FloorplanSharkeyinColophoto available on Flickr.com
JSTOR contains a vast image bank created by thousands of museums and cultural institutions worldwide.
NYPL Digital Collections
Digitized images from the New York Public Library's vast collections.
Creative Commons Search
Search for images that are in the public domain OR have been granted creative commons status.
ContentDM Collections: Browse
Look through all the digital repositories in the ContentDM system.
Hollis Images | Harvard University
A free online image database.
Smithsonian Open Access
Art, science, historical images & more that are public domain/free to use.
Art / Architecture / Design:
Like YouTube, but just art-related videos.
Digitized collection of the Smithsonian's Design museum.
Getty Research Portal
Access digitized art history publications, rare books, and related literature. Like Google Books, but just for art stuff.
Metropolitan Museum of Art | Collection
Includes access to 300,000 open access images (labeled as "OASC")
Mother of All Art & Art History Links | Online Image Resources
A list of image sites, organized geographically.
Visual Arts Data Service (VADS)
100,000 images free for use in education.
Video Data Bank
A site committed to video art & alternative media in the U.S.
Post Video Art | Streaming Video Art & Experimental Film
View video art streaming on the web.
Ad*Access | Duke University
Over 7000 digitized images of advertisements
Digital Collections | Library of Congress
All sorts of cool stuff relating to American visual culture.
LIFE photo archive hosted by Google
Photographs from the LIFE magazine photo archive, 1750s to today
Science & Technology:
Animal Sound & Video Catalog | Macaulay Library
A database of animal sounds & videos.
Classic Illustrated Zoologies & Related Works, 1550-1900
From the NYPL
Photos of the universe, solar system, Earth, and more
USDA Pomological Watercolor Collection
7,584 watercolor paintings, lithographs and line drawings of fruits and nuts grown in the United States; all created between 1886 to 1942.