Library Essentials Workshops

Visit this link to access the University Library's PIN profile. Includes a list of all library events/workshops registered in the Panther Involvement Network.
Be sure to join the University Library Organization to keep up with all Library events!

Learn the basics of Canva, a user friendly graphic design tool that allows you to give your papers & presentations a professional look!
Monday, March 3, 2025 @ 4:00 PM
ONLINE

You’re doing research, and you find a website you think might be useful. But how can you know for sure? In this workshop, we’ll discuss a four-step process you can use to evaluate online sources so you can search with confidence!
Tuesday, March 4, 2025 @ 3:00 PM
ONLINE

CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) is the premier database for finding nursing, dental hygiene, and allied health-related articles. This workshop will cover basic search strategies, methods for refining results, and how to leverage CINAHL Subject Headings for precise, targeted research. Perfect for students in nursing, dental hygiene, and allied health programs, this session welcomes participants at any point in their research journey.
Tuesday, March 4, 2025 @ 6:00 PM
ONLINE

Looking for career information for a class or just exploring your options? Come learn how O*Net is a great place to start exploring!
Tuesday, March 4, 2025 @ 7:00 PM
ONLINE

Come learn the basics of APA Style. We’ll cover formatting, in-text citations, and References page basics. We'll also see examples of how to cite common source types (books, articles, websites, etc.).
Wednesday, March 5, 2025 @ 3:00 PM
ONLINE

Come learn the basics of MLA Style. We’ll cover formatting, in-text citations, and Works Cited page basics. We'll also see examples of how to cite common source types (books, articles, websites, etc.).
Thursday, March 6, 2024 @ 3:00 PM
ONLINE

Dive into the Nursing and Allied Health Database, a versatile resource offering books, magazines, and podcasts focused on nursing, medicine, and related fields. In this workshop, you’ll learn basic search techniques and how to use this database to explore topics and locate consumer health care articles. Designed for Perimeter College students at any stage of their research journey, this session will equip you with the skills to navigate and make the most of this user-friendly database.
Thursday, March 6, 2025 @ 6:00 PM
ONLINE

Take the next step in Canva and learn how to create infographics, multi-media slide presentations, and short videos!
Monday, March 10, 2025 @ 4:00 PM
ONLINE

Taking a history course? Come learn the basics of Chicago Style. We’ll cover formatting, in-text citations, and works cited page basics. We'll also see examples of how to cite common source types (books, articles, websites, etc.).
Tuesday, March 11, 2025 @ 2:00 PM
ONLINE

This workshop is an introduction to the basics of AI Chatbots, including ChatGPT, Copilot, and Gemini. We will take a close look at their intended functionalities, capabilities, and shortcomings.
Tuesday, March 11, 2025 @ 4:00 PM
ONLINE

Dive into the Nursing and Allied Health Database, a versatile resource offering books, magazines, and podcasts focused on nursing, medicine, and related fields. In this workshop, you’ll learn basic search techniques and how to use this database to explore topics and locate consumer health care articles. Designed for Perimeter College students at any stage of their research journey, this session will equip you with the skills to navigate and make the most of this user-friendly database.
Tuesday, March 11, 2025 @ 6:00 PM
ONLINE

Poster presentations provide an opportunity to discuss your research one-on-one or with a small group. The ability to succinctly describe your research questions, methods, results, and conclusions in a visually appealing manner is critical. In this workshop, you will learn how to create a poster as well as strategies for orally conveying your findings to either a lay or scientific audience. 
Wednesday, March 12, 2025 @ 3:00 PM
ONLINE

Have a paper where you get to choose the topic but don’t know where to start? Learn how to use a research map to help you pick a topic and break it down so you can start knocking your assignments out!
Wednesday, March 12, 2025 @ 7:30 PM
ONLINE

Come get some practical tips that will help you structure an oral presentation and deliver it effectively. This workshop is designed for undergraduates.
Thursday, March 13, 2025 @ 3:00 PM
ONLINE

CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) is the premier database for finding nursing, dental hygiene, and allied health-related articles. This workshop will cover basic search strategies, methods for refining results, and how to leverage CINAHL Subject Headings for precise, targeted research. Perfect for students in nursing, dental hygiene, and allied health programs, this session welcomes participants at any point in their research journey.
Thursday, March 13, 2025 @ 6:00 PM
ONLINE

In this workshop, we will explore tried-and-true note-taking methods and how to find what works for you.
Tuesday, March 25, 2025 @ 3:00 PM
ONLINE

MEDLINE is a comprehensive resource for medical and life science literature across various disciplines, excluding ecology. In this workshop, you’ll learn essential search techniques, strategies for analyzing search results, and how to utilize MEDLINE’s MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) for focused, effective research. Tailored for students with assignments or a strong interest in biology or medicine, this session is open to researchers at all experience levels.
Tuesday, March 25, 2025 @ 6:00 PM
ONLINE

This workshop will be useful for Perimeter College students writing argumentative essays involving current events or controversial issues. We will take a close look at the SIRS Issues Researcher, a database available through GSU Libraries.
Tuesday, March 25, 2025 @ 7:00PM
ONLINE

Comes learn the basics of Academic Search Complete, a multidisciplinary library database.
Wednesday, March 26, 2025 @ 1:00 PM
ONLINE

Take a deep dive into how to use the Business Source Complete database for course assignments. This workshop is aimed at undergraduates.
Wednesday, March 26, 2024 @ 4:00 PM
ONLINE

