ENGL 8800 / FOLK 8200 / WGSS 8920 / AAS 6015: The Sacred and Secular in Black Feminist Folklore: Articles / Databases

This collection, which consists of pamphlets, newspapers, and periodicals, reveals the challenges of racism, discrimination, integration and how these construct a unique African American culture and identity. The collection is centered on Atlanta, Chicago, New York and other municipalities in North Carolina.

This curated selection of primary sources is designed for teaching and learning about the struggles and triumphs of Black Americans. Developed with input from Black history scholars and advisors. (On this website, we present primary source documents from several of the time periods in American History when the river of the Black Freedom Struggle ran more powerfully, while not losing sight of the fierce, often violent opposition that Black people have faced on the road to freedom.)

This is an index containing thousands of records relating specifically to the relationship between races, including bibliographic records covering ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

The collection, which also includes biographic details, is designed for research in black studies, political science, American history, music, literature, and art.

This database contains LGBT journals, relevant bibliographic data from NISC's Sexual Diversity Studies, an LGBT thesaurus, author supplied abstracts and keywords, and searchable cited references.

Covers the core disciplines in women's studies and feminist research, covering publications from 1972 to the present. Supports curriculum

A resource for US and US women's history, specifically organized around the history of women in social movements in the US from 1600 - 2000.

Independent Voices is a digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. Produced by activists, feminists and alternative literary magazines in the 20th century.