Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

On Display at the Clarkston Library 2022 and Beyond: March 2022

The third in a collection of Clarkston Library Displays.

March 2022

LifeStyle Nutrition and Fitness

Denney, Stacy, and Kate. Hodson. Fit Mama?: a Real-Life Fitness Guide for the New Mom,
Chronicle Books, 2007.
Call # RG801 .D39 2007
From simple exercises to do with baby to full body cardio workouts, Fit Mama offers an effective, holistic approach to postpartum fitness. Stacy Denney and Kate Hodson know from experience that it doesn't happen overnight. They offer wise counsel on finding the time and energy to shape up gradually at first, and they motivate moms to amp it up as time goes by. With fully illustrated step-by-step directions and lots of encouragement along the way, Fit Mama delivers!
htp://books.google.com

Ellis, Esther et al.
"Healthy Eating for Women."
Eat Right,
American Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics,
https://www.eatright.org/food/
nutrition/dietary-guidelines
-and-myplate/
healthy-eating-for-women

A balanced eating pattern is a cornerstone of health. Women, like men, should enjoy a variety of healthful foods from all of the foods groups, including whole grains, fruits, vegetables, healthy fats, low-fat or fat-free dairy and lean protein. But women also have special nutrient needs, and, during each stage of a woman's life, these needs change.
https://www.eatright.org/food/
nutrition/dietary-guidelines
-and-myplate/
healthy-eating-for-women

Galloway, Jeff. Walking A Complete Guide for Women.
Meyer Sports, 2009.
Call # Ebook Central
This is a book that will take any woman, at any level of fitness into the walking lifestyle. Olympian Jeff Galloway and his wife Barbara have helped more than 200,000 people change their lives in a positive way through their coaching, fitness schools, retreats and training programs.
http://books.google.com

Gillespie, Manda Aufochs. Green Mama-To-Be: Creating a Happy, Healthy, and Toxin-Free Pregnancy,
Dundurn Press, 2017.
Call # Ebook Central
The Green Mama explores a variety of sources, from the latest scientific and medical research and advice to traditional wisdom, to find out what issues, decisions, and avoidable dangers have the greatest impact on our children's health. She brings together this combined wisdom to demystify epigenetics, the microbiome, a healthy pregnancy diet, toxin-free living, pregnancy exercises, herbal remedies, natural birth, healthy postpartum care, and many of the other mysteries of modern birth and parenting.
Ebook Central

What's Age Got to Do with It?
WebMD Women's Health
Healing Narratives

Hatmaker, Mark., and Kylie. Hatmaker. She’s Tough: Extreme Fitness Training for Women,
Tracks Publishing, 2014.
Call # Ebook Central
Written for women who want more out of their workout routine than polite, early-evening sessions of Pilates or Zumba or yoga, this go-to manual is filled with a wealth of information on high intensity training (HIT) that will help readers meet quality, high-end fitness objectives. The book begins with profiles of a diverse range of women who have blazed a trail in extreme sporting activities. It then addresses some of the usual concerns women have about becoming overly muscled, offering facts and real-life stories that prove that femininity doesn't have to be sacrificed for fitness.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Hudson, Tori. Women’s Encyclopedia of Natural Medicine: Alternative Therapies and Integrative Medicine,
Lowell House, 1999.
Today, women are demanding their doctors have a willingness to explore and combine complementary and conventional medical practices in their approach to female health. The result is a bridge between the two schools of thought commonly known as integrated medicine which requires women to become proactive in their role as patient and provides a safe, effective approach to maintaining and healing their bodies.Women's Encyclopedia of Natural Medicine covers in depth the whole range of women's health concerns including menstrual difficulties, menopause, endometriosis, osteoporosis and others and explains how integrated medicine can be used to treat these conditions.
http://books.google.com

McGraw, Robin. hat’s Age Got to Do with It??Living Your Healthiest and Happiest Life
Thomas Nelson, 2009.
Call # RA777.5 .M378 2009
Author McGraw reclaims what it means to be, act, and feel young, showing women how to live a vibrant life of meaning and satisfaction at any age.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Mountain Rose Herbs.
"Recipes."
Our Blog
Mountain Rose Herbs,
https://blog.mountainroseherbs.com/topic/recipes
A wealth of how-to's for food, drink, household products, and health preparations, all made with a variety of herbs, many of which one must either grow or source from specialty suppliers. Note: this blog is the source for the drink recipes posted on the display board.
Eileen H. Kramer

