Ebook Central is a multi-disciplinary platform for e-books offering titles in a wide range of subjects featuring content from hundreds of publishers. Note: Ebook Central ebooks require authentication on and off campus.
Comprised of several eBook collections, including EBSCO's eBook Academic Collection, this resource provides access to multidisciplinary titles representing a broad range of subject matter, varying from basic content to higher-level content.
An online collection of of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Use the search box at the top of the screen to search all of the resources or use the subject links on the left-hand side to search specific works in the collection.
Includes the complete content of selected printed Salem Press reference works. Our collection includes literary criticism, history and science titles from the Critical Insights: Authors and Critical Insights: Works series, the Decades series, the Great Events from History series, the Great Lives from History series, Milestone Documents in African American History, the Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues and Encyclopedia of Global Resources.
In 1996, Congress commissioned the National Park Service to compile a list of sites and landmarks connected with the American Revolution that it deemed vital to preserve for future generations. Some of these sites are well known--Bunker Hill, Valley Forge, Fort Ticonderoga--and in no danger of being lost; others less so-- Blackstock's Plantation in South Carolina or Bryan's Station in Kentucky--and more vulnerable.
This two-volume encyclopedia offers a unique look at the African American experience, from the arrival of the first 20 Africans at Jamestown through the launch of the Black Lives Matter movement and the Ferguson Protests. It illustrates subjects such as the Jim Crow period, the Brown v. Board of Education case that overturned segregation, Jackie Robinson's landmark integration of major league baseball, and the election of Barack Obama as president of the United States.
This comprehensive, two-volume resource on American Indian history covers events from the time of ancient Indian civilizations in North America to recent happenings in American Indian life in the 21st century, providing readers with an understanding of not only what happened to shape the American Indian experience but also how these events--some of which occurred long ago--continue to affect people's lives today.
Encyclopedia of African American History introduces readers to the significant people, events, sociopolitical movements, and ideas that have shaped African American life from earliest contact between African peoples and Europeans through the late 20th century.