Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

On Display at the Clarkston Library 2022 and Beyond: June 2022 A

The third in a collection of Clarkston Library Displays.

June 2022 A

Using The Library

GSU Library
A-Z Databases.
https://research.library.gsu.edu/
az.php?a=all

Because the library's big box does not "talk" equally well with all resource vendors or when you have a specialized paper, it's helpful to have a list of all the library's resources for ebooks, articles, videos, and more.
Eileen H. Kramer

GSU Library
Citation Styles.
https://research.library.gsu.edu/
citationstyles

Most academic work draws upon the works of others; therefore, citing your sources is an important part of the scholarly writing process.Citations include the key elements that allow your sources to be identified and located. These elements vary depending upon the type of resource.
https://research.library.gsu.edu/
citationstyles

GSU Library
Library Hours.
https://library.gsu.edu/
about/library-hours/

If you need the hours for any library on any campus, on any date during the semester, this calendar page has the information you need!
Eileen H. Kramer

GSU Library
Reserve a Space.
https://library.gsu.edu/
services-and-spaces/spaces-and-technology/
reserve-a-space/

The library offers a variety of spaces for Georgia State students, faculty, and staff that can be booked online for research and study purposes.
https://library.gsu.edu/
services-and-spaces/spaces-and-technology/
reserve-a-space/

CATLab
Library Hours

Back to the top of the page.

Kathuria, Sheeji
Library Essentials Workshops, GSU Libraries
https://research.library.gsu.edu/
c.php?g=1101409
&p=9087112

A list of past and future Library Essentials workshops. Workshops cover everything from privacy and financial literacy to ArtStor and Windows 10.
Eileen H. Kramer

Kramer, Eileen H.
Cite Your Sources GSU Library
https://research.library.gsu.edu/
citesources

If the words: "Works Cited" or "Reference List" strike fear into your heart, please try to relax. Writing a Reference List or Bibliography (APA does not call it a "Works Cited.") for your research paper, project, or PowerPoint is a relatively straightforward task if you follow the guidelines...
https://research.library.gsu.edu/
citesources

Kramer, Eileen H.
Search Sources – Part I – GILFind for Subjects
https://mediaspace.gsu.edu/
media/Search+Sources
+--+Part+I/1_hz5hkbon

Learn to search GILFind by subject (keyword), find ebooks from the library's largest supplier, request physical books, and find them by call number.
https://mediaspace.gsu.edu/
media/Search+Sources
+--+Part+I/1_hz5hkbon

Find Your Advisor
About the New Panther Card

Kramer, Eileen H.
Search Sources – Part II – Finding Specific Items wtih GILFind br> https://mediaspace.gsu.edu/media/
ch+Sources+--+
Part+II/1_c1qi7gxo

Sometimes you need a specific item from the library's collection. GILFind can help you find it. All it takes is an exact or approximate title search. This video covers searching when you know the title, when you sort of know the title, and using a title search to look for books by author and subject.
https://mediaspace.gsu.edu/media/
ch+Sources+--+
Part+II/1_c1qi7gxo

Kramer, Eileen H.
Search Sources – Part III – Gale Literature Resource Center
https://mediaspace.gsu.edu/media/
Search+Sources+--+Part+III/
1_zl02ca72

Gale Literature Resource Center is a great place to begin searching a literary topic or finding criticisms. This video shows how to search for specific works and authors, and also how to do a two concept, (Boolean) keyword search.
https://mediaspace.gsu.edu/media/
Search+Sources+--+Part+III/
1_zl02ca72

To see past Clarkston library displays, please visit the Display Archives.

