalization. Focusing particularly on the modern period, it provides a valuable introduction to contemporary christian beliefs and practices, and looks at the ways in which this diverse religion has adapted, and continues to adapt, to the challenges of the modern world.
Publication Date: 2014-12-16
This popular textbook by one of the world's leading theologians offers a lively, jargon-free introduction to Christianity. Features a wealth of new material on global Christianity, American Christianity, the Orthodox Church, current theological debates, and Christianity in relation to other world religions Includes enhanced and expanded student-friendly features, including numerous illustrations, suggestions for further reading, a glossary of Christian terms, and brief readings from primary Christian sources written in an accessible and engaging style that assumes no prior knowledge of Christian beliefs or practices, making it an invaluable resource for beginners to the subject as well as those looking for a refresher Incorporates coverage of Catholicism, Orthodoxy, Protestantism, Evangelicalism, and Pentecostalism
The Origins of Christianity by
Publication Date: 1993-01-01
This is a revised and updated version of a student textbook concerning the historical problems involved in the study of the New Testament and modern techniques for solving them.
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
At a time when Christianity is flourishing in the Southern hemisphere but declining in much of the West, this very short introduction offers an important new overview of the world's largest religion. Exploring the cultural and institutional dimensions of Christianity, and tracing its course over two millennia, this book provides a fresh, lively, and candid portrait of its past and present. Addressing topics that other studies neglect, including the competition for power between different forms of Christianity, the churches' uses of power, and their struggles with modernity, Linda Woodhead concludes by showing the ways in which those who previously had the least power in Christianity - women and non-Europeans - have become increasingly central to its unfolding story.