Wolfer, Alexis, and Evan Sung. The Recipe for Radiance: Discover Beauty’s Best-Kept Secrets in Your Kitchen,
Running Press, 2014.
Call # RA776.98 .W67 2014
Combining personal recipes with DIY beauty secrets and food recipes from chefs, beauty editors, and celebrities, presents easy, all-natural, affordable, and effective recipes that harness the power of food to promote beauty from within.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Back to the top of the page.

The Beautiful Unbroken
Mountain Rose Herbs
Working Cures

Mental and Spiritual Health

Davidson, Michele R. A Nurse’s Guide to Women’s Mental Health,
Springer Pub., 2012.
Call # EBSCOHost eBook Academic Collection
This is a quick-access clinical guide to the range of mental health issues and diagnoses that commonly affect women across the life span. It focuses on the unique biopsychosocial factors that make women especially vulnerable to psychological disorders and emphasizes key stressors specific to women that are precursors to mental illness.
EBSCOHost eBook Academic Collection

Emmons, Kimberly. Black Dogs and Blue Words Depression and Gender in the Age of Self-Care,
Rutgers University Press, 2010.
Call # Ebook Central
Black Dogs and Blue Words analyzes the rhetoric surrounding depression. Kimberly K. Emmons maintains that the techniques and language of depression marketing strategies--vague words such as "worry," "irritability," and "loss of interest"--target women and young girls and encourage self-diagnosis and self-medication. Further, depression narratives and other texts encode a series of gendered messages about health and illness.
htp://gilfind.gsu.edu

Nonacs, Ruta. A Deeper Shade of Blue: A Women’s Guide to Recognizing and Treating Depression in Her Childbearing Years,
Simon & Schuster, 2006.
Call # RC451.4.W6 N66 2006
An accessible guide to the causes and treatments of postpartum depression, written specifically for pregnant women or women thinking of becoming pregnant, addresses such topics as hormonally driven mood changes during pregnancy, infertility-related depression, and pregnancy loss.
htp://gilfind.gsu.edu

Rands, Gianetta. Women’s Voices in Psychiatry: a Collection of Essays,
First edition., Oxford University Press, 2018.
Call # Ebook Central
Women's Voices in Psychiatry: A Collection of Essays examines the role of women in psychiatry and shares some of their key contributions to the specialty. Presented as a collection of thoughts, opinions, and experiences of women doctors specializing in modern day psychiatry, this book is intended to be accessible to all readers interested in the mind, mental health services, and women's roles in medicine.
Ebook Central

Tedlock, Barbara. The Woman in the Shaman’s Body: Reclaiming the Feminine in Religion and Medicine,
Bantam Books, 2005.
Call # BL2370.S5 T43 2005
Shamanism was not only humankind's first spiritual and healing practice, it was originally the domain of women. This is the claim of Barbara Tedlock's provocative and myth-shattering book. Reinterpreting generations of scholarship, Tedlock-herself an expert in dreamwork, divination, and healing-explains how and why the role of women in shamanism was misinterpreted and suppressed, and offers a dazzling array of evidence, from prehistoric African rock art to modern Mongolian ceremonies, for women's shamanic powers.
htp://gilfind.gsu.edu

Ussher, Jane. Body Talk The Material and Discursive Regulation of Sexuality, Madness and Reproduction,
Taylor and Francis, 2002.
Call # Ebook Central
sychology has traditionally examined human experience from a realist perspective, focusing on observable 'facts'. This is especially so in areas of psychology which focus on the body, such as sexuality, madness or reproduction. In contrast, many sociologists, anthropologists and feminists have focused exclusively on the cultural and communicative aspects of 'the body' treating it purely as an object constructed within socio-cultural discourse.This new collection of sophisticated discursive analyses explores this divide from a variety of theoretical standpoints, including psychoanalysis.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Wilentz, Gay Alden. Healing Narratives: Women Writers Curing Cultural Dis-Ease,
Rutgers University Press, 2000.
Call # PS374.M44 W55 2000
In Healing Narratives, Gay Wilentz explores the relationship between culture and health. In close reading of works by five women writers - Toni Cade Bambara, Erna Broder, Leslie Marmon Silko, Keri Hulme, and Jo Sinclair - she traces the narrative and structural similarities of a main character moving form a state of mental or physical disease toward wellness through reconnection with her cultural traditions.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Back to the top of the page.