Let's take a tour of the library's best resources for current events research papers and projects. In this workshop, we'll take a close look at three databases: Issues & Controversies, Research Library, and U.S. Newsstream.
Thursday, March 27, 2025 @ 3:00 PM
ONLINE

Taking a history course? Come learn the basics of Chicago Style. We’ll cover formatting, in-text citations, and works cited page basics. We'll also see examples of how to cite common source types (books, articles, websites, etc.).
Monday, March 31, 2025 @ 2:30 PM
ONLINE

Take a deep dive into how to use the Bloom's Literature and Gale Literature Criticism databases for course assignments. This workshop is aimed at undergraduates.
Tuesday, April 1, 2025 @ 2:00 PM
ONLINE

Learn the basics of Canva, a user friendly graphic design tool that allows you to give your papers & presentations a professional look!
Tuesday, April 1, 2025 @ 4:00 PM
ONLINE

Come learn the basics of APA Style. We’ll cover formatting, in-text citations, and References page basics. We'll also see examples of how to cite common source types (books, articles, websites, etc.).
Tuesday, April 1, 2025 @ 6:00 PM
ONLINE

In this workshop, we'll take a look at Google Scholar, a publicly available online tool used to find scholarly sources. We'll discuss how to search Google Scholar, its benefits and shortcomings, and how to use it in tandem with library resources.
Wednesday, April 2, 2025 @ 3:00 PM
ONLINE

Come learn the basics of MLA Style. We’ll cover formatting, in-text citations, and Works Cited page basics. We'll also see examples of how to cite common source types (books, articles, websites, etc.).
Wednesday, April 2, 2025 @ 2:00 PM
ONLINE

You’re doing research, and you find a website you think might be useful. But how can you know for sure? In this workshop, we’ll discuss a four-step process you can use to evaluate online sources so you can search with confidence!
Thursday, April 3, 2025 @ 3:00 PM
ONLINE

MEDLINE is a comprehensive resource for medical and life science literature across various disciplines, excluding ecology. In this workshop, you’ll learn essential search techniques, strategies for analyzing search results, and how to utilize MEDLINE’s MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) for focused, effective research. Tailored for students with assignments or a strong interest in biology or medicine, this session is open to researchers at all experience levels.
Thursday, April 3, 2025 @ 6:00 PM
ONLINE

Take a deep dive into how to use the Factiva database for course assignments. This workshop is aimed at undergraduates.
Monday, April 7, 2025 @ 2:00 PM
ONLINE

Join us for a guide on the steps, components, and formatting of writing an annotated bibliography. This workshop is aimed at undergraduates.
Tuesday, April 8, 2025 @ 2:00 PM
ONLINE

Join Librarian Alvin Blount to learn the basics of navigating databases to locate information for your next College to Career essay in English 1101 and/or 1102
Tuesday, April 8, 2025 @ 5:00 PM
ONLINE

Let's take a tour of the library's best resources for current events research papers and projects. In this workshop, we'll take a close look at three databases: Issues & Controversies, Research Library, and U.S. Newsstream.
Wednesday, April 9, 2025 @ 3:00 PM
ONLINE

Take the next step in Canva and learn how to create infographics, multi-media slide presentations, and short videos!
Wednesday, April 9, 2025 @ 4:00 PM
ONLINE

Learn how to make the most of free online resources like Google, fact-check your information, and avoid misinformation traps.
Wednesday, April 9, 2025 @ 7:00 PM
ONLINE

Take a deep dive into how to use the library's literary criticism databases. Bloom's, GALE, and more. This workshop is aimed at undergraduates.
Thursday, April 10, 2025 @ 3:00 PM
ONLINE

Discover where to find free, high-quality images and graphics to elevate your projects while staying copyright-friendly. Perfect for adding flair to your slides, posters, and more!
Tuesday, April 10, 2025 @ 6:00 PM
ONLINE

Learn strategies for crafting effective prompts to achieve better results with AI tools.
Thursday, April 10, 2025 @ 7:00 PM
ONLINE

Join us for a guide on the steps, components, and formatting of writing an annotated bibliography. This workshop is aimed at undergraduates.
Tuesday, April 15, 2024 @ 2:00 PM
ONLINE

Learn where to find and how to use library resources to prep for your next test.
Wednesday, April 16, 2025 @ 2:00 PM
ONLINE

This workshop is an introduction to the basics of AI Chatbots, including ChatGPT, Copilot, and Gemini. We will take a close look at their intended functionalities, capabilities, and shortcomings.
Thursday, April 17, 2025 @ 4:00 PM
ONLINE

Come learn the basics of MLA Style. We’ll cover formatting, in-text citations, and Works Cited page basics. We'll also see examples of how to cite common source types (books, articles, websites, etc.).
Tuesday, April 22, 2025 @ 2:00 PM
ONLINE

Let's take a tour of the library's best resources for current events research papers and projects. In this workshop, we'll take a close look at three databases: Issues & Controversies, Research Library, and U.S. Newsstream.
Wednesday, April 23, 2025 @ 3:00 PM
ONLINE

Come learn the basics of MLA Style. We’ll cover formatting, in-text citations, and Works Cited page basics. We'll also see examples of how to cite common source types (books, articles, websites, etc.).
Thursday, April 24, 2025 @ 1:00 PM
ONLINE

Come learn the basics of APA Style. We’ll cover formatting, in-text citations, and References page basics. We'll also see examples of how to cite common source types (books, articles, websites, etc.).
Thursday, April 24, 2025 @ 6:00 PM
ONLINE