The road to garduation is a long one, and this display helps you on your way, with library-related web sites, information to help with academics and life on campus, advice for academic success, and a fictional/literary look at college life. The Road to Graduation Success

Helpful GSU Web Sites

Find My Advisor GSU Advisement
https://advisement.gsu.edu/advisor-search/?
p_campus=clarkston&p_classification=0&
p_metamajor=0&wpv_filter_submit=FIND+MY+ADVISOR

If you need your advisor's name, email, or phone number, this handy web page supplies them. If you wish to schedule an appointment online, there is a link to the Navigate system for that.
Eileen H. Kramer

GSU Auxilliary and Support Services
Panther Card [and PantherCash]
https://services.gsu.edu/panthercard/

You can link a debit account to your PantherCard? It’s called PantherCash and is simple to set-up, convenient to use, and saves you money on any Georgia State University Campus.
https://services.gsu.edu/panthercard/

GSU Instructional Innovation and Technology
CAT Lab https://technology.gsu.edu/technology-services/technology-labs-printing/catlab/

CATLABs are general-use computer labs that offer state-of-the-art facilities to create, edit and share media projects. Here you can find Windows and Mac computers, check out cameras and multimedia equipment, use production and media software, work together in student collaborative spaces and get technical support.
https://technology.gsu.edu/technology-services/technology-labs-printing/catlab/

GSU Student Success Programs
Learning and Tutoring Centers https://success.students.gsu.edu/learning-tutoring-center/

The CRLA-certified Learning and Tutoring Center provides academic support in mathematics, reading, writing, science, and more. We provide a variety of services and resources to accommodate student needs.
https://success.students.gsu.edu/learning-tutoring-center/

University Career Services
Student Job Research Tools Georgia State University
https://career.gsu.edu/students/student-job-search-tools/

Being ready for the right job, co-op or internship takes some preparation and research. Here are some of the resources available to help you.
https://career.gsu.edu/students/student-job-search-tools/

Back to the top of the page.

Higher Education and College Success (nonfiction)

Dassin, Joan R., et al. International Scholarships in Higher Education: Pathways to Social Change,
Palgrave Macmillan, 2018.
Call # Ebook Central
This book explores the multiple pathways from scholarships for international study to positive social change. Bringing together studies from academic researchers, evaluators and program designers and policymakers from Africa, Asia, Latin and North America, Europe, and Australia, the book compiles the latest research and analysis on the policy, practice, and outcomes of international scholarship programs. Contributions examine the broad trends in sponsored overseas study, program design considerations, the dynamics of the immediate post-scholarship period and the impact of scholarships on international education and development.
Ebook Central

Fry, Robin W. How to Study,
Career Press, 2000.
Call # EBSCOHost eBook Collection
How to Study reveals the study skills that all students need to know to be successful, whether the goal is landing a top scholarship, excelling in school, or preparing to return to school. This edition includes information on how to create an effective work environment, stand out in class, conduct research online, and much more.
http://books.google.com

Gordon, Virginia N., and George E. Steele. The Undecided College Student: an Academic and Career Advising Challenge,
Charles C Thomas, Publisher, Ltd., 2015.
Call # EBSCOHost Academic eBook Collection
he world of technology is advancing at a rapid pace. New career fields are emerging, new interdisciplinary majors are being developed, and new college majors are being formed to prepare students for an ever-changing workplace. This revised edition provides extensive and systematic accounts of research (old and new), model programs for assisting students, and diverse theory for understanding the undecided college student. The text focuses on the unique needs of college students who are undecided regarding a field of study and/or career path, and the various approaches that advisers and counsel.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Undecided College Student   Library Essentials

Gribben, Monica. The Study Skills Toolkit for Students with Dyslexia,
Sage, 2012.
Call # Sage Knowledge
Packed with helpful advice, checklists and templates, this book will help you improve your study skills throughout your time at university. Written in a straightforward, no-nonsense style, the guidance can be broken down into manageable chunks.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Hyman, Jeremy S., and Lynn F. Jacobs. The Secrets of College Success.
John Wiley & Sons, Incorporated, 2019.
Call # Ebook Central
The Secrets of College Success combines easy-to-use tips, techniques, and strategies with insider information that few professors are willing to reveal. The over 800 tips in this book will show you how to: pick courses and choose a major manage your time and develop college-level study skills get good grades and manage the "core" requirements get motivated and avoid stress interact effectively with the professor or TA prepare for a productive and lucrative career
Ebook Central