Display center panel
Display logo up close
Book cart of display books
Pretty decorate image that was part of the display

To see past Clarkston library displays, please visit the Display Archives.

Women: Providing Healing Promoting Hope

This display celebrates women healers: doctors, nurses, herbalists, fitness instructors and more. It includes books, ebooks, and websites that cover biographies of women health professionals, history of women's health, general health advice, fitness, nutrition, and more.

Women's Healthcare

Gupta, Sunanda., et al. Oxford Handbook of Women’s Health Nursing,
Oxford University Press, 2010.
Call # RG105 .O94 2010
A vital tool in helping practitioners assist women in making informed choices and keeping up-to-date with changes to the field. Written with a focus on multi-disciplinary integrated care systems and a greater emphasis on prevention and patient autonomy, this new edition incorporates the most recent evidence-based guidelines and developments in nursing roles and contraceptive methods.
http://books.google.com
Note: This book is more than ten years old. Some advice may be obsolete.

healthywomen,
Healthy Women
Healthy Women
https://www.healthywomen.org/
An educational site that aims to provide scientifically valid health information on everything from mental health and caregiving to infectious disease to reproductive issues. The core audience is women thirty-five to sixty-four, but much here applies to adult and teen women of any age.
Eileen H. Kramer

Holland, Julie. Moody Bitches: the Truth About the Drugs You’re Taking, the Sleep You’re Missing, the Sex You’re Not Having, and What’s Really Making You Crazy,
Penguin Press, 2015.
Call # RA778 .H755 2015
If we deny our emotionality, we deny the breadth of our talents. With the right care of our inherently dynamic bodies, we can master our moods to avail ourselves of this great natural strength. Yet millions of American women are medicating away their emotions because our culture says that moodiness is a problem to be fixed. Over-prescribed medications can have devastating consequences for women in many areas of our lives--and even if we don't pop a pill, women everywhere are numbing their emotions with food, alcohol, and a host of addictive behaviors that deny the wisdom of our bodies and keep us from addressing the real issues that we face.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Mansberg, Ginni. The M Word: How to Thrive in Menopause,
Murdoch Books Pty Limited, 2020.
Call # Ebook Central
Dr Ginni Mansberg, one of Australia's most trusted health and wellbeing experts, is here to work through the evidence and bust the taboos out of the water. The M Word is all about you and your choices. Are you being offered the best solutions for your menopause issues? Because there are great solutions to help you thrive in this new stage of life.
Ebook Central

Mayo Clinic Staff.
Healthy Lifestyle Women's Health,
Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research,
https://www.mayoclinic.org/healthy-lifestyle/womens-health/basics/womens-health/hlv-20049411
A gateway to articles on a variety of reproductive-related, and breast conditions with links to more general conditions, news releases, and more.
Eileen H. Kramer

Back to the top of the page.

Olshansky, Ellen. Women's Health and Wellness Across the Lifespan,
Kluwer Health, 2014.
Call # Ebook Central
Women's Health and Wellness Across the Lifespan offers the innovative approach to care that today's patients often demand, combining traditional medicine and alternative approaches. It covers women's wellness care and specific issues during puberty through young adulthood, midlife, and old age. In addition, it provides information essential to enabling your patients to achieve their full health potential, covering wellness for special populations, physical activity and nutrition, oral health, herbal medicine and pharmacologic approaches, methods to promote healing, healthy sleep, and peaceful dying.
Ebook Central

