It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The following are books in the GSU collection about the Georgia coast and Sapelo Island. There is a video tutorial below on how to request the book get delivered to your campus if you need it for your research.
With this book, Buddy Sullivan covers the full range of the island's history, including Native American inhabitants; Spanish missions; the antebellum plantation of the innovative Thomas Spalding; the African American settlement of the island after the Civil War; Sapelo's two twentieth-century millionaire owners, Howard E. Coffin and R. J. Reynolds Jr., and the development of the University of Georgia Marine Institute; the state of Georgia acquisition; and the transition of Sapelo's multiple African American communities into one.
During the 1920s and 1930s, anthropologists and folklorists became obsessed with uncovering connections between African Americans and their African roots. At the same time, popular print media and artistic productions tapped the new appeal of black folk life, highlighting African-styled voodoo as an essential element of black folk culture. A number of researchers converged on one site in particular, Sapelo Island, Georgia, to seek support for their theories about "African survivals," bringing with them a curious mix of both influences. The legacy of that body of research is the area's contemporary identification as a Gullah community.
Here is the start of a search in EBSCO Discover on "Sapelo Island." You can limit to more recent or specific types of articles using the menu on the left side of the screen.
Find Peer-Reviewed Research using Science Research Databases
The following databases offer specialized research in Biology and Geology peer-reviewed journals. Try typing in "Sapelo Island" into the main database search box to find high quality research conducted there.
The Wiley Online Library hosts a multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Wiley is an international scientific, technical, medical, and scholarly publisher.
A full-text scientific databases offering journal articles and book chapters covering scientific, technical, and medical (STM) and social sciences research. Offers full-text articles, browsable tables of contents, article abstracts, and some titles have full-text coverage from the first volume to the present.
Environment Complete offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.