Skip to main content

EDLA 7150: Children's and Adolescent Literature (McGrail/Spring 2020): After GSU

Visiting University/Research Libraries

Most academic libraries allow visitors from the community to come in person and use their online databases. Check each library that you would like to visit for visitor hours and access policies.

Most special collections departments/archives allow visitors. For some libraries, you may need to arrange your visit in advance.

Libraries frequently accept tours or special field trips from public schools. For GSU, we do a number of high school sessions where the high school students work on a specific research project. Please work with a librarian if you would like to plan/arrange this type of visit.

GSU Library Scanning and Printing

The GSU Library has two quick scan stations available that are optimum for scanning from print books or other print materials. You can save your scan to a USB drive or send it to an email address. It's free for anyone to use these two stations.

Printing:

You can print in color or in black and white. As a visitor, you must purchase a Guest Card in order to print.

 

GALILEO: GeorgiA LIbrary LEarning Online

All public schools and public libraries in Georgia have access to a basic package of databases funded by the GALILEO consortium. (Private schools can participate for a fee.) Beyond the basic package, GALILEO also negotiates for affordable access to additional databases customized for individual institutions (probably for a fee). Thus, what is referred to as GALILEO in the K-12, public library, and academic library environment can look different between institutions.

Here's a list of databases available through GALILEO funding. Take note of the "Core Resources for All Communities":

 

Alumni Access

Unfortunately, once you graduate from GSU, you can no longer access the library databases from home. If you would like to access GSU library databases, you will need to visit the library in person.

If you decide to join the Alumni Association, you will qualify for a Special Borrowers card which you can get at the Library North first floor service desk. The Special Borrowers Card will allow you to check out up to five books at a time for four weeks (It does not include any online access to databases.)

 

Don't Forget... Freely Available Digital Primary Sources!

Remember that the Digital Primary Sources tab above includes examples of freely available historical primary sources, including GSU Special Collections & Archives' own Digital Collections!

The general History: Primary Sources guide also has more information about finding different types of historical primary sources, including our print and microfilm collections, which you will still have access to after you graduate. (Be sure to ask at the front desk about using microfilm collections if you go in that direction after graduation: you will need help with logging into the readers).