GSU Library Research Guides: POLS 1101: American Government (Cherenet): Finding Sources

Newspapers and Polls

News & Newspapers
Full text of U.S. and international news sources. Includes coverage of several major U.S. and international newspapers such as The Atlanta Journal Constitution, The New York Times, and the Times of London.
New York Times (ProQuest Newspapers)
Coverage ranges from 1980 - current. The New York Times is considered the official U.S. newspaper because it publishes the complete text of important documents, speeches and presidential press conferences.
Polling the Nations
This critically acclaimed online database of public opinion polls contains full text of more than 700,000 questions and responses from more than 18,000 surveys and 1,700 polling organizations, conducted from 1986 through the present in the United States and more than 100 other countries around the world.

Scholarly Databases

ProQuest Social Sciences Premium Collection
This collection provides access to databases covering international literature in social sciences, including politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education.
Political Science Database
Gives users access to political science and international relations journals, political science dissertations from U.S. and Canadian universities, and current working papers from the Political Science Research Network.
APA PsycInfo
APA PsycInfo is unmatched as a resource for locating scholarly research findings in psychology and related fields across a host of academic disciplines.
Business Source Complete
This database provides full text for scholarly business journals and other sources, covering all areas related to business. Direct Opt Out Link.

Words matter. Especially when searching for information. You should use the terms and phrases that experts on your topic use to talk about your topic.

American democracy or US democracy or United States democracy
- try democratic process instead of democracy
- Think democracy is in danger? Try democracy paired with words like battle, threat, erosion, assault, rhetoric, failure
- Think democracy is thriving? Try democracy paired with words like flourish, prosperous, robust
- For either view research aspects of democracy like voting, elections, freedom, political participation, public opinion

Use limiters in database for

subject limiters can help generate ideas and angles
specific time range
specific publication title
specific geographic location
document type - this can help you determine if you are using an opinion piece

Consider the source and the author(s). It can make a more effective argument when you speak to the expertise and experience of the writer(s), as well as acknowledge known or potential biases to frame the information and opinions of the source you are using.