[PHPH 7010] Foundations of Public Health: Statistics for Global, National, State & Local

From the U.S. Census Bureau.

Located at the Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta, the Atlanta Research Data Center (ARDC) seeks to provide qualified researchers in Atlanta, and around the Southeast, with the opportunity to perform statistical analysis on non-public Census microdata in a secure computing environment.

Links to state and territorial health departments.

Provides access to the 50 state reports, ranking each county within the 50 states according to its health outcomes and the multiple health factors that determine a county’s health. From the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and the University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute.

From the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

Presents BRFSS data for Georgia and for the 18 Public Health Districts.

Point of entry to access data made available by the Georgia Division of Public Health (GDPH). The data is organized by public health subject area.

OASIS is a suite of interactive tools used to access the Georgia Department of Community Health, Division of Public Health's standardized health data repository.

From the National Cancer Institute.

From the Kaiser Family Foundation.

The Metro Atlanta Equity Atlas (MAEA) is an online data tool, designed to connect local stakeholders to timely, accurate data. MAEA “well-being” categories include demographics, economic development, education, environment, health, housing, public safety and transportation.

Health Disparities Reports by county, metropolitan area and rural area for Georgia.

From the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

A portal to various health statistics.

CDC WONDER -- Wide-ranging Online Data for Epidemiologic Research -- an easy-to-use, menu-driven system that makes the information resources of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) available to public health professionals and the public at large. It provides access to a wide array of public health information.

From the National Bureau of Economic Research.

From the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

An annual report on trends in health statistics, from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

This web-based tool provides easy access to HHS data and statistics and also brings together key federal health and human services related data and statistics from other sources.

HSR Information Central is not an index of all health services resources on the Web. Rather, it contains selective links representing a sample of available information. Items are selected for their quality, authority of authorship, uniqueness, and appropriateness.

iPOLL is the most comprehensive, up-to-date source for US nationwide public opinion available today. The iPOLL database is organized at the question-level, with nearly a half million questions asked on national public opinion surveys since 1935. GSU users may also access and download data sets (many of which are available in SPSS format) available from this database. Funded by the Department of Public Administration and Urban Studies.

From the American Human Development Project of the Social Science Research Council.

From the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

From the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

From the National Center for Health Statistics.

From the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.

Official federal statistics on cancer incidence from registries that have high-quality data and cancer mortality statistics. From CDC's National Program of Cancer Registries.

From World Health Organization.

From Pan American Health Organization.

From the European Commission

The MEASURE DHS project is funded by the U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID).

Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union situated in Luxembourg. Its task is to provide the European Union with statistics at European level that enable comparisons between countries and regions.

From the Kaiser Family Foundation. Provides statistics on diseases of global concern; statistics including health care expenditures per capita, mortality rates, birth rates, and population information.

A free online database of law from around the world relating to health and human rights. Developed by Lawyers Collective and the O’Neill Institute for National and Global Health Law at Georgetown University, in collaboration with a worldwide network of civil society partners, the database offers an interactive, searchable, and fully indexed website of case law, national constitutions and international instruments.

The Global Health Observatory (GHO) is WHO's portal providing access to data and analyses for monitoring the global health situation. It provides critical data and analyses for key health themes, as well as direct access to the full database.

HealthMap brings together disparate data sources to achieve a unified and comprehensive view of the current global state of infectious diseases and their effect on human and animal health. Funded by Google, NLM, CDC and the Canadian Institutes of Health Research.

This annual publication is one of the leading sources of statistical information of the region, and contains social, economic and environmental data from the countries of Latin America and the Caribbean.

From the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. Provides an encyclopedia of information and statistical data about economic, health and social conditions in its 30 member countries.

The Demographic Yearbook provides official national population statistics for over 230 countries and areas of the world.

From the World Health Organization. An essential instrument for the rapid and accurate dissemination of epidemiological information on cases and outbreaks of diseases under the International Health Regulations and on other communicable diseases of public health importance, including emerging or re-emerging infections.

Data here cover health systems, disease prevention, reproductive health, nutrition, and population dynamics.

WHO's portal providing access to data and analyses for monitoring the global health situation.

WHO's annual World Health Statistics reports present the most recent health statistics for WHO's 193 Member States.