Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections and Archives: On the Cutting Edge - Areas of Excellence at GSU: Biological Research

This guide features an exhibit mounted in 2000 highlighting significant achievements in selected academic areas. Deans of each college submitted noteworthy areas of excellence.

Biological Research

The value of biological research at Georgia State is recognized by the National Institutes of Health, which awarded Research Career Development Awards to three scientists. Dr. Timothy Bartness is identifying areas of the brain that respond to seasonal changes in day length, which trigger changes in body fat. Dr. Charles Derby is using crustaceans to understand how the nervous systems of animals detect, identify, and respond to chemicals.

Below: Dr. Teryl Frey is investigating safer potential vaccines for rubella using a modified smallpox virus. The photo shows stained cells indicating the presence of rubella protein, which could stimulate the immune system.

Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives

University Archives

Blogs About University History

Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu

Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202

In Person:
Library South, 8th floor

Employee Directory