Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
STATISTICS is the science that deals with the collection, classification, analysis, and interpretation of numerical facts or data.
Data / Statistics - United States
The following is a list of selected resources that are useful for finding statistical information and numeric data on the U.S. and other countries.
American Community Survey
The American Community Survey (ACS) is an ongoing statistical survey by the U.S. Census Bureau. The processed information provides yearly estimates for all states, as well as all cities, counties, metropolitan areas, and population groups of 65,000 people or more.
American FactFinder is a data access and dissemination system that provides useful statistics and facts about your community, your economy, and your society. The system will find and retrieve information from some of the Census Bureau's largest data sets.
American National Election Studies
Produces high quality data from its own surveys on voting, public opinion, and political participation. Registration required.
Bureau of Economic Analysis
BEA's national, regional, and international economic accounts present basic information on such key issues as U.S. economic growth, regional economic development, and the Nation's position in the world economy.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
The BLS is the principal fact-finding agency for the Federal government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics. It collects, processes, analyzes, and disseminates essential data on inflation, wages and earnings, employment, and productivity.
Bureau of the Census
The Census Bureau is the preeminent collector and provider of timely, relevant, and quality data about the people and economy of the United States. The Census home page provides access to a wide variety of finding tools.
A project of the Media Lab of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Data USA provides open, easy access visualization of U.S. government data.
Federal Committee on Statistical Methodology
The Federal Committee on Statistical Methodology (FCSM) is an interagency committee dedicated to improving the quality of Federal statistics. The FCSM was created by the Office of Management and Budget (OMB) to inform and advise OMB and the Interagency Council on Statistical Policy (ICSP) on methodological and statistical issues that affect the quality of Federal data.
General Social Survey (GSS)
Contains a standard 'core' of demographic, behavioral, and attitudinal questions, plus topics of special interest. Many of the core questions have remained unchanged since 1972 to facilitate time-trend studies as well as replication of earlier findings. The GSS takes the pulse of America, and is a unique and valuable resource. It has tracked the opinions of Americans over the last four decades.
Historical Statistics of the United States
A compendium of approximately 13,000 data series on economic, social, political, human and environmental topics from 1775 to 2000. The compendium, prepared by the U.S. Census Bureau, has five sections: A. Population, B. Work and Welfare, C. Economic Structure and Performance, D. Economic Sectors, and E. Governance and International Relations
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)
ICPSR provides access to the world's largest archive of computerized social science data. Contact your subject librarian for information about accessing these data sets.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
Data / Statistics - Other Countries
Economist Intelligence Unit ViewsWire
Full-text, annual profiles and quarterly reports on most countries or regions of the world, from the Economist Intelligence Unit, concisely outline the current and historical, economic, social and political situation within each country.
UNdata provides access to over 60 million data points covering a wide range of themes including Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, Trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators.
World Development Indicators
Presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates.