Databases & Articles - SNHP 6000 (Ari) - Research for the Health Professions - GSU Library Research Guides at Georgia State University

Core Databases

Cochrane Library
Unique source of reliable and up-to-date CLINICAL information on the effects of interventions in health care. Designed to provide information and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care.
PubMed
A service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that indexes over 20 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. Articles tend to be very clinically-focused. You can also search MEDLINE via MEDLINE (at EBSCOhost).
PAIS Index
PAIS stands for Public Affairs Information Service. International public policy/public affairs information relevant to researchers, students, administrators, legislators, and business and financial decision-makers.

PubMed Special Queries
Special Queries is a search interface to find PubMed citations relating to specific subjects such as Healthy People 2010, AIDS and Health Disparities.

MEDLINE with Full Text
Combined with the National Library of Medicine's bibliographic database this database offers information related to the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences.

Getting the full article

First, look for a direct link to the article. Specifically, look for links that say HTML Full Text or PDF Full Text.

If you don't see one of these links, look for a

button next to article you want. This brief tutorial shows how to use the Find It @ GSU button.

Ask a librarian for help if you can't find what you need!

More Databases

Ageline
This database focuses exclusively on issues of aging and the population of people aged 50 years and older. Geared to professionals in aging-related fields, such as health care professionals, social workers, and caregivers, as well as consumers. Direct Opt Out Link
AGRICOLA
A database of agricultural literature created by the National Agricultural Library of the USDA from 1970 to present.
Alt HealthWatch
A full-text alternative health research database focused on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
Biological Abstracts
One of the premier indexes of the biological literature. Covers the spectrum of life sciences. Subjects covered include biology, biochemistry, botany, biotechnology, preclinical and experimental medicine, agriculture, veterinary medicine, and zoology.

Campbell Collaboration Library
The Campbell Collaboration produces systematic reviews of the effects of social interventions within the areas of education, crime and justice, social welfare and international development.

ERIC (EBSCO)
Provides extensive access to educational related literature. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education. 1966 - current.
Global Health
Provides information on international health, biomedical life sciences, non-communicable diseases, public health nutrition, food safety and hygiene, and more. Providing users with a truly global perspective.

ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)
ICPSR provides leadership and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for a diverse and expanding social science research community.

APA PsycInfo
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines.
Sociological Abstracts
Primary resource for accessing research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

Search Strategies

Some MeSH headings to get you started when searching PubMed.

Epidemiologic Factors (contains Bias, Causality)
Epidemiologic Methods (contains Data Collection, Epidemiologic Research Design and Statistics as Topic)
Health Policy
Evaluation Studies as Topic (contains Quantitative Research)
Public Health Practice
Public Policy
Qualitative Research
Stakeholders = Consumer Participation

Research Guides

SNHP 6000 (Ari) - Research for the Health Professions: Databases & Articles

Core Databases

Getting the full article

More Databases

Search Strategies

Contact Us

University Library

Research

Services & Spaces

Special Collections

Giving to the Library

About

Research Guides

SNHP 6000 (Ari) - Research for the Health Professions: Databases & Articles

Core Databases

Getting the full article

More Databases

Search Strategies

Contact Us

Social

University Library

Research

Services & Spaces

Special Collections

Giving to the Library

About