Skip to Main Content

Research Guides

Distance Learning for Online College: Favorite Databases

A guide to library services and resources for Online College students

Here are some of our most popular databases for freshman and sophomore research projects. For more suggestions and tips, find a Research Guide on your topic.

Favorite Databases for Current Topics

CQ Researcher
Reports for Congress on issues of the day, including health, social trends, international affairs,criminal justice, the environment, and the economy.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
A well-known and highly-valued statistical reference providing a comprehensive collection of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.

News & Newspapers from ProQuest
Full text of 300+ U.S. and international news sources. Includes coverage of 150+ major U.S. and international newspapers such as The Atlanta Journal Constitution, The New York Times and the Times of London, plus hundreds of other news sources and news wires.

Academic Search Complete
Scholarly and popular magazine articles on nearly every subject. (Results are also in Discover.)
If you use more than one search term, be sure to connect your terms with AND or OR.

Favorite Literature Databases

For Students (Complete Collection)
A collection of ebooks from Gale that offers analysis, context, and criticism on both popular and frequently studied works.
Bloom's Literature
Literary criticism, Author biography and Literary themes, movements, and genres.
Gale Literature
Brings together all of Gale's literary databases into one seamlessly cross-searchable research study environment. Formerly Gale Literary Sources
MLA International Bibliography
Offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations

Multimedia databases

SWANK Digital Campus
This database offers online streaming of a wide range of feature films, documentaries, and foreign films.
Films on Demand
Documentaries and newsreel footage in many topics. Longer videos are broken into easy-to-find segments.
Kanopy Streaming Video
Kanopy is an large collection streaming videos including documentaries, classic films, and independent films in a wide variety of subjects.