GSU Library Research Guides: World Religions: General Research Guide: Sikhism

Databases

Atla Religion Database (Atla) This link opens in a new window
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials provides coverage from 1949 and retrospective indexing for major religion and theology journals.
Religion Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database provides coverage from 1986 - current on formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of many worldwide religions.
Oxford Handbooks Online: Philosophy This link opens in a new window
The Oxford Handbooks in Philosophy includes essays across major areas of thought such as epistemology, logic, ethics, aesthetics, and metaphysics, amongst many others subjects represent a variety of critical approaches.
Religion & Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides extensive coverage of world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.

The Sikh Coalition
Provides community and classroom resources on varying topics of Sikhism, most available in PDF format.
Basics of Sikhism from Discover Guru Nanak
Covers basic concepts and misconceptions about Sikhism. Also links to Sikhs talking about Sikhism in their own words. https://www.wearesikhs.org/
Sikh Dharma International
Provides information about Sikhism's origins, history, and more.
SikhNet Resources
Gives an overview of Sikhism from the definition to its traditions and more.

Encyclopaedia of Sikh Religion and Culture by Ramesh Chander Dogra
Call Number: Ref. BL2017.3 .D64 1995b (Atlanta Reference)
Information on all aspects of religion, culture, history, tribes, caste, folklore, customs, fair and festivals of the Sikhs.
Sikhism (eBook) by Doris Jakobsh; Henry Rosemont (Series edited by)
It highlights the religion's origins and development. It covers events, movements, and individuals that have contributed to important changes within the tradition and challenges stereotypical notions of Sikhs.
Sikhism by Eleanor Nesbitt
Call Number: BL2018 .N47 2005 (Dunwoody & Newton)
Introduces Sikhism's meanings, beliefs, practices, and more. Covers Sikh history from the Gurus and the Sikh appearance, martyrdom and militarization in the 17th and 18th centuries, the Diaspora, and of Sikh lifestyles of today.
The A to Z of Sikhism (eBook) by W. H. McLeod
It provides a chronology of events, a brief introduction that gives a general overview of the religion, and a dictionary with several hundred entries including the Sikhism's gurus and other leaders, complex history, beliefs, rites and rituals.
Sikhism (eBook) by Arvind-Pal Singh Mandair
This book presents the historical evolution of the Sikh traditions and the encounter of Sikhs with modernity, the philosophical teachings of its founders analyzed by Sikh exegetes, and Sikh ethical and intellectual responses to contemporary issues.