This guide highlights the various collection areas and industries in the Southern Labor Archive at Georgia State University. Each industry has its own tab that highlights important collections that relate to that industry. The information included are the collection name, link to the finding aid or digital collection, and potentially a short recap about the collection. The collections listed in this guide are not the only collections in that topic/industry but rather the ones that are either used the most or ones the archivist has identified as being the most relevant. To view all of the collections, please go to ArchivesSpace to search the finding aids.
The Southern Labor Archives, established in 1971, preserves the history of work and workers in the South, with an emphasis on union records, the personal papers of labor leaders and activists, the records of labor organizations and oral history recordings. Several industries and employment sectors are prominently represented in the collection:
Manuscript Collections:
[Description of item], [folder title], [box number], [folder number], [name of collection], [manuscript number]. [Collecting area]. Special Collections and Archives, Georgia State University.
Example:
Planned Parenthood of Georgia board roster, Planned Parenthood of Georgia, Inc. -- Board notebook, 2008, Box: 7, Folder: 1. Planned Parenthood Southeast Records, W084. Archives for Research on Women, Special Collections and Archives, Georgia State University.
Oral Histories:
[Name of interviewee] oral history interview by [name of interviewer], [location of interview], [date of interview]. [Name of oral history project], [manuscript number (if one exists)]. [Collecting area], Special Collections and Archives, Georgia State University.
Example:
Jeff Graham oral history interview by HIllery Rink, Atlanta, GA, August 8, 2014. Gender and Sexuality Oral History Project, Q101. Gender and Sexuality Collections, Special Collections and Archives, Georgia State University.
Periodicals:
[name of periodical], [issue/number], [box number], [folder number (if it exists)], [name of collection], [manuscript number]. [Collecting area], Special Collections and Archives, Georgia State University.
Example:
AID Atlanta newsletter, Fall 1984, Box: A, Gender and Sexuality Periodicals Collection, Q-GS-Periodicals. Gender and Sexuality Collections, Special Collections and Archives, Georgia State University.
Articles within a Periodical:
[author last name], [author first name], [name of periodical], [issue/number], [box number], [folder number], [name of collection], [manuscript number], [collecting area], Special Collections and Archives, Georgia State University.
Example:
Weatherman, Jon. "Christopher Street and Its Kind." RFD 175 (Fall 2018): 36-37, Box RFD, Gender and Sexuality Periodicals Collection, Q-GS-Periodicals. Gender and Sexuality Collections, Special Collections and Archives, Georgia State University.
Digital Collections:
[Description of object], [identifier], [name of collection], [manuscript number]. [Collecting area]. Special Collections and Archives, Georgia State University.
Example:
"Economic Justice and Women's Human Rights: A Position Paper, February 2005, " W114_02_06, Committee on Women, Population, and the Environment Depo Diaries records, W114. Archives for Research on Women. Special Collections and Archives, Georgia State University.
Special Collections and Archives
Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu
Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202
In Person:
Library South, 8th floor
You are welcome to visit our Reading Room by appointment only to view our collections. You can use our online registration portal to make an appointment and request materials to view. An archivist or other staff member will be available during your appointment to answer questions.
You can request materials in both ArchivesSpace and Digital Collections via a "Request this Item" button located in the upper right side of the page.
Please contact archives@gsu.edu with any questions.
Our finding aids act as inventories that describe and list the contents of collections and contain information about the person, family, or organization that created the collection. Through ArchivesSpace, you can search and browse these finding aids for our many collections available for research.
To find rare books, search the Library’s Catalog.
Contact us at archives@gsu.edu or (404) 413-2880 to schedule an appointment, or for questions about our collections.
Georgia State University Library’s Digital Collections include rare or unique resources which have been digitized or are born digital. These resources come from the University Library’s Special Collections and Archives Department, its general collection, or (in special cases) from community partners, and are selected for inclusion in Digital Collections so they can be accessed online to support the research interests of scholarly communities and the general public. Our Digital Collections include manuscripts, photographs, periodicals, newspapers, oral histories, sound recordings, maps, and printed materials.
For questions about Digital Collections, please contact:
Email: digitalcollections@gsu.edu
Telephone: 404.413.2860
