GSU Library Research Guides: Nutrition: Subject Guide: Databases & Articles

Databases to start with

PubMed This link opens in a new window
A service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that indexes over 20 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. Articles tend to be very clinically-focused. You can also search MEDLINE via MEDLINE (at EBSCOhost).
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) provides more than 370 nursing and allied health full-text, non-open access journals indexed in the CINAHL database. Additional materials include full-text evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and continuing education modules.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Includes citations from more than 8,000 peer-reviewed journals in the sciences and social sciences. Includes Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Science Citation Index.
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Combined with the National Library of Medicine's bibliographic database this database offers information related to the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences.

PubMed Special Queries
Special Queries is a search interface to find PubMed citations relating to specific subjects such as Healthy People 2010, Dietary Supplements and Health Disparities.

Other databases to try

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. PDF content dates back to 1887.
Ageline This link opens in a new window
This database focuses exclusively on issues of aging and the population of people aged 50 years and older. Geared to professionals in aging-related fields, such as health care professionals, social workers, and caregivers, as well as consumers. Direct Opt Out Link
AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A database of agricultural literature created by the National Agricultural Library of the USDA from 1970 to present.
Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A full-text alternative health research database focused on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.

Campbell Collaboration Library
The Campbell Collaboration produces systematic reviews of the effects of social interventions within the areas of education, crime and justice, social welfare and international development.

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based healthcare information. Includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answers.

Dietary Supplements Labels Database
Includes information from the labels of over 2,000 brands of dietary supplements in the marketplace, including vitamins, minerals, herbs or other botanicals, amino acids, and other specialty supplements.

ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides extensive access to educational related literature. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education. 1966 - current.
Global Health This link opens in a new window
Provides information on international health, biomedical life sciences, non-communicable diseases, public health nutrition, food safety and hygiene, and more. Providing users with a truly global perspective.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 1,000 journals focusing on nursing, allied health fields, and many medical disciplines. Also included are the USP Pharmacopoeia DI: Volume II Advice for the Lay Patient and Stedman's Medical Dictionary.
Nursing & Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers nursing, allied health (including nutrition), alternative and complementary medicine, and much more. Indexes journal/magazine articles as well as dissertations.
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
APA PsycInfo is unmatched as a resource for locating scholarly research findings in psychology and related fields across a host of academic disciplines.
Sociological Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database provides information on all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
A full-text database covering sports and sports medicine journals in subjects such as biomechanics, drugs, exercise, kinesiology, movement science, nutrition, occupational health and therapy, physical fitness, physical therapy, rehabilitation, sports and exercise psychology, coaching and education, and sports medicine.

Nutrition: Subject Guide: Databases & Articles

Tips for Finding Full Text Articles

Databases to start with

Other databases to try