Our Bodies, Ourselves,
Touchstone ed., Simon & Schuster, 2011.
Call # RA778 .N49 2011
he gold standard for women's health books, in time for the fortieth anniversary of the book's first publication, featuring new material and a completely updated approach to critical women's health issues. The name has become synonymous with women's health and protecting it. This updated edition contains vital new information on such issues as the HPV vaccine, changes in the healthcare system, cosmetic surgery, violence against women, healthcare activism in the twenty-first century, and much more.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Trevathan, Wenda. Ancient Bodies, Modern Lives: How Evolution Has Shaped Women’s Health,
Oxford University Press, 2010.
Call # EBSCOHost eBook Academic Collection
How has bipedalism impacted human childbirth? Do PMS and postpartum depression have specific, maybe even beneficial, functions? These are only two of the many questions that specialists in evolutionary medicine seek to answer, and that anthropologist Wenda Trevathan addresses in Ancient Bodies, Modern Lives. Exploring a range of women's health issues that may be viewed through an evolutionary lens, specifically focusing on reproduction, Trevathan delves into issues such as the medical consequences of early puberty in girls, the impact of migration, culture change, and poverty on reproductive health, and how fetal growth retardation affects health in later life.
htp://gilfind.gsu.edu

US Food and Drug Administration.
Women's Health Topics, Us Food and Drug Administration,
US Food and Drug Administration
https://www.fda.gov/consumers/women/womens-health-topics
Women and Health is a comprehensive reference that addresses health issues affecting women of all ages OCo from adolescence through maturity. It goes far beyond other books on this topic, which concentrate only on reproductive health, and has a truly international perspective. It covers key issues ranging from osteoporosis to breast cancer and other cancers, domestic violence, sexually transmitted diseases, occupational hazards, eating disorders, heart disease and other chronic illnesses, substance abuse, and societal and behavioral influences on health.
https://www.fda.gov/consumers/women/womens-health-topics

"Women's Health."
WebMD,
WebMD
https://www.webmd.com/women/default.htm
Start at the top of the page with health-related news articles. Featured, detailed articles on a wide variety of women's health conditions are about half way down, while top search terms frame the page. If you don't see what you want, try the search box in the top right corner.
Eileen H. Kramer

Back to the top of the page.

Biographies of Medical Professionals

Ahmed, Qanta. In the Land of Invisible Women: a Female Doctor’s Journey in the Saudi Kingdom,
Sourcebooks, Inc., 2008.
Call # R692 .A346 2008
The decisions that change your life are often the most impulsive ones. Unexpectedly denied a visa to remain in the United States, Qanta Ahmed, a young British Muslim doctor, becomes an outcast in motion. On a whim, she accepts an exciting position in Saudi Arabia. This is not just a new job; this is a chance at adventure in an exotic land she thinks she understands, a place she hopes she will belong. What she discovers is vastly different.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Guinan, Mary E., and Anne D. Mather. Adventures of a Female Medical Detective?: in Pursuit of Smallpox and AIDS,
Johns Hopkins University Press, 2016.
Call # R692 .G85 2016
During her barrier-crossing career, Dr. Guinan met arms-seeking Afghan insurgents in Pakistan and got caught in the cross fire between religious groups in Lebanon. She treated some of the first AIDS patients and served as an expert witness in defense of a pharmacist who was denied employment for having HIV--leading to a landmark decision that still protects HIV patients from workplace discrimination. Randy Shilts's best-selling book on the epidemic, And the Band Played On, features her AIDS work. In Adventures of a Female Medical Detective, Guinan weaves together twelve vivid stories of her life in medicine, describing her individual experiences in controlling outbreaks, researching new diseases, and caring for patients with untreatable infections.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Muhlhahn, Cara. Labor of Love: A Midwife’s Memoir,
Kaplan Pub., 2009.
Call # RG950 .M84 2009
A personal memoir of the life and career of a devoted midwife describes the twists and turns she has taken during her long career in the field, as well as the personal satisfaction she has had in her position as one who helps bring life into the world.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Nealon, Mary Jane. Beautiful Unbroken: One Nurse’s Life,
Graywolf Press, 2011.
Call # RT37.N395 A3 2011
This book is a memoir by a working nurse. As a child, the author dreams of growing up to become a saint or, failing that, a nurse. She idolizes Clara Barton, Kateri Tekakwitha, and Molly Pitcher, whose biographies she reads and rereads. But by the time she follows her calling to nursing school, her beloved younger brother is diagnosed with cancer, which challenges her to bring hope and healing closer to home. His death leaves her shattered, and she flees into her work, and into poetry.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Pryor, Elizabeth Brown. Clara Barton: Professional Angel,
University of Pennsylvania Press, 1987.
Call # HV569.B3 P78 1987
Widely known today as the "Angel of the Battlefield," Clara Barton's personal life has always been shrouded in mystery. In Clara Barton, Professional Angel, Elizabeth Brown Pryor presents a biography of Barton that strips away the heroic exterior and reveals a complex and often trying woman.
http://books.google.com

