Banu, Simina.
POP,
oach House Books, 2020.
Call # Ebook Central
Softening concrete poetry with humour and tenderness, POP takes an uncommon perspective on modern poetic traditions, combining deft lyricism with visual poems for a playful romp. POP rummages through the stale Cheetos after the love poem: what remains? What never existed to begin with? The book invites the reader to journey both forward and backward in time, to retrace steps, solve word searches, hold pages to the light.
Ebook Central
Brown, Michelle.
Safe Words,
Palimpsest Press, 2018.
Call # Ebook Central
From a student's confrontation with a teenage streaker, to a company man's complete undoing at his summer party, Michelle Brown's Safe Words finds rich darkness in happy partnerships. A maiden name is "handed down / like a sweater", a taxi ride "ends... at someone else's life". Played against a backdrop of pop culture, late-night swagger and vivid imaginary landscapes, Safe Words is the rare poetic debut that delivers passion and control, wielding humour and empathy in equal parts.
Ebook Central
Da', Laura.
Tributaries,
University of Arizona Press, 2015.
Call # Ebook Central
In Tributaries, poet Laura Da' lyrically surveys Shawnee history alongside personal identity and memory. With the eye of a storyteller, Da' creates an arc that flows from the personal to the historical and back again. In her first book-length collection, Da' employs interwoven narratives and perspectives, examines cultural archetypes and historical documents, and weaves rich images to create a shifting vision of the past and present.
Ebook Central
Edrich, Heid E.
Heid E. Edrich
Heid E. Edrich,
https://heiderdrich.com/
Heid E. Erdrich authored six books of poetry, a non-fiction work on Indigenous foods, and she edited New Poets of Native Nations anthology for Graywolf Press. Heid’s forthcoming book Verb Animate combines poetry and prose. Her honors include a National Poetry Series award, two Minnesota Book Awards and a Native Arts and Cultures National Fellowship. Heid is Ojibwe enrolled at Turtle Mountain.
https://heiderdrich.com/2022/
04/10/hello-world/
Gorman, Amanda
Amanda Gorman: Wordsmith and Change-maker.
Amanda Gorman,
https://www.theamandagorman.com/
Amanda Gorman is the youngest inaugural poet in U.S. history, as well as an award-winning writer and cum laude graduate of Harvard University, where she studied Sociology. She has written for the New York Times and has three books forthcoming with Penguin Random House.
https://www.theamandagorman.com/
Hahn, Kimiko.
Kimiko Hahn.
Kimiko Hahn.
https://kimikohahn.com/
Kimiko Hahn is the author of ten books of poems, including: Foreign Bodies (W. W. Norton, 2020); Brain Fever (WWN, 2014), and Toxic Flora (WWN, 2010), both collections prompted by science; The Narrow Road to the Interior (WWN, 2006) a collection that takes its title from Basho’s famous poetic journal; The Unbearable Heart (Kaya, 1996), which received an American Book Award; Earshot (Hanging Loose Press, 1992), which was awarded the Theodore Roethke Memorial Poetry Prize and an Association of Asian American Studies Literature Award. As part of her service to the CUNY community, she initiated a Chapbook Festival that became an annual event co-sponsored by major literary organizations.
https://kimikohahn.com/
Back to the top of the page.
Major, Alice.
Welcome to the Anthropocene
University of Alberta Press, 2018.
Call # Ebook Central
Alice Major observes the comedy and the tragedy of this human-dominated moment on Earth. Major's most persistent question--"Where do we fit in the universe?"--is made more urgent by the ecological calamity of human-driven climate change.
Ebook Central
Moffett, Helen.
Strange Fruit,
Modajaji Books, 2009.
Call # Ebook Central
Strange Fruit is a courageous debut with a remarkable range in theme and tone, from the nostalgic to the comedic to the bawdy, and to the angry, the melancholic and the steadfast and comforting. It will delight, shock, anger, induce laughter, shock more, delight more. And make you blush. It's a full range. There are poems of brutally honest self-scrutiny - the heart of the collection being a series of poems on the ageing body, loss of love and infertility - and there are poems that capture landscapes with imagist skill and the botanist's detail.
Ebook Central
Mwanaka, Tendai R.
Pearls of Awareness,
Langaa RPCIG, 2016.
Call # Ebook Central
Pearls of Awareness, contains poems of lyrical pleasure and spiritual upliftment. Its themes of ego-less awareness and awakening wisdom borrows from Buddhist mythical and mysterious teachings, African traditions and Christian Biblical teachings about the interconnectedness of all life, transcending boundaries of self and other, human, tree or animal, the living, the (un)placeable, the dead. The speaker's lyrical insights are comforting, even when mysterious, and because of their tone of tranquility and faith, eventually the listener will reach full understanding. Its strengths are its assured pacing of the poems, luminous imagery and wise insights, which brings clarity without explaining, making it work both as a spiritual message and enjoyable lyric.
Ebook Central
Piercy, Marge.
On the Way Out, Turn off the Light: Poems,
Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group, 2020.
Call # Ebook Central
A bountiful group of poems--direct, honest, and revelatory--that reflect on language, nature, old age, young love, Judaism, and our current politics, from one of our most read and admired poets "Words are my business," Marge Piercy begins her twentieth collection of poetry, a glance back at a lifetime of learning, loving, grieving, and fighting for the disenfranchised, and a look forward at what the future holds for herself, her family and friends, and her embattled country.
Ebook Central
Wall, Kathleen.
Visible Cities.
University of Calgary Press, 2018.
Call # Ebook Central
Visible Cities captures moments of joy and sadness that occur each day on city streets, exploring the humble triumphs and mundane tragedies of urban life. Photographs taken in locales from Regina to Venice, from Ottawa to Paris, inspire poems that reveal the unexpected beauty of the everyday experiences shaped by the cities we inhabit. Veronica Geminder's photographs peer into back lanes, admire people absorbed in public art, and consider those ruminating on their own reflections in the glass expanses of office buildings. Kathleen Wall's poems delve for the story behind the photograph, nurturing the moments that would otherwise quickly pass us by. Lose yourself in Visible Cities and uncover the vitality and complexity of urban life.
Ebook Central
Back to the top of the page.
Academy of American Poets.
Poets.org
Academy of American Poets.
https://poets.org/
his site is home to Pocket Poems and a Poem a Day. It is the semi-official home of National Poetry Month, and hosts American Poets magazine. Note: the magazine has a partial paywall.
Eileen H. Kramer
Bownas, Geoffrey, and Anthony Thwaite.
The Penguin Book of Japanese Verse,
ranslated with an Introd. by Geoffrey Bownas and Anthony Thwaite. Penguin Books, 1964.
Call # PL782 .E3 B6
oetry remains a living part of the culture of Japan today. The clichés of everyday speech are often to be traced to famous ancient poems, and the traditional forms of poetry are widely known and loved. The congenial attitude comes from a poetical history of about a millennium and a half. This classic collection of verse therefore contains poetry from the earliest, primitive period, through the Nara, Heian, Kamakura, Muromachi and Edo periods, ending with modern poetry from 1868 onwards, including the rising poets Tamura Ryuichi and Tanikawa Shuntaro.
http://books.google.com
Harmon, William.
The Top 500 Poems,
dited by William Harmon, Columbia University Press, 1992.
Call # PR1175 .C6417 1992
The pop title is right out of Billboard (the publisher must think poetry needs all the crossover it can get), but the collection is quite terrific--not necessarily the greatest poems (best to avoid that can of worms), but the 500 English-language poems that have appealed most often to 400 contemporary editors, critics, and poets for inclusion in their own widely disparate anthologies, which were indexed in the Ninth Edition of The Columbia Granger's Index to Poetry.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu
Poetry Foundation.
Poery Foundation.
Poetry Foundation.
https://www.poetryfoundation.org/
This site is the home of Poetry Magazine, which means many more up-to-the-minute poems than you will find anywhere else. It also features articles about poetry and even some recorded articles and readings.
Eileen H. Kramer
To see past Clarkston library displays, please visit the Display Archives.
|
This display celebrates poetry of all kinds: poetery from ancient Japan, eighteenth and nineteenth century verse, contemporary poetry with illustrations, and more. There should be something for everyond. Explore and enjoy! |
Blake, William, and Geoffrey Keynes.
The Marriage of Heaven and Hell,
Introduction and commentary by Sir Geoffrey Keynes, Oxford University Press, 1994.
