GSU Library Research Guides: ENGL 1102 Adolph Fall 2024: Databases

Career Focused Databases

Career & Technical Education Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The definitive source for vocational information including computer science, engineering, healthcare, building trades, and others.
Fergusons Career Guidance This link opens in a new window
A database for lifelong career exploration education and planning. Helps with finding apprenticeships, internships and more.
GAcollege411 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A career guidance website that allows you to plan your high school courses based on your future profession. Its goal is to promote and increase access to education beyond high school for Georgians.
Vocational & Career Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Meeting a wide variety of vocational and technical research needs, this collection provides full text coverage for trade and industry-related periodicals.

Occupational Outlook Handbook This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides career information from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. Each profile also includes BLS employment projections for the current decade.

Career OneStop
The website serves job seekers, businesses, students, and career advisors with a variety of free online tools, information and resources.
Georgia Labor Market Explorer
Staying in Georgia? Career planning tools for our state.
My Next Move
Learn more about everything for a potential career from the education level needed to how much money you can make.
O*Net Online
This resource offers a variety of search options and occupational data, while My Next Move is a streamlined application for students and job seekers.
O*Net Online - Interest Profiler
The O*NET Interest Profiler can help you find out what your interests are and how they relate to the world of work. This tool helps you decide what kinds of careers you might want to explore.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
This site is the principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics.

These are our big, multi-disciplinary databases. They are good places to start when you are still working on your topic.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. PDF content dates back to 1887.
News & Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of U.S. and international news sources. Includes coverage of several major U.S. and international newspapers such as The Atlanta Journal Constitution, The New York Times, and the Times of London.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central brings together over 160 major subject areas, including thousands of full-text scholarly journals, trade and professional titles, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, case studies, and market reports all together on a powerful, user-friendly platform.

A more in-depth, longer version of the above video:

Research Databases at GSU Library - Full version (video 12:54)
Learn how to find information using Georgia State University Library's research databases. This full-length video includes lots of tips and strategies for getting the most of our databases.