Smith, Margaret Charles, and Linda Janet Holmes. Listen to Me Good: the Life Story of an Alabama Midwife,
Ohio State University Press, 1996.
Call # RG962.E98 S65 1996
Margaret Charles Smith, a ninety-one-year-old Alabama midwife, has thousands of birthing stories to tell. Sifting through nearly five decades of providing care for women in rural Greene County, she relates the tales that capture the life-and-death struggle of the birthing experience and the traditions, pharmacopeia, and spiritual attitudes that influenced her practice. Believed to be the oldest living (though retired) traditional African American midwife in Alabama, Smith is one of the few who can recount old-time birthing ways.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Smith, Cecil Woodham. Florence Nightingale, 1820-1910,
Atheneum, 1983.
Call # RT37.N5 W66 1983
A 1923 biography of Florence Nightingale based on what were, then newly available papers and correspondence.
Eileen H. Kramer

Wen, Leana S. Lifelines: a Doctor’s Journey in the Fight for Public Health,
Henry Holt and Company, 2021.
Call # Leisure Collection
ublic health expert Leana Wen gives an insider's account of public health and its crucial role-from opioid addiction to global pandemic-and tells an inspiring story of her journey from homeless immigrant to being named one of Time's 100 Most Influential People.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Ancient Bodies Modern Lives   Green Mama-to-Be

Back to the top of the page.

History of Medical Care BY Women

Abram, Ruth J. Send Us a Lady Physician: Women Doctors in America, 1835-1920,
1st ed., Norton, 1985.
Call # R692 .S46 1985
By the end of the 19th century, women were sought after as physicians, as gentle, natural healers, and were felt to give the medical profession a dignity and humanity beyond what men could provide. By 1920, the number of women doctors had plummeted, and new barriers created obstacles in the careers of established ones. Focusing on the Class of 1879, Women's Medical College of Pennsylvania, this book explores the trials, frustrations and victories of the period.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Atakora, Afia. Conjure Women: a Novel,
Random House LLC, 2020.
Call # Leisure Collection
Conjure Women is a sweeping story that brings the world of the South before and after the Civil War vividly to life. Spanning eras and generations, it tells of the lives of three unforgettable women: Miss May Belle, a wise healing woman; her precocious and observant daughter Rue, who is reluctant to follow in her mother’s footsteps as a midwife; and their master’s daughter Varina. The secrets and bonds among these women and their community come to a head at the beginning of a war and at the birth of an accursed child, who sets the townspeople alight with fear and a spreading superstition that threatens their newly won, tenuous freedom.
http://books.google.com

Carnegie, Mary Elizabeth. The Path We Tread?: Blacks in Nursing, 1854-1990,
2nd ed., National League for Nursing Press, 1991.
Call # RT83.5 .C37 1991
This is the only resource to examine over 140 years of black nurses' contributions to the nursing field. This new edition is expanded and international in scope, looking at black nurses' involvement as leaders, innovators, and caregivers in Africa, the Caribbean, and across the globe. It explores black nurses' participation in the military, nursing education at historically black institutions, the struggle for black nurses to be recognized by national nursing organizations, and features early leaders who paved the way for black nurses today.
http://books.google.com

Dakin, Theodora P. A History of Women’s Contributions to World Health,
Edwin Mellen Press, 1991.
Call # R692 .D34 1991
This text illustrates the contributions women have made to the development of world health. The women included come from different social and educational backgrounds, but have all influenced health issues around the world from classical times to modern. Included are not only the well-known names such as Florence Nightingale and Margaret Sanger, but the lesser-known champions of health and medicine as well.
http://books.google.com

Donahue, M. Patricia. Nursing, the Finest Art: an Illustrated History,
3rd ed., Mosby Elsevier, 2011.
Call # RT31 .D66 2011
Journey through the nursing profession with this book. This guide traces the social, political, and economic history of nursing with over 400 fine art images encompassing nurses in history through present time and around the globe, as well as timelines that summarize each era at a glance before each chapter and let you know where to find key information about nursing history and facilitate easy review.
http://books.google.com

Ehrenreich, Barbara., and Deirdre English Witches, Midwives, & Nurses: a History of Women Healers
2nd ed., Feminist Press at the City University of New York, 2010.
Call # R692 .E35 2010
First published by the Feminist Press in 1973, Witches, Midwives & Nurses is an essential book about the corruption of the medical establishment and its historic roots in the demonizing of women healers.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Gonzales, Patrisia. Red Medicine: Traditional Indigenous Rites of Birthing and Healing,
University of Arizona Press, 2012.
Call # E98.R53 G66 2012
atrisia Gonzales addresses Red Medicine as a system of healing that includes birthing practices, dreaming, and purification rites to re-establish personal and social equilibrium. The book explores Indigenous medicine across North America, with a special emphasis on how Indigenous knowledge has endured and persisted among peoples with a legacy to Mexico.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Hall, Linley Erin. Who’s Afraid of Marie Curie??The Challenges Facing Women in Science and Technology,
Seal Press, 2007.
Call # Q147 .H35 2007
Who's Afraid of Marie Curie? explores the opportunities and challenges facing women in science and technology, math and medicine, from grade school to grad school and beyond. Science writer Linley Hall's extensive research covers academia and industry, including scores of interviews that reveal the complex calculus of trying to balance personal lives with science careers.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

The Land of Invisible Women   A Dark Science

Back to the top of the page.

Hughes, Muriel Joy Women Healers in Medieval Life and Literature,
Books for Libraries Press, 1968.
Call # R133 .H8 1968
Discusses how women healers, both lay women and infirmarians, who were nuns, practiced their art during Medieval times, using literature and documents as evidence.
Eileen H. Kramer

Judd, Deborah M., et al. A History of American Nursing: Trends and Eras,
Jones and Bartlett Publishers, 2010.
Call # RT4 .J83 2010
Provides a historical overview essential to developing a complete understanding of the nursing profession. For each key era of U.S. history, nursing is examined in the contexts of the sociopolitical climate of the day, the image of nurses, nursing education, advances in practice, war and its effect on nursing, licensure and regulation, and nursing research and its implications.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Kirkham, Mavis., and Elizabeth R. Perkins. Reflections on Midwifery,
aillie?re Tindall, 1997.
Call # RG950 .R445 1997
A volume that collates and highlights the relevant research relating to issues in midwifery, seeking to encourage thinking on where the profession is going, especially in relation to "Changing Childbirth", and how it will proceed.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Levin, Beatrice. Women and Medicine,
Scarecrow Press, 1980.
Call # R692 .L49
The third edition of Women and Medicine provides a comprehensive and definitive history, from early riots in medical schools when women tried to enroll, to women finally overcoming obstacles, making medical breakthroughs and enjoying brilliant medical careers. Biographical chapters look at the lives and accomplishments of Elizabeth Blackwell, Janet Travell, Mary Putnam Jacobi, Rosalyn Yalow and Gerty Cory, Marie Curie and other Nobel Prize Winners, Rosalie Slaughter Morton, Sophia Jex-Blake, Elizabeth Garett Anderson, and numerous others pioneers.
http://books.google.com

Maggs, Sam, and Sophia Foster-Dimino. Wonder Women: 25 Innovators, Inventors, and Trailblazers who Changed History,
Quirk Books, 2016.
Call # HQ1123 .M33 2016
Smart women have always been able to achieve amazing things, even when the odds were stacked against them. In Wonder Women, author Sam Maggs tells the stories of the brilliant, brainy, and totally rad women in history who broke barriers as scientists, engineers, mathematicians, adventurers, and inventors
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

