Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
American Sign Language Dictionary by Revised and updated for the first time in seventeen years, this new edition features more than five hundred new signs and 1,500 illustrations, offering readers a comprehensive tool for learning to use the third most common language in the United Stat
Call Number: HV2475.S78 1998
Publication Date: 1998-11-04
Random House Webster's American Sign Language Dictionary by The Random House Webster’s Unabridged American Sign Language Dictionary is a treasury of over 5,600 signs for the novice and experienced user alike. It includes complete descriptions of each sign, plus full-torso illustrations. There is also a subject index for easy reference as well as alternate signs for the same meaning.
Call Number: HV2475 .C66 2008
Publication Date: 2008-06-10
The American Sign Language Handshape Dictionary by Featuring *More than 1,900 Sign Illustrations Including 327 New Signs *Plus DVD Showing How to Form Signs *Arranged by Handshape for Easy Identification *Complete Index of English Vocabulary for All Signs *An Introduction to Deaf Culture and ASL Structure The first reference source that allows users to access ASL signs without previous knowledge of their English equivalents (far superior to those in most other English-ASL glossaries). Likely to become indispensable on many educators' and students' bookshelves.--CHOICE Now, the bestselling resource The American Sign Language Handshape Dictionary has been completely revised with more than 320 new signs and a new DVD. This unique reference can help users locate a sign whose meaning they have forgotten, or help them find the meaning of a new sign they have just seen for the first time. It organizes more than 1,900 ASL signs by 40 basic handshapes and includes detailed descriptions on how to form these signs to represent the different English words that they might mean. ASL students can begin to track down a sign by determining whether it is formed with one hand or two. Further distinctions of handshape, palm orientation, location, movement, and other nonmanual body signals help them pinpoint their search while also refining their grasp of ASL syntax and grammar. A complete English word index provides the option of referring to an alphabetical listing of English terms to locate an equivalent sign or choice of signs. The new DVD shows how each sign is formed from beginning to end. Users can watch a sign at various speeds to learn precisely how to master it themselves. Together, the new edition of The American Sign Language Handshape Dictionary and its accompanying DVD presents students, sign language teachers, and deaf and hearing people alike with the perfect combination for enhancing communication skills in both ASL and English.
Call Number: HV2475 .T46 2010
Publication Date: 2010-07-31
The Gallaudet Dictionary of American Sign Language by *More than 3,000 ASL Sign Illustrations *Fully Searchable Full-Color DVD Featuring Every Sign *Special ASL Classifier Section *Complete Index of English Synonyms for Every Sign Created by an unparalleled board of experts led by renowned ASL linguist and poet Clayton Valli, The Gallaudet Dictionary of American Sign Language represents the culmination of more than five years of meticulous assessment and labor. More than 3,000 illustrations arrayed in this volume display the most useful selection of signs to be found in any single ASL reference resource. Each sign illustration, including depictions of fingerspelling when appropriate, incorporates a complete list of English synonyms. A full, alphabetized English index enables users to cross-reference words and signs throughout the entire volume. The comprehensive introduction lays the groundwork for learning ASL by explaining in plain language the workings of ASL syntax and structure. It also offers examples of idioms and describes the antecedents of ASL, its place in the Deaf community, and its meaning in Deaf culture. This extraordinary reference also provides a special section unique to this volume on ASL classifiers and their use. Readers will find complete descriptions of the various classifiers and examples of how to use these integral facets of ASL. The full-color DVD included with this dictionary features a diverse group of native ASL signers demonstrating how to form each of the 3,077 signs. Fully searchable, users can view a sign and quickly go to its synonyms. This and the many other exclusive features in The Gallaudet Dictionary of American Sign Language combine to make it the outstanding ASL reference for all instructors, students, and users of ASL.
Call Number: HV2475 .G35 2005
Publication Date: 2006-04-17
Barron's Dictionary of American Sign Language by Presenting ultra-clear, close-up color photos that depict more than 1,000 signs and their meanings, Barron's Dictionary of American Sign Language is destined to become a basic reference source for all who want to learn more about signing, expand their signing vocabulary, and be certain that they are signing properly. Unlike most other sign language dictionaries, this book simply pairs photos with the words they designate and dispenses with traditional word definitions. Thus, the emphasis is placed on the information that every signer needs: correct formation of hand shapes to eliminate confusion and make communicating in ASL virtually effortless. The photos are supplemented with directional arrows to indicate hand or arm movements plus succinct written descriptions of hand and finger formations. Carefully checked and edited by ASL experts, and including notes on the history of sign language, this volume makes a superb resource for members of the hearing-impaired community, for those who work with them, and for all others who wish to learn the American Sign Language. Approximately 2,000 color photos.
