Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Need to find a GSU Thesis or Dissertation?
ScholarWorks @ GSU Thesis & Dissertation Collection
ETDs created since 2005 are collected and available from here. You can search the ETD collection with the search box on the top right. If you want to look at ETDs by department instead, click on the "Collections" link on the right side under the "Browse" section.
ETDs from Georgia. Atlanta area schools listed first.
Dissertations & Theses A&I
ProQuest is the national leader in ETDs collecting some theses, but mostly dissertations, from about 90% of U.S. universities. It is a subscription database, so you will need your campus id and password to use it.
Unfortunately, there's currently no single search engine for all ETDs from every college in the U.S. However, these represent some of the resources with the most available ETDs.
NDLTD Global ETD Search
The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations Union Catalog contains more than one million records of electronic theses and dissertations. Has the same content as the NDLTD VTLS Visualizer, but uses an older, more limited, search interface.
NDLTD VTLS Visualizer
The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations Union Catalog contains more than one million records of electronic theses and dissertations. Has the same content as the NDLTD SCIRUS ETD Search, but uses a more dynamic, modern and sophisticated search interface.
Just as there's no nationwide database for U.S. ETDs, there's no single database for the whole world, but these are good starting places.
OAIster is an open access database, which means all the materials in it are available free online. Use "dissertation" as a keyword with your keyword(s). Or search by keyword and in the results screen you can then select "Thesis/dissertation" under the "Format" type to narrow.
Worldcat.org is a worldwide catalog of library materials some digital and some print. In the advanced search feature, select "Thesis/dissertation" from the "Content" drop down list.
Selected ETD resources from national consortia from outside the U.S.
Biblioteca Digital de Teses e Dissertacoes
ETDs produced in Brazilian universities. Can search in English or Portuguese, but most results are written in Portuguese.
Full text ETDs from many countries, including Bolivia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, France, Hong Kong, Mexico, Peru, Spain, and the United States.
DART-Europe E-theses Portal
Access to 207766 full-text research theses from 338 Universities sourced from 19 European countries. This is the European working group of the NDLTD.
Deusche National Bibliothek
German dissertations from 1998. You may need to use the keyword "dissertation" in addition to your keyword(s).
Digital Australian Theses via Trove
ETDs from Australia available via Trove, the National Library of Australia.
ETDs from 28 Scandinavian institutions.
Electronic Theses Online Service. Access to 250,000+ ETDs from universities in the United Kingdom.
Electronic doctoral theses from the Netherlands.
Search approximately 300,000 Canadian theses and dissertations, of which approximately 50,000 are ETDs.
If you need help finding a ETD for your discipline: