Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Free and Open Resources (COVID-19 Shutdown): Home

Free and open Educational resources for students provided as a result of the COVID-19 shutdowns.

ABOUT

This page is meant to provide some (non-comprehensive) resources that are being freely provided by publishers as a result of the COVID-19 shutdown. Resources that the library subscribes to should be accessed from our Database A-Z page.

For free (non-subcscribed) content, please note:

  • The GSU Library is unable to provide technical support or assistance for any non-subscribed content. 
  • The GSU Library is not responsible for the editing, addition or removal of content from vendor sites, ​as free content is provided solely at the discretion of the publisher(s) or vendor(s),
  • You should contact the publisher or vendor directly with questions (technical or otherwise)

 

AccessMedicine

Available until further notice

AccessMedicine channel for the latest information on the COVID-19 global pandemic.

AccessMedicine COVID-19 Central

Annual Reviews

Available until further notice

Access controls temporarily removed from content.

Berghahn Books

Available through June 30, 2020

In addition to those BOA journals available open access, all Berghahn Journals—new issues and all back issues—have been made freely available.

Berghahn Books supports practical open access policies that help make scholarship available to a broader audience in a sustainable way.

BookList

Available until further notice

All Booklist and Book Links content on www.booklistonline.com is now freely available until further notice.Content includes more than 25 years of recommended print and reviews, features, interviews, spotlights, and classroom connections

Cambridge Core

Available until May 31, 2020

CUP has made over 2,000 eBooks freely available during the shutdown. HTML textbook

Coronavirus-related Research: More than 150 book chapters and journal articles related to COVID-19, with future articles being added once they are published CUP Coronavirus Research Articles

Duke University Press

Books available until June 1, 2020

Articles available until October 1, 2020

In support and solidarity, Duke University Press is providing free access to the books and journal articles below to help build knowledge and understanding of how we navigate the spread of communicable diseases.

GeoSciences World

Available until June 30, 2020

To help support online learning and remote research for the remainder of the semester, the following GSW book publishers have extended public access during the shutdown to all of their ebooks:

  • American Association of Petroleum Geologists
  • Canadian Science Publishing
  • Clay Minerals Society
  • Geological Society of America
  • Geological Society of London
  • Mineralogical Society of Great Britain and Ireland
  • PSAAPG
  • SEPM Society for Sedimentary Geology
  • Society of Economic Geologists
  • University of Wyoming

 

HathiTrust

Available until further notice

[from HathiTrust: "We are not planning an indefinite extension of temporary access to these digital items after the pandemic eases. But at this time, there is no established date for the cutoff of ETAS."]

HathiTrust has made the Emergency Temporary Access Service (ETAS) available to their members. These resources allows students, faculty, and staff from eligible member libraries to have online reading access to materials that are currently unavailable to them in their library collections. All users continue to have access to more than 6.7 million public domain and Creative Commons-licensed works.

Access HathiTrust ETAS through our Database A-Z

Important Notes:

  • Books currently available to you through the Emergency Temporary Access Service have the label “Temporary Access.” Through your university’s membership with HathiTrust, you can also get access to books that are marked “Full View” as you always do. Books marked “Limited (search-only)” are restricted based on the Terms of the Service, and you cannot access them.
  • You can read “Temporary Access” books online only as long as your university is eligible for the Emergency Temporary Access Service. Access to certain books may also change over time as your library provides us with updated information about books it holds.
  • “Temporary Access” books can be read only online. You can download one page at a time. You can’t download the whole book. These restrictions are in place based on the Terms of the Service and our understanding of copyright law.
  • “Temporary Access” books can be accessed only by students, staff, and faculty at the universities that have been approved for the service. Unfortunately, this service is not available to alumni/alumnae or individuals who have guest affiliations.
  • You can check out a book for 1 hour. Your access will renew automatically at the end of that hour, unless another user requests the book after that hour is over.

Read more on our Library Blog

Internet Archive National Emergency Library

Available until June 16, 2020

National Emergency Library is a collection of books that supports emergency remote teaching, research activities, independent scholarship, and intellectual stimulation while universities, schools, training centers, and libraries are closed.

JSTOR

Available until December 31, 2020 

JSTOR and our participating publishers are making an expanded set of content freely available to our participating institutions where students have been displaced due to COVID-19.

Expanded free access for participating instittutions (login required):

  • Access to unlicensed collections through December 31, 2020 for participating academic institutions that currently license some, but not all, JSTOR Archive and Primary Source collections.
  • Access to Artstor‘s core collections of 3 million images and research tools through December 31, 2020 for participating higher education institutions that currently license JSTOR but not Artstor.

Please access JSTOR through our Database A-Z: JSTOR A-Z link

Additionnal expanded free access (no login needed):

 

Karger Publishing

Available until the end of 2020

Karger Publishers supports Coronavirus/COVID-19 research by providing free access to relevant articles and works with international organisations to support the sharing of relevant research and data.

Korean Studies Databases

Available until August 31, 2020 (DBpia and KRpia)

Available until October 31, 2020 (Moazine)

Nutrimedia is providing trial service to their databases until the end of the summer.  Please contact Professor Hakyoon Lee for login access to the databases below:

  • DBpia:Full-text academic journal database DBpia provides about 2,000 Korean journals that are published by superior society, publishing company, and research institute from the first issue to the recent one.
    Access link: www.dbpia.co.kr
  • KRpia: Full-text Korean Studies primary sources KRpia is an archive of knowledge contents covering from Koreanology or Korean Studies to liberal arts and provides supplementary resources such as terminology dictionaries, historical records, professional research article, etc
    Access link: www.krpia.co.kr
  • Moazine: Full-text database of Korean magazines Moazine provides more than 200 titles of e-magazine service, the largest in Korea (20,000 issues+)
    Access link: https://dl.moazine.com/lib/main.asp?dl=9MtJb2T3nzH3jehBG4brEiy3DPFsY2ECOso0

Hein Online

Available until further notice

Access link: COVID-19 in America: Response, Issues, and Law

Librarian

Whitney Bates-Gomez's picture
Whitney Bates-Gomez
Contact:
Library South, Technical Services Department
x3-2731

Library of Congress

Available until further notice

The Library of Congress (LOC) is providing access to their growing collection of contemporary open access eBooks:

LOC Open Access Books

The Ohio State University Press

Available until further notice

OSU has opened up of this year's scholarship at the Library's IR, as well as all titles from 2019-2015. The OSU Linguistics textbook, used by colleges and universities worldwide, has also been made freely available.

Project MUSE

Varying end dates

Project MUSE is supporting its participating publishers in making scholarly content temporarily available for free on their platform. An updated list of participants is being maintained on their website:  ​

ScienceDirect eBooks

Subscribed

The 256 textbooks currently on ScienceDirect will be automatically entitled to all active ScienceDirect customers (including those journals customers who do not currently have books) for a period of 90 days. Users accessing ScienceDirect through IP or remote access will be able to use these books while campuses are closed.

A-Z Link

Voxgov

Available until August 31, 2020

Voxgov is an online subscription-based service that provides access to more than 62 million federal documents continuously indexed from over 45,000 government web locations.  This includes content related to COVID-19 and election material, both of which are vital and timely resources.

Information and an access link to Voxgov is now available on eDesiderata: https://edesiderata.crl.edu/resources/voxgov.