Often, research assignments will require you to locate secondary sources to include in a literature review. Secondary sources often use primary sources as part of their analysis. The two main scholarly forms of secondary sources that are used in academic research in the social sciences are books and articles. Below you will find information that can help you locate scholarly articles.
If you are unsure if an article you have found is scholarly, check out the "Evaluating Sources" tab on the left hand side
Below are databases that focus on topics related to Africana Studies, as well as other disciplines that often overlap with Africana Studies that may be useful when looking for secondary sources.
Be sure to select the "Scholarly/Peer Reviewed" option where available.
Provides indexing and abstracting of international publications in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts. Selected coverage of nearly 200 journals, and full text from 500+ journals in communication & mass media.
Anthropology Plus is the worlds most comprehensive index covering the fields of anthropology (social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research.)
APA PsycInfo is unmatched as a resource for locating scholarly research findings in psychology and related fields across a host of academic disciplines.
Links are to electronic editions; in some cases, older versions are also available in print.
GSU students, faculty, and staff can use the Desktop Delivery option to get an electronic version of an article in a print-only journal.
Not all of these journals have current subscriptions; if you need a more current article that is not included in our holdings, you can always place an Interlibrary Loan request for the article.
Africana Studies is an interdisciplinary field of study, so below you will find a list of multisubject databases that capture a wider variety of research topics.
Be sure to select the "Scholarly/Peer Reviewed" option where available.
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. PDF content dates back to 1887.
A digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. It offers an interdisciplinary journal archive across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences
This database provides one-stop access to more than 4,000 periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications and magazines covering over 150 academic disciplines.
Web of Science provides seamless access to the Science Citation Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index as well as Book Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Citation Index.
Race Relations Abstracts will also cover a range of disciplines, though you may also want to try more subject-specific databases for more in-depth disciplinary coverage.
