Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Amnesty International is a global movement of more than 7 million people who take campaign for human rights and social justice.
Social, Political, Economic and Environmental Issues that affect us all, compiled by Anup Shah.
United Nations Global Issues
As the world’s only truly universal global organization, the United Nations has become the foremost forum to address issues that transcend national boundaries and cannot be resolved by any one country acting alone.
GlobalSecurity.org is the leading source of background information and developing news stories in the fields of defense, space, intelligence, WMD, and homeland security.
World Health Organization
Working with 194 Member States, across six regions, and from more than 150 offices, WHO staff are united in a shared commitment to achieve better health for everyone, everywhere. Together we strive to combat diseases – communicable diseases like influenza and HIV, and noncommunicable diseases like cancer and heart disease.
The World Bank is a vital source of financial and technical assistance to developing countries around the world. We are not a bank in the ordinary sense but a unique partnership to reduce poverty and support development.
CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people and society, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
World Development Indicators
The World Development Indicators is a compilation of relevant, high-quality, and internationally comparable statistics about global development and the fight against poverty. The database contains 1,600 time series indicators for 217 economies and more than 40 country groups, with data for many indicators going back more than 50 years.
Global Newsstream provides access to the most influential and respected contemporary news resources from around the globe. This comprehensive contemporary news collection delivers superior access to current, full-text news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites.
News & Newspapers
Full text of U.S. and international news sources. Includes coverage of several major U.S. and international newspapers such as The Atlanta Journal Constitution, The New York Times, and the Times of London.
Newspaper Source Plus
Provides selected full text coverage for 245 national and international newspapers, newswires, and other sources.
World News Digest
This database features a wealth of new material and a new, dynamic interface that makes it easier than ever to explore the events that shape our world. Hundreds of news sources, governments, and organizations—including CNN, ABC News, CBS News, NBC News, Fox News, NPR, the CBC, The Washington Post, Jeopardy!, and the parliaments of Canada and Australia—rely on World News Digest for a broader view of the issues that matter today.
Focuses on how gender impacts perspectives on women's studies, men's studies, the transgendered community, and historical changes in gender roles, covering topics such as sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, day care, and the work place.
Public health database that provides information on international health, biomedical life sciences, non-communicable diseases, public health nutrition, food safety and hygiene, and more. Indexes journal articles, books, conference proceedings, patents, and more.
Global Terrorism Database
An open-source database including information on terrorist events around the world from 1970 through 2007 and systematic data on domestic, transnational, and international terrorist incidents.
OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development) iLibrary, provides access to OECD's published books and journals, statistics, analysis, and data. It includes content published by the International Energy Agency (IEA), the Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), Programme for International Student Assessment (PISA), the International Transport Forum (ITF), and the OECD Development Centre.
Note: GSU has full archival access to OECD iLibrary up until 12/31/2017.Newer content may be read only by selecting “read.” Functions such as PDF downloading, printing, copying/pasting or archiving are not available after 12/31/17.
Peace Research Abstracts
Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to peace research, including conflict resolution, international affairs, peace psychology, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete provides complete coverage of multidisciplinary academic journals. The collection includes peer-reviewed journals, full-text periodicals, reports, and books, for STM research, the Social Sciences, Humanities, and other areas of academic studies. PDF content dates back as far as 1887.