Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

*SOCI 3020 Social Research Methods (Goss): Finding Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed Articles

Relevant Assignment Description Excerpts

FROM ASSIGNMENT INSTRUCTIONS (Literature Review section):
  • Thoroughly discuss the methods and results of two peer-reviewed scholarly articles (outside of required readings) from social science journals.

EASY Off Campus Access to Journals/Articles

Install and login to the Cisco AnyConnect VPN (Virtual Private Network) on your computer so that you are logged into the GSU network and will be automatically routed to GSU-subscribed journals. It’s available for download and instructions for using on the following platforms are available here: Windows | Mac | Android | Apple iOS

NOTE: There's a point where the directions tell you to enter secureaccess.gsu.edu as what to connect to.

Getting to Articles from Databases

1: Look for a "Full-Text" or "PDF" link that will take you directly to the article. If yes, great. If not, go to #2.

2: Look for the FINDIT @ GSU button. Click on it. If the journal title shows up, click the link to see what the online availability is. If not, go to #3.

3: If you see the "Sorry, no electronic full text is available" message, click the link below it that says "We may have a copy in print."  If yes, go to the library to copy the article.  If we do not have it in print, go to #4.

4: Request the article you need through interlibrary loan -- typically arrive within 1 day, so definitely worth trying!

Scholarly vs. Popular Articles Tutorial

Tutorial on strategies for discerning whether an article is SCHOLARLY or POPULAR:

 

START HERE to Find Peer-Reviewed Articles

******START HERE******


These databases are good to search, regardless of your specific topic:

  • Race Relations Abstracts
  • Academic Search Complete
  • Sociological Collection
    • You can search all of the above simultaneously: Click on Academic Search Complete, then, before doing your search, click the Choose Databases link, checkbox the other relevant databases for your research topic, and click OK.
    • To limit to peer-reviewed journal articles: On search results page, at left side in the Limit To area, click Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals to limit your search to peer-reviewed/scholarly journals.
    • Keep an eye out for subject headings in your results -- sometimes they give you just the right keyword to search for, or even clicking on them may take you to other relevant sources.
  • Sociological Abstracts
  • Politics Collection
    • You can search these ProQuest databases simultaneously: Click on Sociological Abstracts, then, before doing your search, click the Change Databases link, checkbox the Politics Collection, and click Use Selected Databases button.
    • To limit to peer-reviewed journal articles: On search results page, at left side in the  Source Type area click Scholarly Journals to limit your search to peer-reviewed/scholarly journals.
    • Keep an eye out for subject headings in your results -- sometimes they give you just the right keyword to search for, or even clicking on them may take you to other relevant sources.
  • Google Scholar
    • To see the fulltext links for GSU: On Google Scholar main page, click the menu icon in the top left of the screen, then click Settings, then at next screen click Library Links, search for Georgia State University, checkbox Georgia State University - FullText @ GSU, then click save. Then when looking at search results, instead of clicking the article title to try to access it, click on FullText @ GSU link to be routed through GSU-access (you might have to click a double-arrow under the citation to see all the options).

Search these other databases if relevant to your topic:

^^^^^We have many more databases than these!

To find other databases to search, check out our A-Z list, other research guides related to your topic, or consult with the Sociology Librarian about what might be best to search for your topic.

Empirical vs. Non-Empirical Scholarly Articles Tutorial

Tutorial on strategies for discerning whether a scholarly article is EMPIRICAL or not: