It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selected Books and ebooks from the Library Catalog
Visual Research by Jonathan S. Marion; Jerome W. CrowderVisual Research: A Concise Introduction to Thinking Visually is the first text to present a concise overview of the significant ethical, theoretical, and practical considerations for conducting research with images. The capacity to take photos and video on handheld devices and the ability to store, post, and share such imagery online all offer tremendous opportunities for social research. The rapid development and popularity of such technology means that little technological proficiency is required, and even less theoretical and ethical consideration. This book provides an accessible introduction to doing visual research in the social sciences. Beginning with ethical considerations, this book highlights the importance of thinking visually before engaging in visual research. Further themes involve creating, organizing, and using images and are presented so as to help readers think about and work with their own visual data. Boxed case studies and further reading suggestions enhance the utility of this primer. Concise and highly focused, Visual Research will be an invaluable resource for visual, media, and communications students and researchers and others interested in visual research in the social sciences.
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2013-04-25
Qualitative Inquiry in Neoliberal Times by Norman K. Denzin (Editor); Michael D. Giardina (Editor)Qualitative Inquiry in Neoliberal Times is written from the perspective that the scholarly lives of academics are changing, constantly in flux, and increasingly bound to the demands of the market #65533; a context in which the university has increasingly morphed into a business enterprise, one that treats students as consumers to be marketed to, education as something to be purchased, and research as something to be capitalized on for financial gain. The effects of this market-orientation of scholarly life, especially on those in the social sciences and humanities, are ones that demand serious examination. At the same time, qualitative inquiry itself is changing and evolving within and against the rhythms of this #65533;new normal#65533;. This volume engages with these emerging debates in qualitative research over new materialism, 'data', public policy, research ethics, public scholarship, and the corporate university in the neoliberal age. World-renowned contributors from the United States, United Kingdom, Spain, Norway, Australia, and New Zealand present a global perspective on these issues, framed within a landscape of higher education marked if not marred by efficiency metrics, accountability, external funding, and university rankings. Qualitative Inquiry in Neoliberal Times is a must-read for faculty and students alike interested in the changing dynamics of their profession, whether theoretically, methodologically, or structurally and materially. This title is sponsored by the International Association of Qualitative Inquiry, a major new international organization that sponsors an annual congress.
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2017-04-05
Qualitative Inquiry in Higher Education Organization and Policy Research by Penny A. Pasque (Editor); Vincente M. Lechuga (Editor)Qualitative Inquiry in Higher Education Organization and Policy Research provides readers with the theoretical foundations and innovative perspectives for undertaking qualitative research to influence policy and practice discussions. Well-known chapter authors discuss innovative strategies for investigating complex problems, helping readers understand how research can consider the culture of the institution, administrative hierarchy, students, faculty, and external constituencies. From both an organizational and policy perspective, chapter pairings explore a range of methodologies, including ethnography, case study, critical qualitative inquiry, and the notion of "grit." This volume explores how qualitative inquiry can advance understanding of organizational inequities in higher education, and it offers graduate students and educational researchers the tools to improve the organizational function of institutions while contributing to meaningful change.
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2016-12-13
Qualitative Inquiry Through a Critical Lens by Norman K. Denzin (Editor); Michael D. Giardina (Editor)This volume highlights work being done in qualitative inquiry through a variety of critical lenses such as new materialism, queer theory, and narrative inquiry. Contributors ranging from seasoned academics to emerging scholars attend to questions of ontology and epistemology, providing, in the process, insights that any qualitative researcher interested in the state of the field would find of value. The authors: re-think taken-for-granted paradigms, frameworks, methodologies, ethics, and politics; demonstrate major shifts in qualitative inquiry, and point readers in new and exciting directions; advocate for a critical qualitative inquiry that addresses social justice, decolonization, and the politics of research; present plenary addresses and other key original papers from the 2015 International Congress of Qualitative Inquiry. This title is sponsored by the International Association of Qualitative Inquiry, a major new international organization which sponsors an annual Congress.
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2016-04-12
Handbook of Qualitative Research in Education by Sara Delamont (Editor)The Handbook of Qualitative Research in Education offers both basic and advanced discussions of data collection, analysis and representation of all the best qualitative methods used in educational research.It contains four comprehensive yet concise sections on perspectives, settings, data collection and data analysis and representation. Authors from Australia, Europe, New Zealand and North America contribute to a wide-ranging and provocative Handbook that will inspire novice researchers and re-invigorate experienced scholars.Its 44 well-documented chapters will serve academics and graduate students in educational research across all sectors of education from pre-school to graduate school, and all settings from formal to non-formal.
One user at a time. We have temporary access to this ebook via Hathi Trust's Emergency Access offered due to COVID19. Due to such limitations on its use, it might be best to purchase or rent the book.
How to find ebooks in GilFind
Type in your search terms and click search. Tweak your results with filters for "Full Access Online" and Books.
Desktop Delivery/ILL for a book chapter
Can't find the ebook you need in our catalog? Use Interlibrary Loan (ILL)/Desktop delivery to obtain one chapter. We'll scan in one chapter of a book from our print collection or request one chapter through our ILL system.