More, Ellen Singer. Restoring the Balance: Women Physicians and the Profession of Medicine, 1850-1995,
Harvard University Press, 1999.
Call # R692 .M645 1999
Drawing on rich archival sources and her own extensive interviews with women physicians, Ellen More shows how the ideal of balance informed and influenced the practice of healing for women doctors in America over the past 150 years. She argues that the history of women practitioners throughout the twentieth century fulfills the expectations constructed within the Victorian culture of professionalism. Restoring the Balance demonstrates that women doctors - collectively and individually - sought to reconcile the interests and culture of women with the claims of disinterestedness, scientific objectivity, and specialization of modern medical professionalism.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Scrivener, Laurie. A Biographical Dictionary of Women Healers?: Midwives, Nurses, and Physicians,
Oryx Press, 2002.
Call # R692 .B52 2002
Women have always been healers; they have helped each other through the birthing process, nursed the sick and wounded, and sought cures for illnesses and injuries. This book summarizes the lives of 240 significant or representative women who have engaged in the core professions of mid-wifery, nursing, and medicine (exclusive of psychiatry), and whose careers were primarily spent in the United States and Canada, from colonial times to the present.
http://books.google.com

Whaley, Leigh Ann. Women and the Practice of Medical Care in Early Modern Europe, 1400-1800,
Palgrave Macmillan, 2011.
Call # R692 .W485 2011
In this book, the author examines the role of women and their relationship to medicine, including their contributions as well as the challenges they faced in early modern France, Italy, Spain, and England between 1400 and 1800.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Back to the top of the page.

History of Medical Care FOR Women

Carlisle, Linda V. Elizabeth Packard: a Noble Fight,
University of Illinois Press, 2010.
Call # Ebook Central
Elizabeth Packard's story is one of courage and accomplishment in the face of injustice and heartbreak. In 1860, her husband, a strong-willed Calvinist minister, committed her to an Illinois insane asylum in an effort to protect their six children and his church from what he considered her heretical religious ideas. Upon her release three years later (as her husband sought to return her to an asylum), Packard obtained a jury trial and was declared sane. Before the trial ended, however, her husband sold their home and left for Massachusetts with their young children and her personal property. His actions were perfectly legal under Illinois and Massachusetts law; Packard had no legal recourse by which to recover her children and property. This experience in the legal system, along with her experience as an asylum patient, launched Packard into a career as an advocate for the civil rights of married women and the mentally ill.
Ebook Central

Cleghorn, Elinor. Unwell Women: Misdiagnosis and Myth in a Man-Made World,
Penguin Publishing Group, 2021.
Call # Ebook Central
A trailblazing, conversation-starting history of women's health--from the earliest medical ideas about women's illnesses to hormones and autoimmune diseases--brought together in a fascinating sweeping narrative. Elinor Cleghorn became an unwell woman ten years ago. She was diagnosed with an autoimmune disease after a long period of being told her symptoms were anything from psychosomatic to a possible pregnancy. As Elinor learned to live with her unpredictable disease she turned to history for answers, and found an enraging legacy of suffering, mystification, and misdiagnosis. In Unwell Women, Elinor Cleghorn traces the almost unbelievable history of how medicine has failed women by treating their bodies as alien and other, often to perilous effect.
Ebook Central

Fett, Sharla M. Working Cures: Healing, Health, and Power on Southern Slave Plantations,
University of North Carolina Press, 2002.
Call # RA448.5.N4 F48 2002
xploring the charged topic of black health under slavery, Sharla Fett reveals how herbalism, conjuring, midwifery, and other African American healing practices became arts of resistance in the antebellum South.
http://books.google.com