Call Number: HV2475 .P66 2007
Publication Date: 2008-04-01
A Historical and Etymological Dictionary of American Sign Language by The story of how American Sign Language (ASL) came to be is almost mythic. In the early 19th century, a hearing American reverend, Thomas Hopkins Gallaudet, met a Deaf French educator, Laurent Clerc, who agreed to come to the United States and help establish the first school in America to use sign language to teach deaf children. The trail of ASL's development meanders at this point. No documentation of early ASL was published until the late 19th century, almost seven decades after the school's founding. While there are many missing pieces in the history of America's sign language, plenty of data exist regarding ASL etymology. This book is the first to collect all known texts featuring illustrations of early ASL and historical images of French Sign Language--langue des signes française (LSF)--and link them with contemporary signs. Through rigorous study of historical texts, field research in communities throughout France and the U.S., and an in-depth analysis of the cultural groups responsible for the lexicon, authors Emily Shaw and Yves Delaporte present a compelling and detailed account of the origins of over 500 ASL signs, including regional variations. Organized alphabetically by equivalent English glosses, each sign is accompanied by a succinct description of its origin and an LSF sign where appropriate. Featuring an introductory chapter on the history of the development of ASL and the etymological methodology used by the authors, this reference resource breaks new ground in the study of America's sign language.
Publication Date: 2015-06-01
E-Z American Sign Language by This heavily illustrated, self-teaching guide to ASL--American Sign Language--is useful both for the deaf and for those men and women who teach or work among deaf people. E-Z American Sign Language presents ASL's 10 key grammatical rules and emphasizes the use of "facial grammar" as an important supplement to manual signing. Most of the book's content takes the form of a presentation of more than 800 captioned line drawings that illustrate signs for their equivalent words and then show how to combine signs in order to communicate detailed statements. Barron's E-Z Series books are updated, and re-formatted editions of Barron's older and perennially popular Easy Way books. Titles in the new E-Z Series feature extensive two-color treatment, a fresh, modern typeface, and more graphic material than ever. All are self-teaching manuals that cover a wide variety of practical and academic subjects, written on levels that range from senior high school to college-101 standards.
Publication Date: 2009-08-01
Hearing and Deafness by
Call Number: RF290 .P33 2011
Publication Date: 2010-04-09
Hearing and Deafness: An Introduction for Health and Education Professionals clearly explains the development of speech, hearing, language, and literacy in d/Deaf and hard of hearing children and adolescents. This important reference offers new insights on the contribution of hearing rehabilitation to English language acquisition. Students pursuing careers in deaf education, audiology, and speech pathology will gain a thorough understanding of the audiological dimensions of hearing and how hearing loss affects speech, language, and literacy.Featuring up-to-date research and clinical information, this comprehensive resource discusses the latest advances in hearing aids, cochlear implants, speech reading, and visual phonics. Thoughtfully integrating knowledge with practice, Hearing and Deafness helps students and professionals develop effective skills to use in their work. This text is ideal for introductory undergraduate and graduate courses that cover the development of speech, language, and hearing in the d/Deaf and hard of hearing as well as for educators working with young children and adolescents.* Explains the development of speech, hearing, language, and literacy in d/Deaf and hard of hearing children* Features the latest advances in cochlear implants, hearing aids, speechreading, and visual phonics* Discusses how hearing rehabilitation affects English language acquisition* Offers sound guidance on how to apply knowledge to professional practice* Facilitates learning through informative summaries, challenge questions, and problem-solving activities
Disabilities Sourcebook by
Call Number: HV1553 .D544 2016
Publication Date: 2015-11-24
Basic consumer health information for people with disabilities and their caregivers about impairments caused by birth defects, sensory and communication disorders, learning disabilities, chronic illness, injury, and trauma, along with facts about assistive technologies, special education and legal, employment, and financial issues. Includes index, glossary of related terms, and other resources.