GSU Library Research Guides: Sociology Subject Guide: Scholarly Databases

This page is not currently available due to visibility settings.

Google Scholar

If you are on campus, you will see links to the full-text of articles in a Google Scholar search. Those links are provided by the library's paid access. If you are off campus, you will not see them unless you change the settings on your home laptop/computer.

Here is how you do that:

Go to Google Scholar and click on the three-line "burger" menu in the upper left.

Choose "Settings" and then choose "Library links." In the blank bar, type in Georgia State University and then check the box next to "Georgia State University - Find It @ GSU." Click Save at the bottom and you are all set. You should now see the links and when you click on them from off-campus, you will be asked for your campusID and password which will lead you to the full text of articles.

Off-Campus Access

Install and login to the Cisco AnyConnect VPN (Virtual Private Network) on your computer so that you are logged into the GSU network and will be automatically routed to GSU-subscribed journals. It’s available for download and instructions for using on the following platforms are available here: Windows | Mac | Android | Apple iOS

NOTE: There's a point where the directions tell you to enter secureaccess.gsu.edu as what to connect to.

Fact Checking Tookbox

BBB Scam Tracker
This resource is a database of reported and investigated scams, compiled and researched by the Better Business Bureau (BBB). BBB is a nonprofit organization that accredits businesses.
Business Source Complete
Business Source Complete is a scholarly business database that provides full-text access to many peer-reviewed business related journals, including disciplines such as marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
Charity Watch
This resource, parented by an independent nonprofit, began back in 1992, and it researches the efficiency, accountability, and governance of nonprofit organizations. It aims to expose wasteful and unethical charities, and it spotlights top ethical charities.
Community Foundation Locator
Find community foundations in your area by clicking on a map.
Fact Check Explorer
Use this fact-checking search engine, powered by Google, to search for a questionable "fact."
Hoaxy beta
This tool helps you to visualize data showing the spread of misinformation on Twitter.
Internet Archive (Wayback Machine)
The Internet Archive is a 501(c)(3) non-profit digital library of Internet sites and other digital artifacts. It provides free access.
InVID
This Chrome plugin helps you investigate questionable videos.
Mergent Online
Provides U.S. company data for over 15,000 public companies and their SEC filings, U.S. annual reports, plus international company data for approximately 17,000 companies, international annual reports, FactSheets, and country information.
Politifact
This nonprofit-owned investigative team rates political statements for accuracy based on their independent news expertise and then awards them a score on a “truthometer.”
Retraction Watch
This blog reports on retractions of scientific papers and related topics.
Snopes Fact Check
Snopes’ fact checking feature offers an archive of investigated rumors and questionable claims. The oldest and largest online fact-checking site, Snopes’ contextualized analysis uses evidence-based practices to fact-check the media.
TinEye
Want to determine if an image is an original, and from where it originated? Paste the image into this reverse image search.
U.S Business Database
Contains a total of 79 million businesses including 17 million verified and 62 million unverified businesses that are updated weekly. It includes parent companies, year established, contact information, sales volume, and more.