Hepler, Allison L. Women in Labor: Mothers, Medicine, and Occupational Health in the United States, 1890-1980,
Ohio State University Press, 2000.
Call # RC963.6.W65 H47 2000
Early in the twentieth century, states and courts began limiting the workplace hours of wage-earning women in order to protect them from fatigue and ill health. It was felt that a woman's role was to be a mother and that working too many hours in an often unhealthy and dangerous workplace created risks to the performance of that task. In the 1970s, many Fortune 500 companies began implementing "fetal protection policies" to prohibit women from working in areas deemed risky to reproductive capacity. Again, assumptions about motherhood were the driving force behind employment regulations.Women in Labor examines how gender norms affected the workplace health of men and women.
http://books.google.com

Masson, J. Moussaieff. A Dark Science: Women, Sexuality, and Psychiatry in the Nineteenth Century,
1st ed., Farrar, Straus, and Giroux, 1986.
Call # RC339.E85 D37 1986
Here translated for the first time are a series of shocking texts from the 19th century German psychiatric literature, which, while almost completely unknown to modern readers, have had a devastating influence on attitudes toward women and children in the 20th century. The articles on the sexual "lies" and sexual "fantasies" of children were seminal, brutal, and still resonate in today's literature, having taken a terrible toll on the intellectual ideas of modern psychiatry. The articles document brutal treatment for masturbation, hysteria, and vaginismus, as well as incidences of the so-called fabricated sexual abuse of "prematurely perverted" children. Though by no means an "easy read," Masson's collection of these nine articles exposes a point in the history of the practice of psychology that proves ignorance and negative attitudes towards women created a dark science that modern psychiatrists struggle to overcome.
http://books.google.com

Norman, Abby. Ask Me About My Uterus: a Quest to Make Doctors Believe in Women’s Pain,
First edition., Nation Books, 2018.
Call # RG483.E53 N67 2018
In Ask Me About My Uterus, Norman describes what it was like to have her pain dismissed, to be told it was all in her head, only to be taken seriously when she was accompanied by a boyfriend who confirmed that her sexual performance was, indeed, compromised. Putting her own trials into a broader historical, sociocultural, and political context, Norman shows that women's bodies have long been the battleground of a never-ending war for power, control, medical knowledge, and truth. It's time to refute the belief that being a woman is a preexisting condition.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

A Deeper Shade of Blue  

Stanford, Ann Folwell. Bodies in a Broken World: Women Novelists of Color and the Politics of Medicine,
University of North Carolina Press, 2003.
Call # PS374.M433 S73 2003
Discusses literature written by U.S. women of color to propose a rethinking of modern medical practice, arguing that personal health and social justice are inextricably linked.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Tseris, Emma. Trauma, Women’s Mental Health, and Social Justice: Pitfalls and Possibilities,
Routledge, 2019.
Call # Taylor and Francis
This book argues that while notions of trauma in mental health hold promise for the advancement of women's rights, the mainstreaming of trauma treatments and therapies has had mixed implications, sometimes replacing genuine social change efforts with new forms of female oppression by psychiatry. It contends that trauma interventions often represent a "business as usual" approach within psychiatry, with women being expected to comply with rigid treatment protocols, accepting the advice given by trauma "experts" that they are mentally unstable and that they must learn to manage the effects of violence in the absence of any real changes to their circumstances or resources.
http://gilfind.gsu.edu

Walker-Barnes, Chanequa. Too Heavy a Yoke: Black Women and the Burden of Strength,
Wipf and Stock Publishers, 2014.
Call # Ebook Central
Black women are strong. At least that's what everyone says and how they are constantly depicted. But what, exactly, does this strength entail? And what price do Black women pay for it? In this book, the author, a psychologist and pastoral theologian, examines the burdensome yoke that the ideology of the Strong Black Woman places upon African American women. She demonstrates how the three core features of the ideology--emotional strength, caregiving, and independence--constrain the lives of African American women and predispose them to physical and emotional health problems, including obesity, diabetes, hypertension, and anxiety. She traces the historical, social, and theological influences that resulted in the evolution and maintenance of the Strong Black Woman, including the Christian church, R & B and hip-hop artists, and popular television and film. Drawing upon womanist pastoral theology and twelve-step philosophy, she calls upon pastoral caregivers to aid in the healing of African American women's identities and crafts a twelve-step program for Strong Black Women in recovery.
Ebook Central

Back to the top of the page.

Banner box for personal information
xxx