*Sociology Subject Guide

A complete revision of the 1982 edition, the Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice deals with not only law but also sociology, psychology, history and economics.

No matter whether it is a discussion of nationhood, race family, adolescence, or popular culture, identity is a mainstay in everyday conversations about who we say we are as individuals and citizens within a local or national community.

Based on the premise that race and racism are two distinct concepts with separate histories, the Encyclopedia of Race and Racism delves into the origins of these ideas through the analytic prisms provided both by the sciences and the humanities.

Winner of the 1993 Dartmouth Medal, this classic reference has been updated to reflect many changes in society and in the field of sociology in recent years. Articles covering core issues such as race, poverty, violence, economics, pregnancy and abortion have been updated and expanded, and completely new articles have been written on topics such as the Internet, privacy and epidemiology.

Economic Sociology deals with the multiple and complex relations between economy and society. In particular, it focuses on the impact of social, political and cultural factors on economic behavior. The Encyclopedia gives comprehensive and accessible coverage of the wide range of areas and subjects covered by the field, including, amongst many others, such major topics as consumption, corruption, democracy and economy, ecology, embeddedness, gender and economy, globalization, industrial relations, law and economy, markets, organization theory, political economy, religion and economic life, social capital, the sociology of money, state and economy, trust, and work.

How has the U.S. dealt, throughout its long history, with one of the worlds oldest problems? Although poverty has always been part of the human experience, societal reactions and responses to it have been as varied as the condition has been static. Poverty in America has its own turbulent history of causes, effects, and remedies, from debtor's prison to the War on Poverty, from Social Darwinism to food stamps. This in-depth encyclopedia covers the entire history of American poverty from every angle-historical, social, cultural, political, spiritual, and literary.

The SAGE Encyclopedia of Political Behavior explores the intersection of psychology, political science, sociology, and human behavior. This encyclopedia integrates theories, research, and case studies from a variety of disciplines that inform this established area of study. Aimed at college and university students, this one-of-a-kind book covers voting patterns, interactions between groups, what makes different types of government systems appealing to different societies, and the impact of early childhood development on political beliefs, among others.

The SAGE Encyclopedia of World Poverty', second edition addresses the persistence of poverty across the globe while updating and expanding the landmark work, 'Encyclopedia of World Poverty', originally published in 2006 prior to the economic calamities of 2008. There are 775 evaluated and updated and 175 entirely new entries, as well as an updated chronology, resource guide, glossary, and thorough new index.

The Sociology Reference Guide series is designed to provide a solid foundation for the research of various sociological topics.