Isserles, Robin G. The Costs of Completion: Student Success in Community College,
Johns Hopkins University Press, 2021.
Call # Ebook Central
To improve community college success, we need to consider the lived realities of students. Our nation's community colleges are facing a completion crisis. The college-going experience of too many students is interrupted, lengthening their time to completing a degree--or worse, causing many to drop out altogether. In The Costs of Completion, Robin G. Isserles contextualizes this crisis by placing blame on the neoliberal policies that have shaped public community colleges over the past thirty years.
Ebook Central

Kirp, David. The College Dropout Scandal,
Oxford University Press, 2019.
Call # Ebook Central
Higher education today faces a host of challenges, from quality to cost. But too little attention gets paid to a startling fact: four out of ten students -- that's more than ten percent of the entire population - -who start college drop out. The situation is particularly dire for black and Latino students, those from poor families, and those who are first in their families to attend college.In The College Dropout Scandal, David Kirp outlines the scale of the problem and shows that it's fixable - -we already have the tools to boost graduation rates and shrink the achievement gap.
Ebook Central

Back to the top of the page.

McCray, Suzanne, and Joanne B. Brzinski. Roads Less Traveled and Other Perspectives on Nationally Competitive Scholarships,
University of Arkansas Press, 2017.
Call # Ebook Central
Applying for nationally competitive scholarships can be a daunting process for students...For many, the applications present an unfamiliar territory, so students seek out informed advisors who can help them navigate the terrain. This volume of essays is a great way for anyone advising students through an application to become an expert.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Newport, Cal. How to Win at College: Simple Rules for Success from Star Students,
Broadway Books, 2005.
Call # LB2343.3 .N49 2005
The essential guide to getting ahead once you've gotten in--proven strategies for making the most of your college years, based on winning secrets from the country's most successful students.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Pauk, Walter. How to Study in College.
Houghton Mifflin Co., 2001.
Call # Dunwoody LB2395 .P3 2001
This classic text has helped over a million students turn adequate work into excellent work. How to Study in College details such study methods as visual thinking, active listening, concentration techniques, note-taking strategies, and test-taking techniques while incorporating material on life skills.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Display main panel   Display board detail

Robinson, Adam. What Smart Students Know: Maximum Grades, Optimum Learning, Minimum Time.
Crown Trade Paperbacks, 1993.
Call # Dunwoody LB1049 .R57 1993
Successful students are not necessarily smarter than their less successful peers, they have simply mastered the art of efficient learning. Adam Robinson introduces high school and college students to an innovative approach that can help them achieve top grades while discovering the joy of true learning.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Steppin.
directed by Jerald B. Harkness. , produced by Jerald B. Harkness. The Cinema Guild, 1992.
Call # Alexander Stree
https://video.alexanderstreet.com/watch/steppin.
Presents the college "step-show" in Indiana, with cultural roots that stem from traditional African dancing, military marching and contemporary hip-hop music. Step-shows have evolved into an African-American art form. Most often performed in talent competitions, 'stepping" has become a dynamic form of entertainment on the college campus. It is also a way for members of black fraternities and sororities to show pride and express devotion to their organization.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Balloons above the display   The not-quite-world-famous library welcome post

Tanabe, Gen. How to Write a Winning Scholarship Essay: 30 Essays That Won Over $3 Million in Scholarships.
SuperCollege, 2018.
Call # EBSCOHost Academic eBook Collection
Examining the two basic components of scholarship competition--essays and interviews--this vital guidebook offers practical advice and real-life examples to guide students through the entire application process.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Veletsianos, George. Learning Online: The Student Experience,
Johns Hopkins University Press, 2020.
Call # Project Muse
In Learning Online, George Veletsianos argues that in order to critique, understand, and improve online learning, we must examine it through the lens of student experience.Approaching the topic with stories that elicit empathy, compassion, and care, Veletsianos relays the diverse day-to-day experiences of online learners.
Project Muse

Back to the top of the page.

College Life in Fiction

Abraham-Watne, John. Last Man on Campus.
North Star Press of St. Cloud, Inc., 2015.
Call # EBSCOHost eBook Collection
Micheal Sinclair did not want to attend Malworth University. The smallest major campus in Minnesota, located in the sleepy western town of Cold River, was never the ideal space to find himself. And once Mike discovers the secrets that lay behind the school and the town, he delves into a mystery that could change his entire life. Does he dare become the Last Man on Campus?
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Adams, Hazard. Many Pretty Toys,
State University of New York Press, 1999.
Call # EBSCOHost Academic eBook Collection
When Nixon orders the bombing of Cambodia, a university erupts in protest, irrevocably altering the lives of students and faculty, and disrupting the process of storytelling itself.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Al-Ahdal, Wajdi., and William Hutchins. A Land Without Jasmine,
Garnet Publishing UK Ltd, 2012.
Call # Ebook Central
A Land without Jasmine is a sexy, satirical detective story about the sudden disappearance of a young female student from Yemen's Sanaa University. Each chapter is narrated by a different character beginning with Jasmine herself.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Study Skills for Students with Dyslexia   Secrets of College Success

Anderson-Dargatz, Gail. From Scratch,
Orca Book Publishers, 2017.
Call # EBSCOHost eBook Collection
Cookie is about to lose her job at the local bakery. She dreams of owning her own bakery but doesn't think she has the skills or money to do it. Most of all, she doesn't have the self-confidence. When she takes a course at the local college, she finds she has much more going for her than she imagined. With the help of her community, she figures out how to make sure no one has to go without her famous doily cookies for long
http://giflind.gsu.edu

Fitzgerald, F. Scott. This Side of Paradise,
The Permanent Press, 2016.
Call # Ebook Central
Raised by his mother, a charismatic eccentric determined to show her son the very best that life has to offer, Amory Blaine spends his childhood traveling from one party to the next... From prep school to Princeton to the crushing inhumanity of the US Army during World War I, Blaine searches for his proper place in the world. His quest brilliantly personifies the struggles of an entire generation that came of age in a time of great turmoil.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Fried, Golda. Nellcott Is My Darling,
Coach House Books, 2005.
Call # EBSCOHost Academic eBook Collection
Alice Charles has just moved to Montreal to go to McGill University. She's never had a boyfriend and doesn't know how to do laundry. She joins the Film Society and hangs out in the library. She drifts away from boring Bethany, her best friend from high school, and starts to trail after Allegra, the caffeine-addicted, dish-throwing artist in the dorm room next to hers. And, most of all, she thinks about how she's still a virgin and how she'll never figure it all out. And then she meets Nellcott Ragland, a 23-year-old who works at Basement Records and wears black eyeliner...
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

González, Genaro The Quixote Cult,
Arte Publico Press, 1998.
Call # EBSCOHost Literary Reference Center Plus
he late 1960s was a heady time to come to adulthood, even in deep South Texas. When the narrator of The Quixote Cult--known simply as De la O--begins college, he discovers a world of political activists, Vietnam veterans, small-time drug dealers, and academic opportunists unlike anything he and his friend Lucio ever experienced in the barrio. And the more he sees of the fighting between La Raza revolutionaries, union members, political bosses, and paramilitary protesters, the more De la O wonders if the preaching of Chicano brotherhood isn't simply the flowering of another crackpot cult.
http://books.google.com

Hirshberg, David. Jacobo’s Rainbow: a Novel,
Fig Tree Books, 2021.
Call # Ebook Central
Jacobo's Rainbow is an historical literary novel set primarily in the nineteen sixties during the convulsive period of the student protest movements and the Vietnam War. It focuses on the issue of being an outsider the ‘other’ an altogether common circumstance that resonates with readers in today’s America. Written from a Jewish perspective, it speaks to universal truths that affect us all. On the occasion of the 15th anniversary of a transformative event in Jacobo’s life the day he is sent to jail he writes about what happened behind the scenes of the Free Speech Movement which provides the backdrop for a riveting story centered on his emergence into a world he never could have imagined.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Back to the top of the page.

