GSU Library Research Guides: Respiratory Therapy: Subject Guide: Databases & Articles

Databases to start with

PubMed
A service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that indexes over 20 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. Articles tend to be very clinically-focused. You can also search MEDLINE via MEDLINE (at EBSCOhost).
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) provides more than 370 nursing and allied health full-text, non-open access journals indexed in the CINAHL database. Additional materials include full-text evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and continuing education modules.
MEDLINE with Full Text
Combined with the National Library of Medicine's bibliographic database this database offers information related to the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences.
Web of Science
Includes citations from more than 8,000 peer-reviewed journals in the sciences and social sciences. Includes Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Science Citation Index.

PubMed Special Queries
Special Queries is a search interface to find PubMed citations relating to specific subjects such as Healthy People 2010 and Health Disparities.

Academic Search Complete
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. PDF content dates back to 1887.
Ageline

This database focuses exclusively on issues of aging and the population of people aged 50 years and older. Geared to professionals in aging-related fields, such as health care professionals, social workers, and caregivers, as well as consumers.
Alt HealthWatch
A full-text alternative health research database focused on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.

CIRRIE Database of International Rehabilitation Research
Contains over 30,000 citations of international rehabilitation research published between 1990 and the present.

Cochrane Library
Unique source of reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care. Designed to provide information and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care.
ERIC (EBSCO)
Provides extensive access to educational related literature. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education. 1966 - current.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Indexes over 1,000 journals focusing on nursing, allied health fields, and many medical disciplines. Also included are the USP Pharmacopoeia DI: Volume II Advice for the Lay Patient and Stedman's Medical Dictionary.
Nursing & Allied Health Database
This database provides reliable healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and more.
APA PsycInfo
APA PsycInfo is unmatched as a resource for locating scholarly research findings in psychology and related fields across a host of academic disciplines.

REHABDATA Database
A literature database on disability and rehabilitation with more than 75,000 resources, including organizations, agencies, Internet resources, reports, and research projects. From the National Rehabilitation Information Center.

Sociological Collection
This database provides information on all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure.