Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Judaism developed as the faith of the ancient Hebrews, with the Hebrew Bible (Tanakh), particularly the Torah, as its sacred text. Roughly, the history of Judaism may be divided into biblical Judaism (c. 20th–4th century BCE), Hellenistic Judaism (4th century BCE–2nd century CE), Rabbinic Judaism (2nd–18th century CE), and modern Judaism (c. 1750 CE to the present).
Publication Date: 2010-11-25
This book discusses the origins of the Jewish Bible; recounts the history of the Jewish people from the era of Patriarchs and Prophets through the Middle Ages up to the contemporary era; outlines the Jewish liturgical calendar and its major rites and modes of worship; and considers the great variety of Jewish literatures (including modern post-Holocaust writers like Primo Levi and Elie Wiesel), art, food and culture. Further chapters examine such topics as mysticism and kabbalah; modern Hebrew; interfaith relations; and the highly contested question, 'Who is a Jew?'.
Publication Date: 1996-01-01
"A Very Short Introduction" outlines the basics of practical Judaism -- its festivals, prayers, customs, and various sects. Modernconcerns and debates of the Jewish people are also addressed, such as the impact of the Holocaust, the establishment of the State of Israel, the status of women, and medical and commercial ethics.
A to Z Guide Series by
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
The second edition of The A to Z of Judaism doesn't just present 'religious' beliefs in a traditional sense but investigates the complex intermingling of religion, devotion, lifestyle, and culture as it is found in diverse Jewish populations around the world and as it has evolved over the course of recent human history. Judaism, like many other cultural institutions, has rarely remained static instead, continually investigating and questioning itself, metamorphosing in relation to the world. By means of a chronology, an introductory essay, a bibliography, and numerous cross-referenced dictionary entries on important persons, writings, institutions, concepts, Hebrew words, philosophy, theology, and religious law, author Norman Solomon provides an important reference source for the study of Judaism.
Publication Date: 2016-06-07
Judaisms examines how Jews are a culture, ethnicity, nation, nationality, race, religion, and more. With each chapter revolving around a single theme (Narratives, Sinais, Zions, Messiahs, Laws, Mysticisms, Cultures, Movements, Genocides, Powers, Borders, and Futures) this introductory textbook interrogates and broadens readers' understandings of Jewish communities. Judaisms is the first book to assess and summarize Jewish history from the time of the Hebrew Bible through today using multiple perspectives. Ideal for classroom use, Judaisms provides a synthetic and coherent alternative understanding of Jewish identity for students of all backgrounds; focuses on both the history of and potential futures for physical and ideological survival; includes an array of engaging images, many in color; offers extensive online resources including notes, key terms, a timeline of major texts, and chapter-by-chapter activities for teaching.
Jewish Vitrual Library
Almost 20,000 articles and visuals, especially good for the modern era.
Very basic information, including word definitions and practices.
My Jewish Learning
Very short articles based on questions and written by academic.
Encyclopaedia Judaica by
Call Number: Ref. DS102.8 .E496 2007
This encyclopedia covers both the religion and culture of Judaism. Provides an exhaustive and organized overview of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel, from Rabbinic to modern Yiddish literature, from Kabbalah to "Americana" and from Zionism to the contribution of Jews to world cultures.
Essential Judaism: A Complete Guide to Beliefs, Customs, and Rituals by
Call Number: Ref. BM561 .R58 2000
A practical guide to Jewish practice and ritual offers advice on beliefs, customs, synagogue services, prayers, holidays, weddings, circumcisions, dietary laws, and midrashim.
The New Encyclopedia of Judaism by
Call Number: Ref. BM50 .E63 2002 Clarkson and Dunwoody Reference
Publication Date: 2002
One-volume encyclopedia that presents every aspect of the Jewish religion and represents present-day thinking among scholars in the Reform, Conservative, and Orthodox movements.
Jews and American Popular Culture by
Call Number: Ref. E184.35 .J5 2007 - Dunwoody Reference
Publication Date: 2007
Table of Contents:
v. 1. Movies, radio, and television
v. 2. Music, theater, popular art, and literature
v. 3. Sports, leisure, and lifestyle