Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
http://www.sxc.hu/photo/594104 Stock.xchng Standard Licensing Terms
Buddhism originated in Northern India in the 6th or 5th Century BCE and is based on the spiritual vision of Gautama, a young prince who became the first "enlighted one" or Buddha. There are two schools of Buddhism: Thereavada and Mahayana, which has several offshoots including Tibetan Buddism and Zen. Though predominantly practiced in Asia, Buddhism has worldwide adherents of its beliefs and practice. Sacred text for Theravada is the Tipitaka or Pali Canon and for Mahayan include various sutras acknowledged to be teaching of the Buddha..
Encyclopedia of Buddhism by
Call Number: Ref. BQ128 .E62 2004
AVAILABLE ONLINE. Two volumes, includes the history and significance of Buddhism in many countries, schools of practice, and doctrines. Excellent bibliographies for each article.
Reference books are an excellent source to begin learning about a
topic. Be sure to look at the end of an entry to see the books and
articles the expert recommends for a topic.
Publication Date: 2001-01-01
AVAILABLE ONLINE. This collection of essays examines ten core themes from a comparative perspective and thus provides an integrated introduction to the social and spiritual values at the centre of Buddhist thought. Following an introductory chapter, the themes covered are moral decision making, worship, myth and history, the role of women, attitudes to nature, sacred writings, beliefs about human nature, rites of passage, sacred place and the depiction of the divine. Each chapter concludes with a list of recommended further reading.
Dictionary of Buddhism by
Call Number: Ref. BQ130 .K46 2003
Clarkston and Decatur. An extensive collection of definitions for words and ideas related to Buddhism in English, Sanskrit, and Asian languages. Also a pronunciation guide, timeline, and maps.
Historical Dictionary of Buddhism by
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
AVAILABLE ONLINE. The Historical Dictionary of Buddhism covers and clarifies Buddhist concepts, significant figures, movements, schools, places, activities, and periods. This is done through a chronology, an introductory essay, a bibliography, and over 700 cross-referenced dictionary entries.
Publication Date: 1996-01-01
AVAILABLE ONLINE: This book covers both the teachings of the Buddha and the integration of Buddhism into daily life. What are the distinctive features of Buddhism? What or who is the Buddha, and what are his teachings? How has Buddhist thought developed over the centuries, and how can contemporary dilemmas be faced from a Buddhist perspective? Words such as "karma" and "nirvana" have entered our vocabulary, but what do they really mean?