GSU Library Research Guides: AAS 4160/POLS 4165: African-American Politics: Primary Sources: Afro-Brazilians

Important!

Creative Commons licensed image by Flickr user wrestlingentropy

Important things to keep in mind:

This page is NOT a comprehensive list of all existing digital (or nondigital!) primary sources. You may need to do some online searching on your own to find digital resources related to your topic. For guidance on how to assess a website's reliability, see the "Evaluating Information" tab.

Not every primary source will be available online or in digital form.

Not every primary source will be available in English.

Helpful Guides for International Research

Other GSU Library Research Guides to help learn more about Brazil:

Digital Collections available at GSU

Center for Research Libraries: Brazilian Government Documents, 1821-1993
The Latin American Microfilm Project (LAMP) at the Center for Research Libraries (CRL) has digitized executive branch serial documents issued by Brazil’s national government between 1821 and 1993, and by its provincial governments from the earliest available for each province to the end of the first Republic in 1930.
Slavery, Abolition, and Social Justice
Includes thousands of manuscripts, pamphlets, books, paintings, maps, and images from 1490 to 2007. Try searching on "Brazil" to find resources.

Empire Online
Documents relating to Empire Studies, sourced from libraries and archives around the world. Each section features thematic essays that relate directly to the source material.
Black Thought and Culture
Try keyword search for "Brazil" or search for "Brazil" in title field.

Latin American Government Documents (LAGDA) | Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC), University of Texas
Access to a wide range of ministerial and presidential documents from 18 Latin American and Caribbean countries. The Archive contains copies of the Web sites of approximately 300 government ministries and presidencies. Capture of sites began on multiple dates in 2005 and 2006, and will continue with regularly scheduled captures.
Magazines in Latin America: Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC), University of Texas
Scroll down to find Brazilian magazines.
Fundação Biblioteca Nacional (Brazilian National Library)
Brazilian National Library. Some materials available digitally. Site is in Portuguese.
Factiva

Free Websites and Digital Collections

United Nations Documentation: Research Guide
Guide to United Nation documentation and related resources.
United Nations Bibliographic Information System
Catalogue of United Nations(UN) documents and publications indexed by the UN Dag Hammarskjöld Library and the Library of the UN Office at Geneva. Also included are commercial publications and other non-UN sources held in the collection of the Dag Hammarskjöld Library. Primarily documents published after 1979, with some earlier materials.
Foreign Relations of the United States
US Department of State website with documents. Primarily covers the Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon Administrations. Searchable by country (click on Guide to Countries).
Cold War International History Project
Digital archive developed by the Woodrow Wilson Center for International Scholarship, in support of "full and prompt release of historical materials by governments on all sides of the Cold War." Click here to browse collections.
The National Security Archive
George Washington University project which collects and publishes declassified documents obtained through the Freedom of Information Act.
Digital Library of the Caribbean
Collaborative project including these partners: Archives Nationale d'Haïti; Caribbean Community Secretariat (CARICOM); National Library of Jamaica; La Fundación Global Democracia y Desarrollo (FUNGLODE); Universidad de Oriente, Venezuela; University of the Virgin Islands; Florida International University; University of Central Florida; University of Florida
World Digital Library: Latin America and the Caribbean
Early Americas Digital Archive
University of Maryland project of online texts relating to the Americas from 1492 through 1820.
The Montevideo-Oxford Latin American Economic History Database
Library of Congress Guide to Law Online: Brazil
The Trans-Atlantic Slave Database
Includes the African Names Database.

Subject Guide

Jessica Epstein

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Library South, 5th Floor

Subjects: Africana Studies, Communication, Criminal Justice, Economics, Journalism, Political Science, Public Management & Policy, Social Work, Speech Communication, Women’s, Gender, and Sexuality Studies

Looking for Latin American Newspapers?

Check out the newspaper holdings in the GSU database Latin American Newspapers and in LANIC.

If you do not see a newspaper you need in either of those resources, try searching the Center for Research Libraries, which holds many historical international newspapers in microform (that is, microfilm or microfiche).

Click on the "Newspapers" tab and then select a country to browse holdings for that country.

You can also search for individual newspaper titles in WorldCat.

If a newspaper is held on microform at the Center for Research Libraries (or shown as being available on microform in WorldCat) you can place an Interlibrary Loan order for a specific date range. Use the "Other (Free Text)" request to request microform copies of newspapers or journals.

Research Guides

AAS 4160/POLS 4165: African-American Politics: Primary Sources: Afro-Brazilians

Important!

Helpful Guides for International Research

Digital Collections available at GSU

Free Websites and Digital Collections

Subject Guide

Looking for Latin American Newspapers?

Contact Us

University Library

Research

Services & Spaces

Special Collections

Giving to the Library

About