Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Psychology: General Research Guide: Information ABOUT Tests

FINDING INFORMATION ABOUT TESTS & MEASURES

Please note: These sources DO NOT contain actual tests. 

Use these sources to get valuable information about a test or measure that will inform your research:  

  • Did the test get good reviews? 
  • What is its reliability and validity? 
  • Is it only available for a fee? 
  • What is the intended audience for this test? 
  • How long does it take to administer the test? 
  • Where might I locate an actual copy of the test?
  • Etc.

Source Brief Overview of Source

ETS/Test Link
(Database)
  • A database of over 25,000 tests & measures.
  • Search the database here.
  • Enter search terms, do a search, and see your results.
  • Click on the title of a test to get more information about the test.
  • See the AVAILABILITY field to see where/how/if you can get an actual copy of the test.
Directory of Unpublished Experimental Mental Measures
(Print Source)
  • A set of 9 volumes
  • Each chapter lists tests by topic (personality, anxiety, attitudes, etc.)
  • Each entry lists the name of the test, authors, primary study in which the test was used, a source in which the actual test might be located, number of items, reliability and validity (if known), and more.

Mental Measurements Yearbook
(Database)
  • Provides descriptions, critical reviews, and references for thousands of commercially-available standardized English-language tests. 
  • Covers 1938 - present.

Tests in Print
(Database)
  • Contains all known commercially available tests in print in the English language.
  • Includes test purpose, publisher, price, intended test population, administration times, and more.
  • A score index is provided to show what is being measured: depression, likability, social interaction, etc.

Tests: A Comprehensive Reference for Assessment in Psychology, Education, and Business
(Print Source)
  • Offers concise descriptions of tests for researchers who would like to familiarize themselves with the broad range of tests available in English (and some in Spanish).
  • Does not offer reviews of tests.
  • Check Reference (Library North 2) and regular collection (Library North 5) at call number BF176 .T43

Test Critiques
(Print Source)
  • Designed to be a companion to the resource above (Tests: A Comprehensive...).
  • Contains supplemental information including reliability, validity, and norm development.
  • Each entry offers a detailed introduction, plus sections on Practical Applications/Uses and Technical Aspects, followed by a critique.