Call # PR4144 .M3 1994b
Blake’s long poem, “The Marriage of Heaven and Hell” presented with Blake’s color engravings for illustrations, and with notes left by both the editors and anonymous students.
Eileen H. Kramer
Blake, William, and Geoffrey Keynes.
Songs of Innocence and of Experience: Shewing the Two Contrary States of the Human Soul 1789-1794,
Introduction and Commentary by Geoffrey Keynes, Oxford University Press, 1977.
Call # PR4144 .S6 1977
Reproduces the texts and the fifty-four hand-colored etchings of Blake's famous and now much sought-after double volume of lyrics.
Here is a beautifully illustrated edition of Blake's classic poems. The text of each poem is given in letterpress on the page facing the color plate.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu
Browning, Elizabeth Barrett, and Margaret Forster.
Elizabeth Barrett Browning: Selected Poems,
Introduction by Margaret Forster, Johns Hopkins University Press, 1988.
Call # PR4182 .F67 1988
The volume illustrates Browning's development as a poet and reveals her contribution to feminist literature. The poems selected here include early verses published in 1826, when the poet was twenty, as well as the last poems she wrote before her death in 1861.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu
Browning, Robert, and Pierre Loving.
The Selected Poems of Robert Browning,
Introduction by Pierre Loving, Walter J. Black, 1942.
Call # PR4203 .B64
Browning’s mastery of dramatic verse was evident throughout his career, from such chillingly unforgettable monologues as ‘My Last Duchess’ and ‘Porphyria’ to the mature work included in his collection Dramatis Personae. This selection, chosen by leading scholars, reveals the innovation, complexity and profound psychological insight that have ensured Browning’s enduring reputation and his continuing appeal to readers today.
http://books.google.com
Burns, Robert, and Raymond Bentman.
The Poetical Works of Burns,
Edited by Raymond Bentman, Cambridge Ed., Houghton Mifflin, 1974.
Call # PR4300 1974 .B6
A collection of verse in the Scots dialect by Scotland’s most famous poet
Eileen H. Kramer
Byron, George Gordon and Leslie A. Marchand.
Selected Poetry,
Modern Library, 1951.
Call # PR4352 .M3
This small volume is chock full of more than a hundred rhyming poems, many of which are of manageable length.
Eileen H. Kramer
Dickinson, Emily, et al.
Selected Poems and Letters of Emily Dickinson: Together with Thomas Wentworth Higginson’s Account of his Correspondence with the Poet and His Visit to her in Amherst,
Edited, with an Introduction, by Robert N. Linscott, Anchor Books Edition., Doubleday & Company, 1959.
Call # PS1541 .A6 1959
he editor compiles historical material and poetry and letters from, to, and about Emily Dickinson. Reminds us that she never published anything in her lifetime, but stands now in high regard as an accomplished poet. She left 1775 poems that have been found. As a poet, she worked alone, without criticism, and remains breath-takingly original.
http://www.librarything.com
Back to the top of the page.
Edgar Allan Poe Society of Baltimore.
Edgar Allan Poe Society of Baltimore
Edgar Allan Poe Society of Baltimore.
https://www.eapoe.org/index.htm
There are Poe's biography, links to poetry, stories, and essays by Poe, literary criticism, and even a section on the author/poet's death.
Eileen H. Kramer
Keats, John, and Harold Edgar Briggs.
Complete Poetry and Selected Prose,
Edited, with an Introduction, by Harold Edgar Briggs, Modern Library, 1951.
Call # PR4830 .F51
A chronological collection of the lyrics and selected letters of the great Romantic poet.
http://books.google.com
National Poetry Foundation.
Emily Dickinson,
National Poetry Foundation.
https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poets/emily-dickinson
Emily Dickinson is one of America’s greatest and most original poets of all time. She took definition as her province and challenged the existing definitions of poetry and the poet’s work. Like writers such as Ralph Waldo Emerson, Henry David Thoreau, and Walt Whitman, she experimented with expression in order to free it from conventional restraints. Like writers such as Charlotte Brontë and Elizabeth Barrett Browning, she crafted a new type of persona for the first person. The speakers in Dickinson’s poetry, like those in Brontë’s and Browning’s works, are sharp-sighted observers who see the inescapable limitations of their societies as well as their imagined and imaginable escapes.
https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poets/emily-dickinson
Pine, Red, and Stonehouse.
The Mountain Poems of Stonehouse,
Edited by Red Pine, Copper Canyon Press, 2014.
Call # Ebook Central
The Zen master and mountain hermit Stonehouse—considered one of the greatest Chinese Buddhist poets—used poetry as his medium of instruction. Near the end of his life, monks asked him to record what he found of interest on his mountain; Stonehouse delivered to them hundreds of poems and an admonition: "Do not to try singing these poems. Only if you sit on them will they do you any good."
Ebook Central
Poe, Edgar Allan, and Daniel Alan Green
The Raven & Other Poems and Tales,
Illustrations by Daniel Alan Green, 1st ed., Bulfinch Press, 2001.
Call # PS2602 2001
One of the most original American writers, Edgar Allan Poe shaped the development of both the horror story and science fiction genres and has widespread, timeless appeal. Some of his poems remain among the most popular in American literature, and Poe's tales of the macabre still thrill readers of all ages. Here, in a small-format illustrated collection, are 16 poems and tales by Edgar Allan Poe. All are matched with newly commissioned illustrations by Daniel Alan Green that eerily complement Poe's dark oeuvre.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu
Poe, Edgar Allan, and Andrew Lang.
The Poems of Edgar Allan Poe; With a Selection of Essays,
J.M. Dent & Sons, 1927.
Call # PS2605 .P6
In this glorious collection of Edgar Allan Poe's dark and dreary poems, you will see what had been going through his odd mind. While this kind of book may not appeal to everyone, this book was rather enjoyable. As it is very different from the optimistic books and poems you see today. The poems are dark, and tell tales of grief, laments and suffering.
http://www.librarything.com
Rossetti, Christina Georgina, and Arthur Rackham.
Goblin Market,
Illustrated by Arthur Rackham, Dover Publications, 2010.
Call # PR5237 .G6 2010
A phantasmagoric poem about two girls seduced by lewd goblin men serving up forbidden fruits provides a lush and startling look into the depths of the Victorian psyche, accompanied by the original illustrations.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu
Shelley, Percy Bysshe, and Newell F. Ford.
The Poetical Works of Shelley,
Houghton Mifflin, 1975.
Call # PR5402 1975
Selected pieces by one of the major English Romantic poets. Often attacked for his "atheism" and "meliorism ("revolutionism" to conservative minds). In truth, he was a deeply religious idealist committed to enlightenment, justice, and disinterested love.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu
Tennyson, Alfred and G. Robert Stange.
The Poetical Works of Tennyson,
Edited by G. Robert Stange, Cambridge Ed., Houghton Mifflin, 1974.
Call # PR5550 .F74
This collection contains the texts of Tennyson's poems, a critical introduction, and notes. Alfred Tennyson was Poet Laureate of Great Britain and Ireland during much of Queen Victoria's reign and remains one of the most popular British poets.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu
Back to the top of the page.
Achebe, Chinua.
Collected Poems,
Anchor Books, 2004.
Call # PR9387.9.A3 A17 2004
From an account of the tragedy of Biafra to an appeal to African consciousness, from a gentle mockery of tradition to a recollection of personal relationships, Achebe's poems are marked by a richness of language and blend simplicity and eloquence, fierceness and tenderness and a careful attention to the minute - a facial expression, a wrinkled hand, a sunbeam.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu
Cisneros, Sandra.
Loose Woman: Poems,
1st Ed., Knopf, 1994.
Call # PS3553.I78 L66 1995
A candid, sexy and wonderfully mood-strewn collection of poetry that celebrates the female aspects of love, from the reflective to the overtly erotic. Seductive, earthy, at times confessional, Sandra Cisneros's vibrant new collection of poetry celebrates the female aspects of love - from the reflective to the overtly erotic - in a voice recognizable from her powerful works of fiction.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu
Eliot, T.S.
Collected Poems, 1909-1962,
1st American Ed., Harcourt, Brace & World, 1963.
Call # PS3509.L43 A17 1963
Poet, dramatist, critic, and editor, T. S. Eliot was one of the defining figures of twentieth-century poetry. This edition of Collected Poems 1909-1962 includes The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock along with Four Quartets, The Waste Land, and several other poems.
http://books.google.com
Eliot, T.S.
The Waste Land, and Other Poems,
Harcourt, Brace, 1934.
Call # PS3509.L43 W38
While recovering from a mental collapse in a Swiss sanitarium in 1921, T. S. Eliot finished what became the definitive poem of the modern condition, one that still casts a large and ominous shadow over twentieth-century poetry. Built upon the imagery of the Grail legend, the Fisher King, and ancient fertility cults, “The Waste Land” is both a poetic diagnosis of an ailing civilization and a desperate quest for spiritual renewal.
http://books.google.com
Ginsberg, Allen, and William Carlos Williams.
Howl and Other Poems,
City Lights Books, 1959.
Call # PS3513.I74 H6 1959b
This collection of poems by Ginsberg created a sensation when it was first published in 1956, becoming the subject of an obscenity trial and changing the literary landscape forever.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu
Giovanni, Nikki
Cotton Candy on a Rainy Day,
William Morrow and Company, 1978.
Call # LION
A pivotal work in Nikki Giovanni's career, Cotton Candy on a Rainy Day is one of the most poignant and intorspective of all Giovanni's collections. Moving from the emotionally fraught political arena to the intimate realm of the personal, the poems in this volume express a conflicted consciousness and the disillusionment shared by so many during the early 1970s, when the dreams of the Civil Rights era seemed to have evaporated. First published in 1978, this classic will remind her readers why they were first drawn to Nikki Giovanni and enthrall new readers who are just now coming to these timeless poems.
Source
Giovanni, Nikki
Love Poems,
Morrow, 1997.
Call # LION
In a career that has spanned more than a quarter century, Nikki Giovanni has earned the reputation as one of America's most celebrated and controversial writers. Now, she presents a stunning collection of love poems that includes more than twenty new works. From the revolutionary Seduction to the tender new poem, Just a Simple Declaration of Love, from the whimsical I Wrote a Good Omelet to the elegiac All Eyez on U, written for Tupac Shakur, these poems embody the fearless passion and spirited wit for which Nikki Giovanni is beloved and revered. Romantic, bold, and erotic, Love Poems expresses notions of love in ways that are delightfully unexpected.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu
Back to the top of the page.
Hughes, Langston, and E. McKnight Kauffer. Selected Poems,
Iqbal, Muhammed, and Mir Mustansir.
Tulip in the Desert: A Selection of the Poetry of Muhammad Iqbal,
McGill-Queen's University Press, 1999.
Call # Ebook Central
Tulip in the Desert a selection of the poetry of Muhammad Iqbal / edited and translated, with commentary and notes, by Mustansir Mir.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu
Neruda, Pablo, et. al.
Alturas de Macchu Picchu,
Translated by Nathaniel Tarn, First American edition., Farrar, Straus & Giroux, 1967.
Call # PQ8097.N4 A753 1967
Long poem inspired by the author's journey to a ruined Inca city, Macchu Picchu, high in the Andes, symbolic not only of his physical journey but also of his spiritual adventure.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu
Neruda, Pablo, et. al.
Spain in Our Hearts: Hymn to the Glories of the People at War,
Translated by Donald Devenish Walsh, New Directions, 2006.
Call # PQ8097.N4 E79 2005
Presents the impassioned poems that the future Nobel prize-winner wrote while serving as Chilean consul in the Spanish Republic during the Spanish Civil War in the late 1930s.
Souhttp://gilfind.gsu.edu
Seuss.
Green Eggs and Ham,
Random House, Inc., 1988.
Call # Random House, Inc., 1988.
Eighty-some pages of ear-worm prose and delightful cartoons about yellow creatures forcing each other to eat/try... a new food.
Eileen H. Kramer
Shiffert, Edith Marcombe., and Yuki Sawa.
Anthology of Modern Japanese Poetry,
Translated & Compiled by Edith Marcombe Shiffert & Yu?ki Sawa. Charles E. Tuttle, 1972.
Call # PL782 .E2 S5
The state of Japanese poetry in the twentieth century, its high quality and individuality is clearly shown in this book. The introduction gives a brief, lucid history of poetry in Japan, with the emphasis on modern poetry. The body of the book is taken up with the translation of the work of forty–nine widely acclaimed poets: free–verse poets, tanka poets, and haiku poets. At the back are notes giving illuminating biographical and literary information about each poet.
http://books.google.com
Back to the top of the page.
