Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
http://www.sxc.hu/photo/413002 Stock.xchng Standard Licensing Terms
Hinduism, a word derived by the Persians and British from "Valley of the Indus," describes the religious practices of a majority of people in the Indian sub-continent. There is no known founder of this faith which dates to well before 1500 BCE. Major beliefs include worship of a variety of dieties and reincarnation. Sacred texts are the Vedas, Brahmanas, and Upanishads.
Hinduism Today by
Publication Date: 2010-04-22
This book tackles central issues, beginning with case studies of the grassroots practice of Hinduism in India and in diaspora communities. It covers issues of singular importance in the modern study of Hinduism, including the importance and role of mass media to this essentially orally transmitted religion. Other major areas covered include the concept of Hindu dharma, particularly in relation to caste, gender and Hindu nationalism, key and often controversial concepts in Hinduism.
Hinduism in the Modern World by
Publication Date: 2015-10-05
Hinduism in the Modern World presents a new and unprecedented attempt to survey the nature, range, and significance of modern and contemporary Hinduism in South Asia and the global diaspora. Without neglecting the significance of modern reformist visions of Hinduism, this book reconceptualizes the meaning of "modern Hinduism" both by expanding its content and by situating its expression within a larger framework of history, ethnography, and contemporary critical theory. This volume equips undergraduate readers with the tools necessary to appreciate the richness and diversity of Hinduism as it has developed during the past two centuries.
Publication Date: 2012-10-02
Julius Lipner's Hindus is widely recognised as essential reading for everyone wishing to understand one of the world's great religious traditions. Hinduism comprises the religion and culture of the great majority of the people of India, a country tipped to become a world superpower politically, economically and culturally in the course of the present century. Julius Lipner provides not only a wide-ranging introduction to Hindu religious and cultural diversity but also suggests a way to characterize Hinduism as a distinct tradition that has survived and adapted to changing circumstances from ancient times to the present day. In this second edition, students of Hinduism will find more coverage of the debate about Hindu origins, the nature and practice of Hindu worship, the role of women, the scope of dharma and morality, Hindu philosophical thought and the use of reason, and the way caste functions.
The Bhagavad Gita by
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
The Bhagavad Gita, "The Song of the Lord," is probably the best known of all the Indian scriptures, and Easwaran's clear, accessible translation is the best-selling edition. Arjuna's dilemma is acutely modern, and the Gita's message remains as relevant for us now as it was for ancient India.
The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Hinduism by
Call Number: Clarkston Ref. BL1105 .L63 2002
A comprehensive but basic guide to the principle ideas and practices of Hinduism. Whole work bibliography.
The Oxford Handbook of Global Religions by
Call Number: Dunwoody Ref. BL74 .O94 2006
Publication Date: 2006-10-12
A reference for world religious societies in their contemporary global diversity. Comprising 60 essays, the volume focuses on communities rather than beliefs, symbols, or rites. The six sections correspond to the major living religious traditions: the Indic cultural region, the Buddhist/Confucian, the Jewish, Christian, and Muslim regions, and the African cultural region. Essays discuss the social development of each religious tradition historically and basic social facts about the community's size, location, organizational and pilgrimage centers, authority figures, patterns of governance, major subgroups, and so on.
Historical Dictionary of Hinduism by
Call Number: BL1105 .S847 2011
Publication Date: 2011-09-09
Includes an introductory essay and chronology covering thousands of years of the evolution of Hinduism, Indic religious and philosophical movements, gods, goddesses, concepts, religious corpus, myth, people, and rich history. Contains terminology (cross-referenced), an extensive bibliography on primary sources, philosophical texts, religious works, an extensive list of secondary sources, and books about various aspects of ancient Hinduism, classical Indian history, colonial rule, to the diversity of modern Hindu sects and movements. (from Review of this book on Amazon.com by Darren L. Hacker)