Krauze, Gabriel. Who They Was.
Bloomsbury Publishing USA, 2021.
Call # Ebook Central
An astonishing, visceral autobiographical novel about a young man straddling two cultures: the university where he is studying English Literature and the disregarded world of London gang warfare.The unforgettable narrator of this compelling, thought-provoking debut goes by two names in his two worlds. At the university he attends, he's Gabriel, a seemingly ordinary, partying student learning about morality at a distance. But in his life outside the classroom, he's Snoopz, a hard living member of London's gangs, well-acquainted with drugs, guns, stabbings, and robbery. Navigating these sides of himself, dealing with loving parents at the same time as treacherous, endangering friends and the looming threat of prison, he is forced to come to terms with who he really is and the life he's chosen for himself.
Ebook Central

Myers, Melanie. Meet Me at Lennon’s,
University of Queensland Press, 2019.
Call # Ebook Central
Olivia Wells is struggling with her university studies, her relationship with her father and her love life. Throwing herself into her thesis research, she stumbles across details of a young woman found murdered on the banks of the river in wartime Brisbane. Suddenly her studies - and her personal life - become much more interesting.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Robbins, Paul R. Look into the Past, Mercedes, If You Dare,
Branden Books, 2013.
Call # Ebook Central
About to graduate from a prestigious college, Mercedes had been an indifferent student in the classroom, but brilliant on the tennis court where she remained undefeated--not because she was more talented than her classmates, but because of her hired coaches. Wealthy beyond comparison with her classmates, she was physically athletic, good looking and charming, and because of her father's wealth, her future was all but assured. Suddenly and with no warning, her father was killed in a car accident; and days after her mother was fighting for her life in an emergency room, Mercedes discovered a bundle of passionate love letters between her mother and her lover. Mercedes'comfortable, idyllic and rich life turned upside down.
Ebook Central

Many Pretty Toys   This Side of Paradise

Serritella, Francesca Scottoline. Ghosts of Harvard: a Novel,
Random House, 2020.
Call # Ebook Central
Cadence Archer arrives on Harvard's campus desperate to understand why her brother, Eric, a genius who developed paranoid schizophrenia took his own life there the year before. Losing Eric has left a black hole in Cady's life, and while her decision to follow in her brother's footsteps threatens to break her family apart, she is haunted by questions of what she might have missed. And there's only one place to find answers.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Stone, Robert. Death of the Black-Haired Girl,
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2013.
Call # Ebook Central
At an elite college in a once-decaying New England city, Steven Brookman has come to a decision. A brilliant but careless professor, he has determined that for the sake of his marriage, and his soul, he must end his relationship with Maud Stack, his electrifying student, whose papers are always late yet always incandescent. But Maud is a young woman whose passions are not easily curtailed, and their union will quickly yield tragic and far-reaching consequences.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Sullivan, J. Courtney. Friends and Strangers,
Alfred A. Knopf, 2020.
Call # Ebook Central
Elisabeth, an accomplished journalist and new mother, is struggling to adjust to life in a small town after nearly twenty years in New York City. Alone in the house with her infant son all day (and awake with him much of the night), she feels uneasy, adrift...Enter Sam, a senior at the local women's college, whom Elisabeth hires to babysit. Sam is struggling to decide between the path she's always planned on and a romantic entanglement that threatens her ambition. She's worried about student loan debt and what the future holds. In short order, they grow close. But when Sam finds an unlikely kindred spirit in Elisabeth's father-in-law, the true differences between the women's lives become starkly revealed and a betrayal has devastating consequences.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Zurawski, Magdalena. The Bruise,
1st ed., Fiction Collective Two, Incorporated, 2008.
Call # Ebook Central
The Bruise is a prize-winning novel of imperative voice and raw sensation. In the sterile dormitories and on the quiet winter greens of an American university, a young woman named M-- deals with the repercussions of a strange encounter with an angel, one that has left a large bruise on her forehead. Was the event real or imagined? The bruise does not disappear, forcing M-- to confront her own existential fears and her wavering desire to tell the story of her imagination.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Back to the top of the page.

Banner box for personal information